Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southeast Elementary School 1

Posted May 18, 2016
- a community member
Until school administration changes you should avoid this school at all costs !!! God forbid they see bubbles which they might persecute you for !

Southeast Elementary School 2

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
This school is still a good school overall. However since the current principal has been there, staff moral seems to have changed. They seem to be doing what they are told for fear of having a negative evaluation. Many teachers have left since new administration took over. She seems uncomfortable talking with people and I speak more to other staff about things than the actual principal. When once this school was receiving awards (see banners in the main lobby) it has now gone without ones over the past couple years. Science is non existent and is not a high priority. Some of the newer teachers seem to have a less than positive attitude towards students, which was not the case when my children first came to this school. It's still a good school, but it seems to be heading in the wrong direction. I'll continue to watch this school closely to see if it remains the right fit for my child.


Southeast Elementary School 3

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
When lookiIt was the highest rated when my son started and is still highly regarded. I have noticed that most of the curriculum criticisms I have come from the state and district levels, but changes are made without parental or experienced teacher's input. There has also been a shift away from teaching students facts and information and letting opinion and rhetoric pass for the basis of much of the student's assignments. Many kids are being catered to with special needs and regular (not so problematic) students do teach themselves to a degree. In the 6 years we have been involved I have witnessed many troubling attitudes from teachers toward students. An adherence to rules seems to supercede kindness and caring at times while forgetting this is an elementary school. Teachers seem to be following protocol against better judgement for fear of reprimand or losing their jobs. Iwill be thinking very hard about alternatives for our next child if test scores and ratings continue to dall without addressing these other issues.

Southeast Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a parent
My sons have attended Southeast Elementary from pre-k to 5th grade. I love so many things about this school. To start with, the teachers and staff are very dedicated to ALL their students. The PTO is dedicated to providing teachers 20th century tools for the classrooms (iPads, projectors)as well as after school enrichment programs (creative writing, Khan Acad, Robotic Legos, chess, art, social studies). There is a great sense of community , as evident by the turnout and volunteerism for nearly all events at the school. The park adjacent to the school is gorgeous and is utilized often by the teachers for classroom lessons. My children feel very safe and welcomed, and that is priceless. A great school!

Southeast Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Both of my children went to elementary school here, after leaving another elementary school where I was told my daughter would need a 504 plan because her reading level was inadequate. Within one semester, my daughter was testing at an advanced level in reading and math. My son is in the gifted and talented program; his teachers over the last three years have consistently worked to give him challenging material as well as improve on any weaker areas. This school is not the school we are zoned for, but it is worth the effort needed to get them to and from school.


Southeast Elementary School 2

Posted July 01, 2012
- a parent
We have been at Southeast for 3+ years. I love the staff, however, I have noticed an alarming amount of catering to non-english speaking students which is directly effecting my children in the classroom. I feel as though my children are thrown to the back burner and expected to teach themselves. It is very unfortunate that the district is using a great school and degrading the academic fundamentals, the test scores and the student population.

Southeast Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
This is a wonderful school with excellent academic programs. We could not be happier with the school and the leadership.

Southeast Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 17, 2007
- a parent
Exceptional staff, great programs and lots of community involvment!


Southeast Elementary School 5

Posted June 17, 2004
- a student
Although i am not a paerent, I once was a student at Southeast Elementary. I attended southeast from Kindergarden until fifth grade and the staff is a very kind and they know how to do their jobs. The teachers are spectacular and to prove my fact look at their CSAP scores.

Southeast Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
Southeast is a wonderful school. The staff really does a geat job with keeping the parents involved. My children love it there.

Nearby schools

Southeast Elementary School
1595 East Southern Street, Brighton, CO  80601
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (303) 866-2680
Last modified Southeast Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top