Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Broomfield, CO

3 stars
Based on 50 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


53 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Legacy High School 2

Posted November 05, 2014
- a student
Hi hi Hi hi Hi hi this school is very interesting but not in the best way.

Legacy High School 4

Posted November 02, 2014
- a student
Contrary to my pessimistic peers who are finding every fault and blowing circumstances out of proportion, I believe that Legacy promotes a healthy learning environment with little to none of the drama expressed by some others. That being said, Legacy is by no means a perfect school. It has its share of teachers who should really find a new career path and students who create undesirable conditions, but these things are unavoidable. I'm currently a Junior, and in my three years I have witnessed a staggering amount of selflessness from the staff and a responsive administration. Teachers have consistency offered up their own time to help and are only looking to improve us students. Others that have made a point to speak poorly of legacy are more than likely self diagnosed failures, who believe the world is out to make their own lives difficult.They should know that school is a two-way street. Here at legacy I know that if effort is made by a student then the teachers will always match, if not exceed the students effort. This school is safe, clean, open, and makes every effort to be its best. Its national ranking is a testament to that. Don't be mislead. Legacy is a great school.


Legacy High School 1

Posted August 02, 2014
- a student
This school is honestly one of the worst places you could ever attend. The teachers here harass girls for what they're wearing and will strictly enforce the dress code on girls only. I watched a teacher tell a girl she was fat and forced her to go home. The teachers here will make you feel stupid, worthless, and won't help you when you reach out to them then proceed to tell you you're not making an effort. The students here are also out of control. The bullying is outrageous. For a whole year I was mocked and pushed around, they would make me feel horrible and then along with the teachers giving me crap it was unbearable.Plus almost all of the students here are big bible thumpers and if you don't conform to their beliefs you're treated as an outcast. The counselor's will probably not even see you or they just won't do anything about your situation. Along with the horrible staff and the horrible atmosphere in general the school is too large to navigate. The halls aren't even labeled. There's just a small piece of paper that has sections cut off so it's like good luck finding your classes. This school is horrible and if you actually love your child do not let them attend this school.

Legacy High School 3

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
This school was first rate. I had both a gifted child and a special ed student attend Legacy. I found that my older child was challenged to be all that she could be she lettered repeatedly and did extremely well on her act. My youngest started out as a special ed student her goal was to graduate well out of that classification. She found the support of counseling and teachers that were willing to give her the one on one attention to help her achieve her goal. That being said the music program specifically Marching band and softball seem to eat away at the school. What I mean by that is if you are in band or on the varsity softball team your school experience is very different than the rest of the kids. These kids have it pretty easy and they never run into resistance on any level because they are the reason so much money comes to Legacy. We have to make sure that the little darling are not upset in any way because the money will stop coming in. yep if your not a band geek or an athlete no one knows your name. I would say that this school could improve by making it clear that recruit.

Legacy High School 1

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
LHS has been a PROFOUND disappointment. Parent input is completely ignored because the teachers union reigns supreme. Leadership is impotent. Dress codes are not enforced. Crude language policy is not enforced. It seems morale among teachers is dismal. The math program tanked this year. Student academic anxiety is sky high because the system is failing them. Parents are not welcome to chaperone Home Coming (inside the actual dance). You will not be given a direct "no" answer. You are invited to take tickets, check coats or serve water but you are NOT allowed in the dance proper. This is frightening.


Legacy High School 1

Posted April 16, 2013
- a parent
My student was a freshman this year, and I just figured this out -- DUH!!!! In relation to LHS's grading scale, an 89 is an A, a 79 is a B, and a 69 is a C. Really? What kind of school is this that grades as standard on a curve to inflate student grades? Sure does tell you something about their lack confidence in teaching and performance.

Legacy High School 1

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
Academics? Does this school actually have academics? Legacy is a total "drama" school whose performance stinks! I, and many of the other parents I have spoken to, have not seen of any kind of academic excellence from this school except from students that would excel in any type of environment. The teachers do NOT care about student learning, all they care about are their statistics when it comes to passing so as to inflate their personal and school reputation. Students automatically get a 50% on ALL assignments even if they do not turn in anything, and get full credit when they turn in assignments weeks and months later -- how is that fair GPA-wise to the students who REALLY do the work? This is the WORST school my children have even been at and I cannot wait until I can put them in another school next year!

Legacy High School 2

Posted April 06, 2013
- a student
Legacy is so mediocre. The kids are egotistical and ethnocentric. The school culture is cliquey and a lot of a person's self worth is placed on the amount of money they have. For a mostly upper middle class demographic the students are awfully provinicial. The academics are subpar and the none of the teachers are anything to rave about. They do the least that's expected of them and go on. The school should focus on providing better academics. Also, the gossip that's lurking everywhere is so immature. Can't wait to get out.


Legacy High School 1

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
Legacy's statistics, especially student grades & graduation statistics are hugely inflated by their flunking no student policy. They pass ALL students regardless of performance or classroom attendance. Students receive nothing below 50% on ALL assignments, including missing assignments. If a student misses class even if unexcused they are exempt from taking quizzes and they are entered into the grade book in such a way that those points do not contribute toward their grade. My student should have flunked, but teachers INTENTIONALLY did not enter a bunch of missing assignments and entered just enough so that they squeaked by and passed the class (i.e., if all of the assignments had been accounted for, they would not have passed). No parent ever wants their child to fail, but if they are not held accountable for their performance and are not being prepared adequately to succeed in college, then I cannot say that the school is doing their job. Even involved parents only have so much control of their children and need teachers to help in such a way that they inspire their students to succeed and not set them up to fail simply by pushing them through the system to be another stat.

Legacy High School 5

Posted January 21, 2013
- a parent
I am shocked at the previous reviews & I have to disagree. Having seen schools from bigger cities, Legacy High is more like a sanctuary. When I asked my teen about "bullies" at Legacy, the response was fast "bullies don't stand a chance at this school". Bullying is serious and could ruin lives & the staff there appears to be truly committed to keep this school safe for kids who keep out of trouble.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Legacy High School
2701 West 136th St, Broomfield, CO  80020
(720) 972-6700
Last modified Legacy High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Legacy High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top