Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Birch Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 404 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2014

Was a great school until they got the new principle. She is loud and puts on a great show even has a few loud parent cheerleaders but don't be fooled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

We are in our 2nd year at Birch and have had a great experience. The office staff are always so helpful and friendly. The principal is always up for new and fun ideas and makes the school experience fun for the kids and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

We came to Birch from a private school and have found that our kids get all the same advantages here that we we paying for previously. Individualized attention, focus on reading and literacy, involved staff, a great school leadership team and parents who are passionate about the school as a whole, rather than just their children. The Great Schools rating belies the true value, as similarly rated schools nearby do not offer near the same level of instruction or involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

Birch Elementary is a socio-economically and culturally diverse school that focuses on teaching the "whole child". The Principal at Birch introduces herself as having 380 kids. That is how she, and her staff, approach their teaching... with a loving hand. Over the past few years, I have watched Birch follow a path of introducing new writing and math programs that are making amazing improvements in learning, and are reflected in our TCAP scores. In addition, their positive behavior mechanism (PAWS), is a wonderful example of how behavior is approached throughout the school -- encouraging the positive. I feel incredibly lucky that we live in this amazing neighborhood, but would, without hesitation, open enroll into Birch if we didn't. It is a wonderful combination of a feeling of community, and a place where my kids can learn to be good citizens, good students, and good friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

Birch is a great neighborhood school that has high standards and expectations for all students. My children are early elementary age and feel as though Birch is part of the family. Communication is honest and frequent: parents get regular messages about what is happening. There are many opportunities for parent and community involvement, and there is a clear and shared focus. It feels as though everyone is on the same page, pulling in the same direction, giving kids the tools they need to succeed and excel. The principal s attitude is encouraging and innovative. She is student-centered and sets the tone for the rest of the school. She is super-visible to the kids, gets to know them on a personal basis, and they love her! In addition, the school has a great mix of new and veteran teachers in a supportive learning environment. The small learning setting increases student contact with teachers. Staff recognizes that some students must overcome significant barriers, but these obstacles are not seen as insurmountable. Curriculum, and assessments are aligned with state standards and BVSD does a great job in supporting district schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

I love first and foremost that the school and its teachers and staff are so accessible. Rarely have I sent an email or made a call that has not been answered. Additionally, the teachers and staff reach out to me if I need to be made aware of something, and there's also plenty of opportunity to be involved at the school. Birch's principal, in particular, is very involved with and passionate about the students. In the short time we have been at Birch, I have seen the writing and math programs grow by leaps and bounds and seen how it's affected my own child's schoolwork. I live in the Birch neighborhood and though I could have open enrolled at other BVSD schools, I chose this school because it is a slice of real life the families here are socio-economically and culturally diverse and, though at times that can present its own set of challenges, I love that those challenges exist. Through them, my kids get to see that hard work and perseverance, by anyone student, staff member or parent (and there is a very passionate and hard-working PTO) can make a positive change to his or her own life as well as the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

This school used to be wonderful. unfortunately, this past year has been absolutely horrible for not only my daughter but for a lot of students whom I baby-sit for after school! their reading levels are way be hind as well! Unless their are some drastic changes school year. I don't see this school improving much!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 22, 2011

The teachers and staff at Birch are so friendly, outgoing and approachable. They go out of their way to make all the students feel like they are heard and supported. We moved our kids to Birch from a different elementary school and we are so happy that we did. Our kids are thriving at Birch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

A terrific, small school that offers more than meets the eye. I have 3 children all of whom have attended Birch Elementary. Two of my kids also attended 2 other elementary schools. One of my children is academically gifted, one is average, and one has struggled. Each of my children has received the individual attention required to both excel and work at his/her level at Birch. The teachers, administration/staff, and parents are super involved, approachable, and supportive. In my experience Birch has exceeded my expectations when compared with the other elementary schools my kids have attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Birch is a intimate school with an icredible staff. Anyone I ever come across there is always friendly and wants to help. All the kids seem to be very happy. My son loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

My 3 year old son is attending preschool and Ms. Sara and Ms. Lucia are awesome. The kids do a variety of creative things. My son has learned a lot. Thank you for being so great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

This school has wonderful, motivated teachers. Parent involvement is high and there are great art and music programs. This is a raelly nice community school whose only drawback is the facility itself which is aging and in need of air conditioning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2007

Although Birch does still have somewhat 'open' classrooms, the teachers and students are respectful of others. I have been pleased with the teachers at Birch. They spend a lot of time working individually with students. The parents at Birch are wonderful. So many awesome parents volunteer their time to help out in the classrooms. I look forward to all of my children attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

I have two children that attend Birch and I have been very pleased thus far with the attention and education that they are receiving. My doubts are in the administration. Keep up the good work teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

Teachers and Staff are all helpful and a joy to work with. Although our kids are used to more challenge, the school overall is pretty good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

We have just moved to the area and my child seems to love Birch. The teachers are wonderful and seem to care about the children. My child has made friends easily and enjoys going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

Our children attend Birch because that is where my husband went. It seems to me that not much has changed since he was in school. Our son is not doing well, and I find the teachers to not be at all interested in helping him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

School facility is terribly outdated. Has the 'open - classroom' environment which is not safe and makes learning difficult because of the noise. Leadership is run as a dictatorship. Many teachers have been at the school for over 25 years. Many are burnt out and have little patience. . Broomfield school in general do not have the same facilities, programs, leadership or teacher quality as the schools in Boulder. Furthermore the SRA funding for Broomfield schools is consistently lower. School does have a strong parent support group but we rarely get to decide where the money we raise should be spent. One bright side... Mrs. Ludwig - 2nd grade is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

My daughter has been going to Birch since Kindergarden, she is going to third grade now and she loves it and I really have liked her teachers, They work with her great. I feel they really care about her achieving her education and she loves going to the school. When ever she is having any difficulty they let me know, also have regular parent/teacher conferences to keep you up to speed on how they are doing and what can be done to help in any certain areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female80%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Reading

All Students71%
Female77%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Writing

All Students62%
Female77%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female74%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Reading

All Students59%
Female67%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Writing

All Students43%
Female59%
Male31%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female90%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students87%
Female90%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Science

All Students64%
Female70%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Writing

All Students69%
Female80%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 56%
Hispanic 23% 32%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1035 Birch
Broomfield, CO 80020
Phone: (720) 561-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kohl Elementary School
Broomfield, CO


Aspen Creek K-8 School
Broomfield, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT