Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Castle View High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

Castle view is a very fast school the teachers can be amazing but we also have some that dont care. If you need help this is not the school for you. I am a sophomore and i honestly cant wait to move from this school. For being an academic school they really dont care if you need help or not. It use to be an amazing school a few years ago and no it has gone down hill so fast
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2014

This is probably one of the worst schools my daughter has ever attended. The teachers are not helpful and neither is administration. If your child is not gifted or just needs some extra help, forget about it. It's either keep up or get left behind and forgotten. I will be taking her out before the end of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

I am a sophomore at CVHS, I had to transfer here because my family moved from Parker, where I originally attended Chaparral HS, to Castle Rock. I didn't enjoy Chaparral very much, but I enjoyed it much more than I enjoy CV! Many of the students are rude, self-centered or dress provocatively. That's normal at really any high school and it was normal at Chaparral but at CV, it's out of control. Also, the school does many unnecessary events (such as too many assemblies and too many pep rallies) that either shorten the days or just completely take away what we should be doing: learning! I have been here since February 2012, and I haven't like CV since about three weeks after I arrived. It is not easy to make friends, especially if you did not attend Castle Rock Middle School. Many of former CRMS students are not open to making new friends. Overall, this is not a good school. I will be transferring to Douglas County HS after winter break, where it will hopefully be better than CV. Yes, high school, in general, sucks. But it's worse if you attend CVHS and you didn't come from CRMS first. Also, teachers are unhelpful (and shouldn't be allowed to teach) and the academics are terrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2012

Its okay. I went to another high school that was better. The students here do drugs just like any school but the teachers are less friendly here unlike the other school. If you want your grade to be great, you have to keep bugging the teacher to help you, they won't offer you the help. The staff is friendly for the most part.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2011

My two daughters attend CVHS. We moved here from California last year, with the quest for a great public school one of our major motivators. CVHS is just that - a great school. I am not only pleased, but often impressed by so many things: the challenging assignments, the dedicated teachers, the beautiful facilities, the academy system, the school spirit, the opportunites for internships and the connection of the parent community. Go Sabercats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

This school is so awesome! I am involved in Mr.Corr's theater class, and it rocks. I am a sophmore this year, and Dr. Calhoun is the best principal ever. I love this school. Everyone is so nice, and the teachers take time to get to know their students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2009

I am very happy with CVHS. I have two kids that have or are attending CV. The classes are challenging. The teachers are outstanding. They really do care about the kids. Dr. Gates is an excellent principal. Every event, whether it is sports or the arts, I have seen him there showing his support and greeting everyone with great enthusiasm. Most of the staff are excellent. I can only think of one teacher that was difficult to talk to. It is good to see the extra curricular activities take a turn for the better from the arts to sports. I am a little worried about some of the sports programs though. I hope the Activities Director makes sure it is a strong program just like a lot of the other sports programs ie: football, soccer, lacrose, softball, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

CVHS is an outstanding high school. I have a sophomore attending and will have a freshman next year as well. I am extremely pleased with the teachers and the staff. The curriculum is fantastic and the academic levels are very high. We are fortunate to have CVHS in our community and for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

Castle View is the greatest school in the world because of the staff, the students as well as the principal. Beyond that the academic and extracurricular programs are amazing! CV rocks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

Cv is a great school we have a great principal and i great staff. our thetre department is also awesome
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2009

Castle View is the best school I have ever attended, and i've been to many schools across the country.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2008

I absolutely love attending Castle View High School!!! It is one of the best schools in the states with its shining academic and athletic programs that it offers. Among many of the highlights are the caring staff members that can be found in the building. They care for each and every student and treat everyone equal. Along with this, Dr. Gates is an amazing man who does truly care and is involved with what is going on at the school. Finally, the last of many shining points of CV is the academic programs with unique course offerings. There are opportunities to take many pre-college courses as well as college level courses. I truly do love this school and am going to be very sad when the day comes that I have to graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2008

I love going to CV. The teachers are very helpful. They won't take your hand and guide you through life, but they will definitely give you help if you ask for it. Dr. Gates is an excellent principal and truly cares for his students and staff. He goes around during lunches and sits down to actually talk to the students...how many principals do that? The students are very kind and welcoming. The classes are challenging, but you don't go home with 5 hours of homeowrk every night either. There are also so many other oportunities at CV, like all the different classes you can take. The counselors are also very helpful. I love it and can't imagine going to another high school. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2008

I love this school, I really do. This is my 3rd year here & there is just something different about this high school from the others. Our school has had to go against all odds & other, older & tougher schools just to get our name out there, we did[: Leaving next year is something I can't even bare to think about, I've grown up with this school & I'm not ready to leave it behind. It must have something to do with our AMAZING principal who actually cares about the students, he is one I miss during the summer. Or it must be the way our 'do it' cheer just echoes through our hearts or it must be the way we found a common thread, all students at CV through struggles & people saying we are nothing but a new school. C-V-H-S WE ARE SABERCATS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2008

I think one of the best features of Castle View is the Principal, Dr. Gates. He is one of the most energetic, positive individuals I know. You can tell he really cares about these kids and does what he can to make the experience at Castle View the best environment possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

I currently attend CV and I am a senior. I moved from LA about in july of 07. CV is the best high school ever. I have taken many classes are not offered at alot of other high schools in the nation. I feel that CVHS has given me more opprotunity with the senior internship program than my high school in LA could have ever offered. The programs at Castle View are amazing. they have outstanding extra curricular activities ranging from Sports Medicine to sports to environmental club to academics. Outstanding school! Go Sabercats
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2008

A great school with awesome extracurricular activities, great academic programs and the staff and administration here are awesome! The staff cares so much for the students and will do absolutely anything for them. Also, the administration here is very involved with communication to parents and the principal, Dr. Lisle Gates is a great man who care so much about the future of the students, how the staff is doing along with how the school environment is overall. Here they have excellent academic programs and offer many college prep courses and AP courses. Along with excellent academic programs, they have academies that students can choose from that revolve around a students interest level. The academies consist of Math, Science and Engineering / Leadership, Global Studies and Communications / E-Media and Business / Visual and Performing Arts and Biotechnology and Health Sciences. Great school that is much better than DCHS!!!! Go CV!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

Lacks organization and communication with parents. Councilors availability is not dependable. Not all teachers are of high enough standard. Lacks focus on kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

I have a gifted student who attended Castle View and it is widely acceptable for the under achieving students who don't excel in sports or in academics. There they find refuge. The math is horrible. Any student who would have to transfer within High School to any other state would be severely behind. I think it is a great school for the Colorado native that doesn't understand the importance of a 'real' education. It is so sad that the parents don't really know the curriculum, they just like the feel of a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

We moved in from out-of-state and really like CVHS. Our son is finding his niche and likes that he has more choice and more control over his future. There academics are very good! We have had a couple of 'issues' with one particular teacher - hoping that administration listens to parent's voice in this. By and large the teachers are very involved with parents and strive to have positive relationships with their students. Kids really like this school, it provides a positive environment and it feels safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female45%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracial41%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligible17%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%

Reading

All Students75%
Female81%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracial82%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students63%
Female73%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracial53%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
Female36%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracial26%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligible31%
Reduced lunch eligible23%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant43%

Reading

All Students78%
Female80%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial68%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligible77%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Science

All Students60%
Female56%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracial53%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible54%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Writing

All Students58%
Female62%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracial47%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible51%
Reduced lunch eligible55%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

98%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

91%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 56%
Hispanic 14% 32%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5254 North Meadows Dr
Castle Rock, CO 80109
Phone: (303) 387-0100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Mountain Vista High School
Highlands Ranch, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT