Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Summit Middle Charter School
Grateful to: Student

Posted December 28, 2015
- a community member
I thank her for telling me about this school so we can try to work together with ideas to improve it.

Summit Middle Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 28, 2015
- a community member
My friend tells me that the teachers are nice toward the good students and offer good support. That sounds good enough.


Summit Middle Charter School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 28, 2015
- a community member
I believe they can give the students less homework (on average I get AT MOST 3 hours. Usually, it is 80-90min. of hw for me. I know, Princeton is different). This way, the students can actually set time for study rather than trying to hastily complete the nightly boatload of busywork they get. In the long run, it actually can do more good. I know that less homework can also help students go to bed earlier and get more rest. This way, they can be more alert and process info quicker. See? It's like a circle...

Summit Middle Charter School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted December 28, 2015
- a community member
I heard there is competitions, so it develop determination. I also think they should focus on character education more.

Summit Middle Charter School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted December 28, 2015
- a community member
Again, to me, it seems to not really develop respect. There are still bullies, and they CLEARLY did not learn about disrespect. I believe this school should have stricter punishment system.


Summit Middle Charter School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted December 28, 2015
- a community member
Like I said, I have a friend that go to this school (I live in New Jersey, so I might have different view point). She tells me that this school has some degree of anti bullying program, however, no one really learns from it, as there is bullies in the school, including the student council (which is SO ironic because at my school in Princeton, the teachers meticulously choose students for the student council- ones who have above 90% in their grades and who have not been entered into the offender database). So, I can conclude no, this school does not develop empathy.

Summit Middle Charter School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted December 28, 2015
- a community member
According to my friend that go to this school, she say that this school have very poor character education. In fact, she told me they don't really care much about develop character! From this, I can conclude that this school needs a character education program.

Summit Middle Charter School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 11, 2015
- a student
They give us like 5 hours of homework. I think they could do better if they give us homework that wouldn't pressure or overwhelm us.


Summit Middle Charter School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted June 11, 2015
- a student
Our school gives us competitions that make a few students have perseverance and try harder. Since everyone is different, the usual kids wouldn't have much of persistence.

Summit Middle Charter School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 11, 2015
- a student
Simply people don't respect other people. 1.A popular person stuck gum in my backpack (Excuse me? plus no gum in school!) 2. The kids older than other kids will slam against them and say," Get out of my way, pixies!" ( That can create a concussion.... in fact like me) Luckily my teacher saw that!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Summit Middle Charter School
4655 Hanover Ave, Boulder, CO  80305
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (720) 561-3900
Last modified Summit Middle Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top