Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Jarrow Montessori School

Private | PK-6 | 4 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boulder

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $530,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2014

My two kids have attended Jarrow for the past three years, and have experienced toddler through lower elementary. I can't say enough great things. The teachers are outstanding, the community is warm and loving (and there is a strong parent community as well), and the Montessori curriculum is excellent. My kids are both thriving and love going to school each day, and I love that there is an emphasis on the whole child my kids have learned a lot about grace and courtesy, and haven't had to deal with difficult cliques, in addition to having an outstanding academic education. I love Montessori's emphasis on self-directed learning and fostering a love of learning, which is very evident at Jarrow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

Wonderful school, our kids have attended since they were toddlers. The teachers, head of school and the entire community are all great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

My son only attended Jarrow for two years. It is a beautiful campus and encourages parental involvement. They work hard at building community. Although he had enjoyed traditional Montessori for three years prior to Jarrow, Jarrow was simply not a good fit. Some of the issues we ran into related to poor teachers that are unaware of bullying between the older and younger students in a mixed age classroom. In our case, bullying resulted in our child not fully participating in the classroom. Along those same lines, Montessori is based on "following the child" but in cases where a child is being emotionally abused, there is little effort put into supporting that child or even trying to minimize the bullying itself. I found individual support for each child lacking and was surprised by the number of discipline issues that the school deemed acceptable. I wouldn't say that building emotional intelligence is part of their curriculum, but it certainly should be- both for teachers and students. It's not as pretty and shiny as it appears.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

Our son has only been enrolled for two months now, but our whole family loves Jarrow. With a special needs child (epilepsy, dietary) the entire school has been highly supportive and exceptionally accommodating. The Montessori method along with awesome teachers has already fostered phenomenal growth in our child. In addition, a culture of parent education (hosting contemplative parenting workshops) and community (parent hikes, yoga through JPA, and socials) has been beneficial as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

We love this school! It supports our whole family. Jarrow places great emphasis on education, literacy, math and geography. My children are exposed to an amazing depth of material, and life lessons. The teachers are amazing! This school provides a peaceful space for children, encourages them to explore their world and be themselves. What a gift to our community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2010

My two children attened Jarrow through 6th grade. It was a good fit for both of their learning styles. One of my children was a very bright student who was appropriately chalenged and supported. My other child had difficulties and he was supported as well. I like that my children loved school got great skills and are now both successful in their new education settings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Jarrow has a beautiful campus, inviting environment, and great teachers. Parents are very involved in the school. Children are encouraged to explore their own interests.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 31, 2009

I have three kids at Jarrow at the same time and couldn't be happier. My kids love to go to school every day and I can't get over how much they are learning. The math, the literacy, the knowledge of geography, and most importantly the LOVE of learning they come home with is truly amazing. I have had every primary teacher at Jarrow and have been truly impressed with the quality and consistency of their curriculum, approach and love and care for the children. The montessori methods are wonderful. My children have learned so much about self-reliance and independence that we have instituted Montessori methods at home, which has been a boon to the peace and happiness at home as well. Thank you Jarrow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

My 22 year old son went to jarrow for 6 years and it was the best investment i could have made in his education. He is currently completing a 4 year college degree that he designed through Prescott University. He is pursuing an area he is passionate about and not a job. He traveled a year after high school and i did not pay a dime. He lives in Boulder now but independent of me. The equivalent in today's tuition of $72,000 i spent on him from K to 5th vs. the $14,000 i have given him for college says it all if you like $ info. For me, the pay off is an independent self-sufficient life long learner. His ability to self-direct his education is something my public and parochial school education would never have prepared me for these opportunities or joys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

Jarrow is by far the best Montessori school in Boulder and possibly Colorado. The combination of teachers, staff, heritage and campus make it a truly magical place...full of life and learning!


Posted March 31, 2009

Jarrow has an incredible teaching staff and a warm and inviting campus. This school educated my children through 6th grade and gave them some invaluable lessons and a superior education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

This is neither a Montessori School or really much of a school at all. In all honesty, it is daycare. If you would like education, look elsewhere. They do not adhere to Montessori methods or really to any consistent methods at all, which is confusing for the children. Bad behaviour and disorder are accepted in the classroom, possibly to avoid upset parents who pay the tuition. My children's level of attention, eagerness to work, and ability to challenge themselves have all gone out the window, and that's going to be hard to get back. Not to mention time out of their childhood and precious opportunities for education! As daycare, it is a friendly place with a nice playground, and the teachers are good people. But be prepared for disorganization and frustration from the administration, and don't expect your children to learn what they should be learning. We're going elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 56%
Hispanic 8% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 Orange Court
Boulder, CO 80304
Phone: (303) 443-0511

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT