Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Elmwood Baptist Academy

Private | PK-12 | 175 students

Our school is best known for our high academic standards and achievements.

 

Living in Brighton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $775.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2014

I just read the review posted on October 22nd, 2014 and I was surprised to hear how negative the parent was. I too, have my child enrolled in Elmwood's preschool program and have experienced nothing of what this parent complained of. The teachers are amazing and genuinely love each child and parent, the curriculum and teaching of it goes above and beyond my expectations and I know my child will be a better person because of their attendance to EBA. I can only imagine this parent left upset because of a misunderstanding and am saddened that they would leave such a slanderous review. I appreciate EBA and will continue to recommend this school to all families that want more than just a place to educate their child but a place where they can rest assured their child is well taken care of, given excellent instruction and will be trained up in Godly principals. Thank EBA!!!! Keep on keeping on!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2014

My son went to the preschool for a little over a month. These people are very inappropriate! They threatened to withhold snacks from my little guy, as well as not allow him to participate in any of the school activities, which I payed for in tuition, until I brought in ALL the school supplies from their list, and brought in another pack of crayons, as the ones I brought were seemingly the wrong ones. Withholding food from a child, & not allowing them to join in class activities is shameful & illegal. I would definitely not recommend this school to anyone. There a lot of other preschool's in Brighton to send your child, that are really nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

I have had all my children enrolled at Elmwood. Their SAT scores have been excellent over the years. The teachers are extremely accommodating and work individually with the students. My oldest daughter is a freshman and has attended Elmwood since she was 4. Her grades are superb and my-inlaws commented that the work she is doing is far beyond what they helped my wife with when she was in high school. I highly recommend this school to anyone who wants a great Christian school focused on the Bible and also has a great academic program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

Very Great School, I recommend this school to others who want their child to learn about Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2013

If God and the Bible is important to you and you want your child to grow in a great environment, then send your child to this school. Not only will your child be taught the Bible, the education standards at this school are much higher then whats offered at public schools. Discipline and respect are taught and the students thrive in the small class environment. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

Very Great School, I recommend this school to others who want their child to learn about Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

My children learned so much and the teachers really loved my kids. I am so thankful for this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2003

This school is a great help to parents who are trying to raise up their children 'in the way they should go,' with a strong base in the Bible and Biblical character training. Academically the school excels, and students are encouraged to work at their own pace. A great school for any christian family truly wanting God's influence in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 50% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 50% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation www.pcci.edu
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Joshua C Lehman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACE
Fax number
  • (720) 685-9005

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Business management

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Graphics
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
175
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
200

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$2000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
www.pcci.edu
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 50%
4 year college - 50%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13100 E 144th Ave
Brighton, CO 80601
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 659-3818

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Vikan Middle School
Brighton, CO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT