Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public charter
Brighton, CO

3 stars
Based on 51 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


51 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bromley East Charter School 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
Bromley East Charter School is a great school. The teachers are very attentive. The classroom sizes aren't overwhelmingly. Parents volunteering is welcomed and is always helpful. The staff is wonderful ... From Mrs. Sheldon (principal) to Rhea (front office) to Shannon (lunchroom), etc. My kids had a few problems, but was swiftly handled well. The staff has seen replacement, but to the better of the school - weeding out teachers that are not good and getting ones that want to teach and be good to these young impressionable minds.

Bromley East Charter School 1

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
Bromley East has a high turnover rate among administration and staff. The current principal was issued her throne via backroom dealings and a messy "Coup d' tat" at a school board meeting. In the past two years the best teachers have begun fleeing the school clearly signaling that something is amiss. They have been replaced either by teachers asked to leave other schools or by 22 year old kids fresh out of student teaching. The administration is always open to meet and discuss school issues but unfortunately are not competent enough to actually fix anything. Unable to keep a basic calendar or task list they let issues stagnate until all hope is depleted. Or maybe they are just plain passive-aggressive. While Bromley maintains the facade of being better than local public schools test scores and student achievement state otherwise.


Bromley East Charter School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Safety is aware the teachers know where there students Grades are all the time the principle ms Sheldon is amazing knows most parents and students by face and names the front end staff know names and are friendly BECS does tons of community work and help out family in need with food bank and Xmas stuff wouldn't send my kids anywhere else !! Parking can suck at times but all the staff help to keep in in line

Bromley East Charter School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Both my children attend or have attended Bromley East since kindergarten. My oldest son just finished 8th grade their since last spring and is now in highschool. BECS prepared him very well for his high school experience. It great to have a school that allows your student to stay in one school and community for the first 9 years of school. The middle school at Bromley East is small having only about 300 students in 5th to 8th grade so students do not get overwhelmed or lost. My younger son is in the 3rd montessori program this year he is reading at a 4th or 5th grade level.

Bromley East Charter School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Well organized and good environment school. My kids love it here and I feel confident they are learning and safe.


Bromley East Charter School 5

Posted March 06, 2013
- a parent
Bromley East Charter School has been an excellent school for my GT daughter. Before we came to Bromley, she was bored in all of her classes. She struggled to make friends and was living only in her books. Now she is part of three different clubs, active in Drama performances and making great friends. Her academic scores have also continued to go up! Thank You to all of the wonderful teachers at Bromley for welcoming my daughter and helping her to blossom into a true leader!

Bromley East Charter School 5

Posted February 16, 2013
- a parent
My kids have been at Bromley for 6 years now and it keeps getting better. This school had some struggles in the beginning along with changes in administration, however, the current administration is awesome! They have brought so much to the school and are improving it every year. My kids have always done fine, but under this leadership are growing so much more. My son needs to be challenged and his 1st, 2nd and 3rd grade teachers have all done amazingly with him. They send him home with more difficult work, suited to where he is at. As long as I keep good communication with the teachers and administration, they are always willing to listen and help. My son was bullied in first grade and the teacher/administration put a stop to it immediately. I love all the clubs the school offers and that there are small class sizes. I feel like under the current administration, Bromley is going to get better and better. I have already seen this administration replace teachers who were not at the level you need to bring a school up. So I trust where they are going and am excited to have my kids be a part of it.

Bromley East Charter School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
My kids have been attending B.E.C.S. for 4 years now. Both of my girls are reading 2 grades above normal as well as 2 years ahead in math. The teachers have added additional learning opportunities to keep my kids interested and challenged. The teachers are very approachable and interested in each of my children. I love the atmosphere of the school and the emphasis on leadership qualities. When I look at kids attending a regular middle school, there is a vast difference in dress and behavior. I feel like I made the right choice for my children in choosing to come to this school.


Bromley East Charter School 2

Posted March 15, 2012
- a parent
This school is going through another turnover with administration and frankly, I feel the board of directors needs to bring in a new Principal. While the principal may look good on paper, she does not have the best interest of our children in mind. While I have no doubt this school has some great teachers, we received a Montessori female Kindergarten teacher that is terrible. There is no communication with parents, most of the children are not engaged in the classroom, and I wouldn't be surprised to find out that the children will be behind going into 1st grade. Parents beware.... There is also a lack of respect at this school across the board. This is evident in the parking lot at drop off and pick up. Parents park in no parking zones and sometimes block other cars in. What are you teaching your kids? Parents...the respect for one another starts at home and then will filters to our children. Our children follow by your example.

Bromley East Charter School 5

Posted October 07, 2011
- a parent
My kids started Bromley the last 6 weeks of school in 2011 and we saw a complete turn around in their work ethic and their attitudes towards school. They both love Bromley and would be devastated if they went anywhere else. Mr. Olmsted, 4th grade, is outstanding! My daughter had him last year and I made sure to request him for my son this year. There are a variety of electives for middle school students to choose from and I feel it has really empowered my daughter to try something new. S.T.E.M. is her favorite elective, by far. The teachers give each student individual attention so they know where they are and what kin of help they need. The administration is doing a wonderful job of taking Bromley East to new heights and challenging the students to do the same. We live 10 miles on the other side of town and I wouldn't dream of sending them anywhere else.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bromley East Charter School
356 Longspur Dr, Brighton, CO  80601
(720) 685-3297
Last modified Bromley East Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bromley East Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top