Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sage Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
I have two children and we have been in three different elementary schools in Douglas County over the years. While one's experience with a school can be impacted by their child's classroom teacher, I caution judgment based on a single teacher. In comparison with other schools, many other teachers at other schools, and with other principals at other schools, Sage Canyon is a good school with good leadership. I have experienced nothing but solid communication with staff and the principal. My special needs son is thriving there, and finally getting his needs met. I have not experienced teachers sitting on lap tops all day and not engaging with their students. I can say from experience that each school has its strengths and weaknesses, and I can also say that Sage has many more strengths than I have experienced elsewhere in Castle Rock.

Sage Canyon Elementary School 1

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
I would not recommend this school to anyone. There is a complete lack of communication from the classroom to home, and from the school to home in general. I have had to supplement a great deal at home to ensure my child is educated properly because of the poor curriculum at this school. (I see that I am not the only parent having to do this!) Sadly, this school has proven to be a complete disappointment. The leadership and teachers are lacking in ability and skill to effectively educate and provide a learning environment that stimulates educational growth. If I could have pulled my child midyear from this school, I would have. I wish I would have known the poor quality of this school's education and staff before I enrolled.


Sage Canyon Elementary School 1

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
The issue seemed to be bullying. After spending more time helping out in the classroom, I realized bullying is a symptom of a larger issue. Disengaged teacher(s), district politics, and "independent" learning are the real cause of this school's problems. I thought my child was being bullied, but quickly realized there was little to no positive reinforcement. The teacher spends 75% of the school day on the laptop, while students are told to write about the day, read quietly amongst themselves, etc.. I have been forced to supplement education at home. Which is no problem, as I love to do homework with my LO. However, the school is inconsistent with their work load. Some is in a folder, some you have to proactively search (and I mean SEARCH) for online and some is emailed. There is no classroom or communication consistency. -5 stars

Sage Canyon Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
From our experience, it seems as though the teacher we had assigned quite a bit of independent work freeing her up to work with small groups (wouldn't meet with high achieving groups as regularly as those needing extra support- sometimes my child wouldn't meet with his teacher for reading instruction but 1 time a week!). Independent work was never looked at until graded and sent home as opposed to the teacher checking in with students while they are working to see they are completing assignments correctly and with the expectation that has been set.

Sage Canyon Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Character education would be a GREAT addition to this school's curriculum, but in our experience it was rather nonexistent. Our child was repeatedly bullied to the point where she didn't want to go to school. She's a completely different kid now that it's summer and she knows she will not be returning to this school (which is quite unfortunate given it's our neighborhood school and has a rather progressive philosophy which was a huge draw for us- too bad inexperienced teachers don't know how to effectively control their classroom and/or reach ALL of the learners (class sizes are big, so perhaps this is part of the problem)).


Sage Canyon Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Many of the teachers are inexperienced and lack classroom management techniques and the ability to differentiate for students learning above grade level. Was told the learning specialist/RTI teacher would provide enrichment, but this never happens. Class sizes are quite large given the diverse learners within the classes.

Sage Canyon Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
This is one area I felt this school has figured out. Daily reading was always the bulk of nightly homework with additional assignments given M-Th, but assigned on Monday and due on Friday so students could complete the other assignments as it fit best with their schedule.

Sage Canyon Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Character education would be a GREAT addition to this school's curriculum, but in our experience it was rather nonexistent. Our child was repeatedly bullied to the point where she didn't want to go to school. She's a completely different kid now that it's summer and she knows she will not be returning to this school (which is quite unfortunate given it's our neighborhood school and has a rather progressive philosophy which was a huge draw for us- too bad inexperienced teachers don't know how to effectively control their classroom and/or reach ALL of the learners (class sizes are big, so perhaps this is part of the problem)).


Sage Canyon Elementary School 1

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
My child was not challenged, discipline problems were evident in the classroom and within the school, there wasn't much follow-through with regards to academics and/or social issues. I would NOT recommend this school at all.

Sage Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
I pulled my daughter out of the local charter school and put her at Sage Canyon. She was doing well at the charter but has blossomed at Sage. Her learning has gone thru the roof! She loves her class, teacher and going to school. I love the principal - she's a woman of integrity and humility and loves the kids and parents. She is not focused on mandatory testing and the standardized tests so you don't have to worry about teachers teaching to the test. I cant say enough about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sage Canyon Elementary School
2420 Autumn Sage Street, Castle Rock, CO  80108
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (303) 913-9419
Last modified Sage Canyon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top