Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Buffalo Ridge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 489 students

We are best known for friendly, caring community.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, September 29, 2014

I disagree with all of the negative comments regarding the principal and teachers. This is our 3rd year at Buffalo Ridge and we are beyond thrilled with our children's education. They have had fantastic teachers and have excelled academically. I volunteer & am in the school on a weekly basis. I know most of the staff at BRE extremely well and they go above and beyond... I believe many people have the opinion that teachers left because of Sarah McAfee. That is simply not the truth. If anyone had inside information, they would know several left because of other circumstances. The teachers that were let go were not asked for their jobs back because they weren't teaching to the standards that Sarah demands. That is the way it should be in my opinion. We are grateful for BRE for providing our children with such a great education. It is a wonderful atmosphere and we couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

This school and community has been so hurt by the district and now an extremely poor choice in principals. She reallocated the budget to provide assistance for herself and not the children. Reduced special education, reading intervention and psychologist for the children so she doesn't have to work very hard. Arranged no activities for the children outside academics (and we wonder why our children are becoming so violent and hurt.....leaders like this) She broke a state law and excluded parents from having input in any decisions regarding our children or the school. A teacher from each grade has left this year. She needs to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

I wrote a review before the end of the school year that was subsequently flagged and removed because of the level of truth I put into my experience with the principal of the school. Since my review, this principal who manages the school through a spreadsheet has laid off numerous staff at the end of the school year including special education citing budgetary and reform concerns. Yet Douglas County school district continues to operate at a massive surplus. The truth is the "old school" staff who have done an amazing job but are not aligned with the principals and superintendents personal ambitions are being removed to make way for their privatized club. The very core of Buffalo Ridge Elementary is being ripped out so that a new age agenda of a couple of people can be enforced on our children. I can honestly say that being witness to the gradual deterioration of the school from within breaks my heart . My family made a conscious decision to move to the school district because of the stellar education that WAS offered. We won't be staying where parents are treated like intruders and the great teachers are being forcibly removed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

After years of having leadership concerns at this school there was such hope that our new school principal would motivate the staff, parents and children. I'm sorry to say that the staff is frustrated, the parents are angry and the kids are suffering. This is not the principal for our school. She is very controlling and clearly the children are not her first priority. She makes many promises and doesn't follow through, she does NOT support or motivate her staff and the parents are treated with no respect and not a value to the school. DCSD should put a successful seasoned Principal to pull the school up from years of poor administration and move this Principal out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2014

Over-crowded, unstable leadership, unhappy teachers, no teacher assistants; the over-all tone toward the children in some mid grade classes from the teaching staff is curt and unfriendly. Wonderful parent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

I don't agree with the previous writer about our NEW Principal. I think her motivation, disorganization, lack of spirit and leadership is really hurting a well established school. I think her "vision" is misguided and seems to be about what "she wants" and not really about the kids. She wants to make a name for herself, so what about the kids. She isn't the leader we needed and probably a better assistant principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2013

This school is on the up. This year (2013) brought a new principal who I believe is making fantastic changes. The kids now have ability grouped learning which I love and so do my kids. Sensible candy in the classroom policy, better drop off and traffic procedure. My point is that the principal really cares, she's highly motivated and constantly striving to improve. Eventually this school will be leading the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

What these reviews don't tell you about is the alcoholism that was present in the school last year.... By an eductor of significant importance to the school community. The bullying that occurs without reprimand, of the educators who wouldn't put their own children into this school. Just do your research.


Posted June 4, 2013

Great school. I have been in quite a few and BRE rates at the top of the list!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

Teachers at this school go above and beyond!!! Great school !! I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

Outstanding Public school. The teachers and parents are so involved in the success. These kids go to Rocky Heights Middle school and then Rock Canyon High School. All John Irwin award winners. National college admissions Directors treat this group as prep schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2012

This is a fantastic school! My kids loved going there and the teachers were always upbeat and helpful. The entire staff teaches the children to be respectful and positive and there is absolutely no bullying or negativity. The homework is appropriate for elementary school and the children have plenty of time for after school sports and activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

This is the only school that took my kids in when our home school was no longer a place to learn. After reviewing sites such as this, I thought we would give it a go. I am MORE THAN HAPPY WITH THIS SCHOOL. The princple and her staff welcomed my family with open arms. I have a daughter that was bumped up a grade, (as a solution at the prior school for a GT kid), and BRE made her a top kid in her current grade as well. Mrs. Kennedy is one of the best teachers I have ever come accross. She does not accept medium performance from a kid who can and should give more. Mrs. Jaramillo has been the teacher for both of my kids, and they both soared in her class. Mrs. Sedersten is tough, but great for giving kids who work, confidence and room to grow. A super family community school with a ton of heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

I love this school. My children have been attending this school for 4 years and we have absolutely no complaints. The teachers are very caring. If your child needs more of a challenge the staff will work with you. Obviously there is not one 'perfect' school out there and there will be things that people do not like. I can't believe people actually say that American Academy is somehow better. How? If the teachers are 'amazing' there well why can't they be amazing here too. Are we honestly suppose to believe that all 'smart kids' go to the charter school and they 'unchallenged dumb' kids go to the public neighborhood school? Yeah, right! I was brought up to believe that if things are too good to be true, they usually are. We should all be thankful that our children have an oppotunity to attend such a fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

Bufflao Ridge is a wonderful neighborhood school. We are blessed to able to have this school within our Castle Pines community. The teachers are caring and are truly a valubale part of our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

Hopefully you get ms. Smtih, cause she is the best teacher a kid could ever have. I had her for two years and I absolutly loved her. She is kind to her student and loves everyone of them.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 19, 2005

This is a great school. The teachers work well with the students and the overall program is very effective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2004

My son has attended 1st grade on C track and I'm very happy with the level of teaching quality, parent involvement, etc. My son is loving school. The only complaint I have is the hours he is in school. Currently he is in school from 8:55am to 3:50pm. I would like to see school begin earlier leaving more time for after school activities and homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female91%
Male96%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Reading

All Students88%
Female97%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students72%
Female88%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female91%
Male95%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant93%

Reading

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Writing

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female88%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students90%
Female91%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Science

All Students68%
Female63%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%

Writing

All Students81%
Female90%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 56%
Hispanic 7% 32%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ally Berggren
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (303) 387-5576

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • 93% of our certified staff has a Masters' Degree, 90% of our staff has been at Buffalo Ridge for 6 years or more, parent volunteers put in over 8,000 hours per year, iPads in every classroom, garden/chef initiative, students create and publish an online magazine; "The Ridgeline", Dream Team community service student group.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Rocky Heights Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7075 North Shoreham Dr
Castle Rock, CO 80108
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 387-5575

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Rock Academy
Castle Rock, CO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT