Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public charter
Castle Pines, CO
Students enrolled: 892
Before care: No
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

American Academy is an academically rigorous and character-driven preschool through grade 8 charter public school with an emphasis on science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). We have two Douglas County, Colorado, campus locations: one in the city of Castle Pines and one in Parker near Main Street. At American Academy, we believe that for students to be truly competitive in the 21st century, they must have an early and solid foundation that includes math, science, and literacy along with a well-rounded and common body of historical and cultural knowledge. We deliver that foundation using a range of carefully chosen and age-appropriate curriculum, along with our own American Academy STEM Discovery Program, designed to expose students in all grades to the fields of study and professional possibilities in STEM. In every area of study, we challenge and support each student at their own ability level using flexible ability grouping. regular progress evaluation and data-driven instruction. In addition to our proven academic record, we immerse our students daily in a culture of respect and responsibility, setting high expectations for character as well as academics, and encouraging that with integrated character-based programs and our own American Academy Manners.
June 05, 2015

4 stars
Based on 90 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


American Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
It is a school that, in general, fosters academic achievement and sometimes at the cost of compassion, caring and empathy. Of course, there are many exceptions, but our experience has at times been the former. However, most of the staff at the school are wonderful. A few are, at times, passive aggressive toward the children. Good, kind, loving teachers who show support for the children and parents show up when "rigor" is discarded.

American Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Unfortunately, I think they lose much of the opportunity to teach these important characteristics due to their educational model. This school uses language like "rigorous" and "high standards", but what happens if the children are not up to their performance model? What if they are alternative learners and their abilities are not conducive to the school's learning style? Not a very "whole-child", humanistic approach. Esteeming the children will build self-esteem in which honesty and integrity grows from.


American Academy 3

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Rote learning, not whole-child. Not geared toward kids learning critical thinking skills. Instead, children arrive home with extensive homework where their teacher is not at their disposal. Subjects are moved along at a breakneck pace (I think they call it "rigorous"), making retention of content inconsistent, and the kids are unable to receive consistent assistance from the teacher due to the pace. Teachers here apparently need to keep up the pace - the "rigor and high standards" demand this - so that it can become difficult for them to foster the support and intimacy I'm sure they'd like to give the kids.

American Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Homework substitutes for a chunk of what would've been hands-on teaching and learning; student/teacher relationships need to be fostered. A loving, patient attitude toward the children should be the goal, but is sometimes replaced by rote learning and extensive homework.

American Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
They are effective when given time with their kids, to learn about them and enjoy them. They're only ineffective due to the expected pace and educational standard of the school (rote learning/fast pace delivery of content). Extensive homework is promoted instead of the child learning the content in his/her class and the teacher ensuring retention and relationship building.


American Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
If the child has already some of these characteristics. They do not necessarily concentrate on fledgling children - to lift them up and help them develop persistence and grit. One must lift the child, not push the child down by forced adherence to, at times, what can be stressful standards.

American Academy
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Somewhat yes, but there are children whose disrespectful behavior goes "under the radar", but who may bully and act up when they are not in the presence or earshot of the teacher(s). So the "respect" is for show in these instances.

American Academy
no rating

Posted June 05, 2015
- a school leader
American Academy is an academically rigorous and character-driven preschool through grade 8 charter public school with an emphasis on science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). We have two Douglas County, Colorado, campus locations: one in the city of Castle Pines and one in Parker near Main Street. At American Academy, we believe that for students to be truly competitive in the 21st century, they must have an early and solid foundation that includes math, science, and literacy along with a well-rounded and common body of historical and cultural knowledge. We deliver that foundation using a range of carefully chosen and age-appropriate curriculum, along with our own American Academy STEM Discovery Program, designed to expose students in all grades to the fields of study and professional possibilities in STEM. In every area of study, we challenge and support each student at their own ability level using flexible ability grouping. regular progress evaluation and data-driven instruction. In addition to our proven academic record, we immerse our students daily in a culture of respect and responsibility, setting high expectations for character as well as academics, and encouraging that with integrated character-based programs and our own American Academy Manners.


American Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Like any school, this varies from teacher to teacher. Some have worked better for one child than the other.
1 person found this helpful

American Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
I don't feel like there is too much homework. There needs to be homework!!! It's called "practice." It's review for what they've learned or even a challenge to expand on it. Homework is important to me as a parent and I welcome it. My kids get plenty of fun time on the weekends because we don't bury them in activities WE choose. They see friends, they play and they plan their own activities. And homework has to be done FIRST.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

American Academy
6971 Mira Vista Lane, Castle Pines, CO  80108
(720) 292-5200
Last modified American Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
American Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 107 reviews. Top