Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

American Academy

Charter | K-8 | 892 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

79 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2007

I am amazed at what my kids are learning at American Academy. The education they are receiving is far above where they were before coming to this school. This is an academically challenging school and I couldn't be happier with the curriculam, the teachers or the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

We are thrilled with the school. I will admit that it was an adjustment coming from a school where my children were never challenged. Now they are thriving and loving everything about it. Of course they can't wait for the new facility with a 'real' playground but they are still having fun and staying active. I am certain that my children will be prepared for highschool and beyond now. They are learning to take notes and tests and they are actually learning to write! I never saw an effort to teach writing in thier old school. In addition the Core knowledge curriculum allows a deeper exposure to science and history before Jr. High. The 4th graders are about to dissect a animals heart while they are learning about cardiology! There are high expectations of the children in this school and they really rise to meet the challenges set in front of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

You couldn't pay us to take our kids out of AACP. Yes, the Admin could use some work, but so could any organization in the world - academic or not. Yes, there are issues with the playground, but we all went in knowing that the current campus was temporary. Wait till the new school is built in Fall 2008! The academics are very challenging; The parent community is very passionate about the lives of their kids - which is part of why this school is so great. The school is new and always evolving. CSAPs don't lie, nor does the 700+ person waiting list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

We feel very fortunate to have found American Academy: For parents, we offer the following: 1. It's a core knowledge school. It's important to understand what that means and how it will 'fit' your child's needs. We have found (after just one year) that our kids (3rd and 6th grade) have learned more than we could have ever expected (we came from an established Douglas County elementary school with an excellent rating). 2. Math/Science/and Technology is a major focus. The students exceed proficiency in these areas at an early age. The content is challenging and progressive. 3. The academic and behavioral expectations are high. We are happy about this. 4. The school is 'young'. There are many 'new school kinks' to work out,which incidentally, are within reason and to be expected. The administrative systems are in place and communication has been excellent. 5. The volunteer and parental energy is very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

We have sent our daughter to AA for the past two years. She just finished her first grade year and is reading at a strong 3rd grade level. Her math skills are greatly improving because of the time her teachers are spending with her. I can't speak highly enough of the teachers that teach at AA. The specials at AA have greatly improved since the first year and I can't say enough how wonderful they are and all the time they each put in each year. I personally volunteer on a weekly basis and feel that my time is well spent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

We're thrilled with our daughter's progress in this school. Nothing's perfect! You have to take the good with the bad. The facility is not good, but it's temporary! Our daughter loves her school and her teacher. Not once has she ever complained about the building or playing on concrete. Her dad grew up in Queens and he played on concrete! he's fine. Love the dress code. Sometimes you have to go with the flow and let things work themselves out. It's a new school and there will be growing pains. The curriculum is great, teachers are good. We're very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

I went to American Academy the first year it opened. There were some things that I liked about American Academy, and there were some things I dreaded about American Academy. First of all making friends was the easiest part. Everyone was new so that wasn't challenging. Also I really liked the teachers, and I also really liked the specials teachers as well.My teacher was the best teacher I had ever had. American Academy did not have that many after school activities. American Academy had just ok facilities. The board members kids were treated differently from everyone else's kids. Older grades weren't always nice to younger grades. I thought they focused too much on math and science. The administration wasn't very friendly either.American Academy wasn't for me.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 4, 2007

Stay away from this school at all costs! My kids are MISERABLE here. We are doing everything we can to get them out and back in to our neighborhood school. The only positive is the curriculum but even that can't make up for the countless other negatives; terrible facility, weak administration, very few extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2007

I made the big mistake of sending my child here this year. I completely agree with the other parent regarding the administration and board. If your not one of the select few you will have no say. If you offer suggestions that differ from their opinions you will be shunned. Academics are ok, and the school gets good marks in those areas, but at what cost? Little Robots? Will the overscheduled children be able to function in the real world? Do some serious research before betting your child's education on this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2007

I LOVE AA ad am very glad to go there! I think all kids should go here. The teachers are wonderful!! It is the best school in Colorado! I don't know why anyone would think it is a bad school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2007

I am constantly amazed at the progress that my child has made at AACS. the staff and teachers are so caring and wonderful. They put in so much time and heart! I can't say enough positive words about the curriculum! Core knowledge is the way to go! The one thing that I should mention is that this school is an academically rigorous school of choice. Therefor, not all students and families may fit the high standards that they expect. Some kids just don;t fit the challenging classes. I cna add that you won;t be disappointed if you want your child to succeed in life- send them here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2007

My kids went to American Academy last year. I couldn't get them out of there fast enough. In fact, my kids begged me not to send them back there. The administration treated the parents who put in countless volunteer hours horribly. The board members children get special treatment. The school claims to be about core values, but the administration and board don't practice what they preach. The teachers were good, but it didn t make up for the stress that was inflicted on everyone. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

There is a lot to be said for this school - some good teachers, the curriculum - BUT... the admin is only there for damage control. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

I go to American Academy(6th)and this school rox tha world. Everyone should go here. It is the best school in all of Colorado. I love it! Send your child here and you will worship the school for how in line they are and how much they know!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2007

The school and teachers are completly involved in the kids and their education. Principal extreamly envolved and eager to help. Other parent interaction is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

I'm just amazed by these horrible reviews, especially the one that said American Academy does not compare well to other schools in science and technology. American Academy offers very rigorous instruction in those areas, so I'm not sure why anyone would have made that comment. The school did have a rough start, but that is to be expected for a first-year charter school. Complaints about the Board could be true, but the school has improved a great deal since last year and I see more improvement every day. The Core Knowledge curriculum speaks for itself, and I love the level of discipline at the school. The music and art classes are great, and parents are able (and expected) to volunteer as much as possible. My children have attended other public schools in the area, and I can say from experience that American Academy is far superior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2006

Our two sons were there last year and we are very happy to have them out of there. We thought their teachers were quite good, but the school administration and parents board were running amok. We had to get the school district involved in how they were railroading our oldest son for minor stuff. The school district took our side, but AA didn't change their ways. Beware! If you send your kids to a charter school, that school then becomes your 'neighborhood school'. If the charter school doesn't work out, your geographical neighborhood school does not have to take them. You may be stuck. We had to beg!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

I had 3 children in AA last year. We chose to pull all three of them for several reasons. First, all three of their teachers were let go. I thought all 3 teachers were great because of the time they spent with my children and met their individual needs, mainly, reading and math. Secondly, the Board of Directors showed that their decisions were made for their own needs and not the school as a whole. They disregard suggestions or feelings of the parent population. Last of all, it was not worth the stress. The rules change in midstream, concerns with the curriculum, especially the lower grades, lack of choices for the upper grades and just the 'politics' of the school on a day-to-day basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

People should know that the high CSAP scores received by this 1st year school are reflective of where the student attended the previous year. Over 30% unenrollment after first year. Many have stayed because neighborhood schools are full. Curriculum is great. The school advertises having a Science and Technology emphasis but does not compare to other schools in those areas. Employee turnover is high: at least 10 teachers and staff left. Parents are treated rudely by the administration and board. It would be better if the board members did not have children attending the school. Playground is cement - no grass or equipment. The uniform policy was completely changed against parents wishes causing financial hardship on many families. New schools can have bumpy starts. Without a change in the school leadership some of these problems may never go away. Our family didn't have time for the changes to be made.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female89%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Reading

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students71%
Female82%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female86%
Male98%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Reading

All Students91%
Female95%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Writing

All Students85%
Female85%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female96%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Reading

All Students92%
Female96%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Science

All Students88%
Female94%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students78%
Female84%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female92%
Male95%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Reading

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant99%

Writing

All Students92%
Female94%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female82%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Reading

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)99%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant99%

Writing

All Students96%
Female98%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female86%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students94%
Female100%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Science

All Students84%
Female89%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students90%
Female97%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 56%
Hispanic 8% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A41%
Male 48%N/A51%
Female 52%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Erin Kane
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Fax number
  • (720) 733-2641

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6971 Mira Vista Lane
Castle Pines, CO 80108
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 292-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Hope Online School
Englewood, CO


SkyView Academy
Highlands Ranch, CO


Fox Creek Elementary School
Highlands Ranch, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT