Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Horizon High School

Public | 9-12 | 1901 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2014

This school is a great school when it comes to a community setting. Student's are proud to be a Hawk. The academics aren't horrible either. The school offers an intervention period every Wednesday where the student's can come in to class, retake their quiz or ask questions about an assignment. There is also a Math teacher available to help you every hour of the school day and most teachers are willing to help you after school too. (providing you come in within 30 minutes of the start of your off hour). The after school clubs are hard to get involved into, but once you do it is a rewarding experience. The schools sports are not of the highest standards but the schools Fine Art programs are wonderful. After school, there are fantastic shows rehearsed and performed (four a school year) and directed by highly qualified teachers. The stage is huge and can hold hundreds of people. And all music performances are from dedicated students. Some teachers aren't as supportive as others but because all (insert subject here) teachers are able to teach everything you can ask anyone of them for help on understanding a concept.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2014

I graduated in 2000 from horizon high. At the time I wasn't crazy about it, because I moved from a small school in the mountains (Platte Canyon High) and horizon was a bit of a culture shock. In hindsight, it was one of the best experiences of my life, and one that I will cherish. I went here for my final 2 years of high school, and while I wasn't involved in sports I had a great time going to school there. One of the teachers I had is on my Facebook friends list to this day, he was such an inspiration. The quote he said changed me and I will leave you with the same quote: "I am your teacher but I am not smarter than you. I simply know more content."


Posted December 17, 2013

Worst school ever! Administration and teachers are bad and the football program is the worst! I've never seen anything like it.. Everything is brain surgery and I highly recommend choicing your child into a different school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

This School Is Horrible, They Suspend You For No Reason At All. They Have Horrible Teachers, They Do No Communicate Well At All. They Just Like To Get You In Trouble. That Is What I Have To Say About HHS...
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2013

I am a senior this year at Horizon and I have attended this school all 4 years. At first the school seemed alright, but after being there for 3 going on 4 years its not that great. There are a few fantastic teachers that I loved, but the majority of the teachers don't really teach and just share their opinions on the world. So its hard to learn anything when the teachers are just telling you what they think of the military (I've only had one teacher say something positive about the military the rest were negative) , or other things in that nature. Also if you are open about supporting the military or wanting to join your grade will suffer except for if you have that one teacher. I've learned this through personal experience. Over all I have made a lot of great friends and made lots of memories through out the years but I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2013

It's incredible to that we have a week of hot weather out hear in the Denver area this spring and suddenly all the Adams 12 school's air conditioning units are 'broken'. So let me see if I understand this correctly, while the students are preparing for AP class testing as well as finals, the Adams 12 administrators are too cheap to turn on air conditioning so the kids can actually study and learn in class? Are you kidding me? The kids tell me the classrooms hit 85 degrees today. Where is this extra money saved going? Teachers? Admin salaries? Since I own and manage some commercial properties in the area I really doubt that both middle and high schools in the district all have the same problems at the same time and they don't have HVAC maintenance contracts. I don't know of any sizable commercial or public buildings that don't have these contracts. This is simply pathetic lying behavior from this district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2012

I attended this school for 3 years and it was horrible. The deans where rude and acted more like police (garcia) rather than deans. Needles to say I moved high schools and graduated elsewhere. Do not sign up here it is horrible


Posted November 1, 2011

I would have to say this school could be better if the teachers were better. Don't get me wrong I have had some of the most amazing teachers there are but I've also have had some of the worst teachers like last year my math teacher was wonderful but I think she is the only good math teacher there. I'm not always proud of my school, but in some cases I am, but usually I'm not .
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2011

School without a community of students and staff is just an empty building. If we want the school to improve, we as students and the staff need to improve. A student can walk inside a classroom with an already negative preconception of the teacher and class, or walk in with an open mind. Not all of the teachers at Horizon are unsatisfactory. Last year I had two of the most *amazing* ones. They most definitely helped me learn! Not only did they challenge me, but they also were unforgettably enthusiastic about what they taught. Certainly, certainly, there is still room for improvement; it starts with the little decisions we make on a day-to-day basis.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2010

horizon high school is a horrible school, teachers could care less anout you. i havent leanred ANYTHING in the past two years i have been attending, i learn more watching the history channel.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 27, 2009

I am a Senior at Horizon High School and I am strongly dissapointed in my school. The Deans have always been rude and at the current moment, Horizon is going through a transistion of administration and for the most part this transition has not been an easy one, and no one has tried to help make it eaier. When it comes to our principle and her first year here at Horizon all I can say is rotten! She does not support the school like our previous principle. There are only a select few of teachers that actually care about their students and talk to them before it's too late for them in the class. I'm glad this is my last year at Horizon but I'm sad this school is going downhill.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2009

I would say this school is so-so. While it has good teachers, mostly good staff and a rather low rate of crime, the honors program has diven us issues. They have devised a 'box' of sorts that every G.T. and Honors student is supposed to fit into. I did not, and it took us a very long time to get me what I need. Their honors program, SOAR, is still young, and has a lot of kinks to work out. While I would reccomend sending your child here, I would be hesitant at best to have anyone enter SOAR until hte kinks ger figured out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2009

Horizon is a superb high school. Both of my children have graduated from this institution and are doing wonders in college. I would highly recommended this school to any other fellow parent. If your child is willing to be academically challenged while cultivating long-lasting relationships then you've found the right place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

I just had a son who graduated from Horizon this spring and another son getting ready to enter this fall. I have nothing but good things to say about Horizon, I have been very involved in the school and think the staff and administration are very invovled in the school as well as the students. As a parent I believe its important to remain involved in your students life, just like you were when your child was in elementary school. The sports are pretty decent, however some of the coaches are known to pick favorites and the politics are irritating, but I've come to find out that this goes on in EVERY highschool. Basically it's all about what you and your student make of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

This school is one of the worst places i have ever been to they give the students no respect.The deans are rude and i wouldnt sugest sending your child there
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2008

Horizon is the perfect place to learn and thrive for any student planning on attending a higher education institution. The clubs and sports are top notch and teachers make themselves easily available. The school recently added many new AP classes so the course selection is rigorous for those who choose to pursue that challenge. The principal is absolutely amazing and the staff is wonderful. I would recommend this public high school to anyone who plans on being challenged and for someone who simply wants to learn in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

I guess coming from a small high school in the south and moving to Colorado and attending Horizon I have a different perspective. I loved Horizon. It was an extremely great school. The teachers were more than involved, and wanted my parents involved. We had the freedom which lessoned the stress of everyday high school puts on you. The athletic program could of been a little better, but as far as an overall atmosphere, it was one of the best schools I've attended.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 21, 2007

Horizon staff does not allow parents to be involved at all. If your child falls behind or is having trouble in a subject they are on their own. The teachers don't contact parents until it is way too late. I have had two children attend Horizon and I really wish I had an option elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2007

As a parent of a current student and a 2005 graduate, I can say I was expecting much more from my daughters' high school experience. From an academic stand point, I would say Horizon is average, neither of them encountered classes extremely challenging but did have to work for their grades. Both of my daughters are avidly involved in sports, one playing collegiately and one who just signed to do so next year. Athletically, Horizon has been one huge dissapointment. I do not know what the hiring process is for coaches but for my oldest, her time as an athlete at Horizon was the worst athletic experience of her life. My other daughter has found her sport to be less than enjoyable also. For this reason, we made sure my son pursued his high school career elsewhere. The coaches we encountered were sadly all on one big power trip.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

The school is not strict on discipline. The teachers provide a wonderful learning environment but they are not particularly challenging. The school, however does stress parental involvement which is a plus. The safety of the school is questionable. The extra curricular activities are mediocre. The clubs meet a maximum of every two weeks and there isn't really any involvement or dedication. The sports are plentiful, but try-outs are rarely posted and it is difficult to get a hold of information on sports.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

512 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

512 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

512 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female43%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian64%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%

Reading

All Students68%
Female73%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian75%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligible51%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%

Writing

All Students50%
Female57%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian67%
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligible39%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female37%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian48%
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligible25%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English39%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant39%

Reading

All Students76%
Female85%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian100%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligible63%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)32%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Science

All Students62%
Female66%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian70%
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligible53%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%

Writing

All Students50%
Female63%
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian57%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligible38%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

94%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

91%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 56%
Hispanic 25% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5321 East 136th Ave
Brighton, CO 80601
Phone: (720) 972-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Community Christian
Northglenn, CO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT