Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Broomfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $398,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $903.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 1, 2012

I am currently a senior at Holy Family and have been attending since I was a freshman. My overall impression of my high school experience is a very good one. The homework load is considerable and there were nights when I was up doing homework for what seemed like forever, but that was a challenge that I was willing to take and which ultimately prepared me for junior and senior year as well as for college. Holy Family also provided me with many different opportunities that I am now happy to say I took advantage of. I am a member of the show choir, I am a part of the tennis team, I participate in National Honors Society, Student Government, Sociedad Honoraria Hispanica, and I am planning to graduate with an Honors Diploma. There are many negative reviews of this school and I must say that I disagree with them. Students get out of this school what they put in. The teachers truly do care about the students and the students truly do care about each other. No school is perfect and I am not claiming that Holy Family is excluded from that, but this is a school worth high recognition.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2012

I went to this school last year and the work loaded was insane. I had at least 4 hours of homework a night. If some drama started between student all the teachers and staff frowned upon you. All the teachers are very strict and don' make the lesson plan fun. And the cost of the athletic games are way over priced as well as the school dances and lunches. I mean $4.00 for a small chicken sandwich is ridiculous. And the teachers provided no sort of help with the assignments.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2012

School is just OK..nothing superb as far as Catholic schools go. Last year my daughter's algebra teacher was not that great. He coaches girls basketball and watched basketball film in class. Also, assigns homework and does not correct the work that is wrong, so how do kids know how to do it correctly? Had to end up using her middle school teacher as a tutor. Also, her Fresman English teacher had little command of the class. Told kids to call him "Bubba" and not by his first or last name, so he was more worried about being friends than a fair teacher, in my opinion. Also, the Top 50 school thing they had to "apply for", not get recognised for. So don't get lulled that they were chosen out of the blue for this award. Also, school seems focused more on sports than academics as far as what we read in their newsletters, etc. Only reason our daughter goes there is because she needs a more closed campus, and discipline environment. But, I guess our expectations were higher for this Catholic school than what we have seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

It was agreat environment for my daughter. She was led to believe that if she went there, she would be able to get into a major college. This is not true. She felt like she learned more than she would have in our district's school. She really enjoyed the Latin classes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Not perfect by any means, Have had my kids there for 6 years now- they have never felt excluded because they are not 'rich'. HF has a nurturing environment -there is a place for everyone. Lots pf parental involvement, although school spirit from students is waning. My oldest got into the college she wanted and feels she was very well prepared - that's what it's all about, isn't it?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

Holy Family highschool is for the rich, only those who can afford fit into this environment. all others are left to feel as outsiders. The main pride of the school is sports but unfortunately school pride is lacking. Overall this school is a learning opportunity to become a teacher... the students are often to forced to learn on their own since the staff is terrible


Posted April 1, 2009

HF has a rigorous College Prep curriculum with high academic stds, 7pt grading scale, and numerous AP options. It is small enough, 675 students, to provide a close and familiar atmosphere. It allows each student numerous extracurricular options, especially with sports activities. There is a strong sense of community and school spirit. However, this school is designed for academics and a student must be ready to accept this challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

This is a great college preparatory institution. Over 95% of the students go on to enroll in 4 year colleges. The program is geared towards higher education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

This is a great school. Everything from academics to sports to school spirit is amazing!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2005

I go to Holy Family and its a great school. They have strong united sports teams, a great arts program, including musical arts and I have learned so much in all my classes. I believe any teen would enjoy the learning enviroment at HFHS and have great memories of highschool years in a fun but safe enviorment.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 56%
Hispanic 12% 32%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Denver
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5195 West 144th Avenue
Broomfield, CO 80023
Phone: (303) 410-1411

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Legacy High School
Broomfield, CO


Broomfield High School
Broomfield, CO



Catalyst High School
Lafayette, CO



Front Range Academy
Broomfield, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT