Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Nativity Of Our Lord School

Private | PK-8 | 57 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Broomfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $229,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $983.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2013

This school was the best school ever! The teachers really care about you! The education is great! In math, the math teacher separates you in different groups for 8th grade. The groups are Algebra A and Algebra 1, with Algebra 1 being the "higher" of the two. In 7th grade, at the end of the year, you get to know whether you got into Algebra A or Algebra 1. Unfortunately, I was undecided at the time and I almost got put into Algebra A. My teacher thought it was the best for me if I got put into Algebra A, but I thought I could really try my hardest, so I persuaded her to put me into Algebra 1. I'm glad I made that decision because I proved my teacher that I could really try my hardest and I did end up with all A's for each quarter. If you have a hard time in math the teacher allows you to come in for recess or after school to get some help with your homework. I also tried my hardest in science and ended up with all A's.Even if you are a "troublemaker", they will not treat you harshly. There were two "troublemakers" in my class and they both got great education. One even got on the decathlon team. You really get treated like family at Nativity, and that's what I love about Nativity.


Posted February 28, 2013

Math is a joke at this school. I'm a grad from this school, and very active in high school STEM programs now, and I will tell you that this school has the worst math program ever. I was put in the lower algebra A in 8th grade, and I knew they made a mistake. After consulting with the IDIOTIC PRINCIPAL who would not budge and grant me my request, I continued on with he year. After graduating I realized that no longer wanted to stay in the private school atmosphere and switched to public schooling and it was the best decision of my life. Freshman year my math brilliance (which Nativity seemed to ignore) shined so bright that I actually jumped from algebra one to pre-calc in one year. They had over looked my brilliance to the point were now I'm taking linear algebra currently (college level course) in high school! The worst part about this is that if i were to stay in the private school atmosphere I would have never reached my full potential, and never have been motivated. Now, I'm going to UC Berkeley next year to major mathematics, and computer sciences. I owe public school all of my academic success.


Posted December 10, 2012

We were at the school for one very long semester. This school is totally unequipped to manage above average, bright children. If your child does "fit in the box" then this is a great school for you. I was very disappointed with how ineffectual both the teaching staff and principal was in educating my child. As well, I was not met with any sort of willingness to make any changes to a situation that clearly did not work for my child who needed more of a challenge. Since moving my child to another private school in town, he is going gangbusters and thriving. Our experience at Nativity was nothing short of a nightmare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2012

I'm a current student at Nativity and have been here since kindergarten. I like this school a lot, but admit that some of that is probably because I'm a good student. The teachers are nice (particularly in science and art) and have done a good job. However, I think the class difference is a bit extreme.You are either one of the very rich, or you are not. I also think that some of the parents (particularly those who have many kids attending, make donations or volunteer a lot) have too great a say in what happens there. This can be unfair to some of the middle or lower class families. All in all, I've had a good time there, but if you have a child who needs extra help with school work or you aren't in the greatest financial shape, this probably isn't the school for you.


Posted May 17, 2012

We had very high hopes for our kids attending this CS but have been extremely disappointed. We, along with a couple other families have decided Nativity is not for our kids. The administration does not handle situations appropriately, nor do they let kids be kids. The parents running the school definitely have a lot of pull with the teachers and administration and are awful to those on the "outside'. I have a smart kid that isn't challenged and has almost been held back to his current grade level rather than pushed to do harder/more difficult work. I had heard a lot of families have left and now I know why!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2012

We only have 1 yr of experience at this school. But, 6 at another CS with our daughter and I went to 3 different catholic schools on 2 different continents. So you can say my assessment of catholic schools come with some valued experience. First impression of Nativity is the quality of the teaching staff. I have never been so impressed with the quality care, structure, and discipline that is forwarded to my child - we enjoyed the last school she was in but the education does not compare. My daughter tells me that Nativity is really hard & strict but she LOVES it - so do I!! Her grades are much better that ever before, and she has always made the honor roll. As far as I can see the Principal is a wonderful disiplanarian & educator, not so good as a business woman trying to keep & grow her private school business. One observation - you would think the first thing you would want to do is personally welcome a new family to your school. The school tries hard to get parents to help out but it seams that only a minor percentage actually care enough to step up to the line to volunteer (sure I want my kid to have a good time. But, I want other parents to do that for me!!) REALLY!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

My two children have been going to Nativity since kindergarten, and they are both very happy here. There is a strong sense of community here and a high degree of parent volunteerism at the school. In my observation, it is the high level of family participation and emphasis on morality as well as academic excellence that makes this school so well-rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

I have two children at Nativity, one in grade school and one in the middle school. My children are quite happy here and I believe the curriculum to be quite good. The math program is pretty strong and I feel the kids are well prepared for any high school they choose to attend. Of course, the Catholic education is important to us and this is one of Nativity's strengths. There is a real sense of a caring community here and I feel my children are in very good hands. The lunch program is quite good with many healthy options for lunch if they choose to buy it. If only we had more room at this school, as the space is limited. As with many schools, I believe parents who can volunteer their time here will appreciate all that takes place at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

Nativity has been a great experience for our kids and our family. The kids are learning and living their faith. Academically, they are receiving a strong education. My kids are happy to go to, and happy when they come home from, Nativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

I am very happy with what Nativity has provided my children. They have learned love and respect for themselves and each other. THey have learned how to incorporate their spiritual selves into their daily lives. I came on here and saw reviews that were negative, remember the people who post negative are usually few and far in between. I feel like it is the most wonderful place I could send my kids. The experience the staff and love my children are given everyday is nuruturing and positive. A+++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

I just graduated from Nativity, and I went there from kindergarten all the way through the 8th grade. I did love many assets of Nativity, but as another reviewer said, middle school was kinda downhill. Don't get me wrong, this is a good school, but the teachers did expect more from you than they should have. And yes, they DO check your facebook, as one kid in my class got in trouble for something he posted on it. I did like Nativity for the most part, though, and I say if you can find the money go ahead and try it out. Nativity does try, and yes, even if the figures of authority do think we live in the 1940's they are still very lenient and don't nave nearly as many rules as other private schools. So I say give Nativity a go, if it works for you then you won't be disappointed. :)


Posted October 3, 2010

I went to Nativity from Kindergarden to 8th grade! I loved K-5...but once I became a middle schooler everything went downhill. This happened because of the Principal and the Vice Principal who are not up to date on how to run schools. (they think its the 1940's) The middle school teachers are horrible except only a few teachers. The teachers yell and basically scream at you. Once a month or two I would go home in tears because of how the teachers treated me. They don't let you have a social life (they even check your facebook), they yell and scream, and they don't show you respect. On the good side they prepared me for High School and taught me about Christ on the Catholic Church. So if you are going to send your child to nativity. I would send them only till 5th grade


Posted July 10, 2010

My daughter has been at Nativity for several years and she is very happy and is thriving at this school. They have high expectations of the students (and this is one reason I like Nativity). My daughter has learned a great deal about religion and responsbility. I highly recommend Nativity!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Our son is very behind in math, the kids are not treated with respect at all!!!! Some teachers have been there to long and are mean . We are looking for a new school. Some other parent said it right...if you have a perfect child the school will be fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

Nativity is a good school, if you have the right student. The school is far behind in times with differentation. The school lacks the quality support for thoes who need extra help with academics and with slight behavior modifications. My student is two years behind in reading and is now stuck with the continual effort in keeping up with his peers in reading. The curriculum is not researched based and only used based on teachers preference with out data to support the the curriculum. Many of the teachers are great. Most of them are very careing. I do believe that all of them have the students in mind. I feel that the Archdiocese is the ones who need to 'step it Up' in order for the teachers and the principals get what they need to be an very effective school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

We, like many other good families have decided to leave Nativity. We were very disenchanted with the entire experience. The teachers were caring enough (with a few exceptions) but we had concerns our son would be behind in academics. The parents were sharply divided between have and have-nots. The charm of Catholic school no longer exists at Nativity. It's a shame they've forgotten away from what matters in order to pursue their political agenda.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

This is the best school ever! I have been going here seen Kingergarden.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2007

This is the best school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2007

This school use to be great. It is going down and needs to evaluate the teachers. We left the school due to lack of education and the lack of integrity of the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2006

My son has been going to this school for three years and I am truly impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 56%
Hispanic 12% 32%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kathy Shadel
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Denver
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 West Midway Boulevard
Broomfield, CO 80020
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 466-4177

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kohl Elementary School
Broomfield, CO


Broomfield Academy
Broomfield, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT