Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Canon City, CO
Students enrolled: 1,090

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Canon City High School 2

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
Academic rigor seems to be lacking. AP classes are of uneven quality and rigor. Extracurricular activities are strong, but student participation fees and uniform costs can be expensive, particularly in the vocal music program. Uniforms/costumes should be reused more from year to year rather than having (at least in some cases) buying new each year. I suspect there's a disconnect in general between the administration and the community. The school tax levy is the second lowest in the state, yet the community voted against increasing taxes. Textbooks are old, starting to fall apart, and in some cases there aren't enough to go around. CCHS is in trouble. Hopefully it's not too late to keep it from falling into complete mediocrity. For now, people moving into the area would do well to avoid having kids attend CCHS.

Canon City High School 3

Posted December 13, 2011
- a parent
Good school for students that have "a good head on their shoulders". Kids that are careful in the friends they choose and hold tight to their morals and value do well. Lots of extra-curricular opportunities. If your child should happen to tend to be more of a follower, or is easily led astray by unhealthy peers, you'll want to look into a more structured school with tighter boundaries. The "troubled" type of teen has a bit too much freedom in this setting, and there isn't much they satff can do to control them.


Canon City High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
The kids are like a family for each other. CCHS has a variety of sports teams, and an excellent music education program. The top choir is usually the best in the state!

Canon City High School 1

Posted November 17, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Canon City High School 0
no rating

Posted July 24, 2007
- a student
I love CCHS, its a great school with great teachers, for the most part. I love our music program it's really great. The community is always really involved in sports and other school activities such as fundraisers. This school has a warm environment, no one is without a friend, or at least a polite gesture.


Canon City High School 5

Posted May 17, 2006
- a student
The students at this school learn so much in all of their classes. This school also provides greaty music programs and their are really good at what they do on stage. The parents are encouraged to be very involed in their childs high school involement which is a really good deal.

Canon City High School 4

Posted May 08, 2006
- a former student
This school provided me with a good understanding of growing up and felt very supportived throughout my time at CCHS. Athletics and Academics were both above average.

Canon City High School 4

Posted December 08, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Canon City High School 4

Posted August 14, 2004
- a parent
I am pleased with the helpful, friendly staff. CCHS has been a positive experience for my child. I beleive the district as a whole needs to improve the core academic experience, and not spend so much time teaching the students how to take the CSAP test. Overall CCHS is a great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Canon City High School
1313 College, Canon City, CO  81212
(719) 276-5870
Last modified Canon City High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Canon City High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top