Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2014

I have two kids at Franklin. This is our 5th year at Franklin and my kids love going to school every day. Every single teacher in this school is amazing. We have hands down one of the best principals in Colorado. Mr. Melkonian has such a huge presence at this school, he is amazing. All the parents and kids love him. I feel like my kids are very safe at this school because of him and the staff. Franklin also has an excellent community of parents who are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Benjamin Franklin Elementary School is everything one could want in an elementary school. Small class size (19-22) keeps both the teachers and students focused. Some teachers even change grade levels from year to year to keep the ratios conducive to learning. Teachers, parents, and staff are caring and involved with both the education and the just plain fun activities. The administration responds to the needs of all, like creating a safe drop-off/pick-up area and building security. The parent volunteerism is very high at Franklin. This not only supports the teachers and staff in a multitude of ways, it also allows time and resources for the kids to do more things (both in and out of the classroom) and just plain lets the kids know that the parents (especially their own parents) care about this aspect of their lives. Lastly, the quality of education is very high. The teachers are not only knowledgable, but also creative and flexible in their approaches. Proficiencies are measured consistently higher at Franklin. I may give myself away to the school by saying this, but this is our 15th straight year at Franklin. What I am saying is true. Franklin Rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

What I like most about Franklin Elementary School is the feeling of incluusiveness and community!


Posted October 1, 2011

We recently moved out of state and from the first day my daughter stepped into Franklin, she felt right at home. She was in a really good school in California and I feel that Franklin is actually even better than her previous school. Her 4th grade teacher is great! She is a wonderful teacher and my daughter loves her! I feel that the staff that we have met so far is also outstanding and looking forward to be at Franklin for the next two years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

Franklin is one of the most exceptional schools in Colorado. It is nestled in the back streets of one of Littleton's older neighborhoods. The playgrounds are big. It has that small school feel that we all crave. Inside the walls drip with art. Parents are welcomed with open arms. Kids are known by their first names by several teachers. Community and culture, art and kindness - that is what this school is about. The instruction is top notch. When the website boasts best practices in math, reading and writing, you can count on the fact that this is happening. The staff is data driven, the instruction is authentic and the child is at the center of it ALL. We had to move away from Franklin after being a part of this community for 5 years. This school is the thing we miss the most. We cannot find any instructional level or positive climate that even comes close to matching Frankin Elementary School. Do not miss giving your child the opportunity to learn and grow within its walls, in its community garden, and with each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

We appreciate the priority to keep class sizes as small as possible in these times of budget cuts. The number of volunteer hours logged at Franklin is quite remarkable. We have been a Franklin family for 6 years and absolutely LOVE it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2009

Moved into Franklin after Ames closed. We have two kids attending. It's a very good school. Not amazing, but very good. The PTO is amazing. Teachers are above average and care deeply. GT program is nothing special, but nothing wrong either (I have had 4 kids through various GT programs). All in all, above average. Very safe. Principal is very open and available. Comfortable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

My son attended Kindergarten at Franklin 2008-2009 school year. After 2 years of research on all surrounding schools, I chose to open enroll at Franklin and am so happy with the decision. We loved the school and had a great year. I'm very critical, so that says a lot! I intend for my son and his younger brother to both stay at Franklin until 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

Franklin is a small school hidden in an older community in Littleton Colorado. When I walk down the halls I am reminded of the schools that I grew up in....small, authentic and personal. Childrens art and writing literally drip from the walls, and it is updated regularly. The staff seem happy to be there and truly love children. The parents are highly involved. There are several community events throughout the year. I worry about the shrinking budget and the cuts in Technology and Kindergarten specials programs. But every child will be safe, succesful and loved within the walls of this sweet little school. It is easy to be a part of the Franklin community as the office readily accepts open-enrolled children. And speaking of the front office, they are like the teachers.... smiling and there for the kids. They know each child by name by Christmas. Outstanding!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2005

Franklin is a shining star in a sea of mediocrity! Rated Hig to Excellent by Colorado state standards, Franklin strives to be among the top Littleton Public elementary schools and succeeds! Student achievement and performance are top goals. As such students are treated as individuals whose needs are met on a personal basis. Extras include a great GT program, a full range of specials (art, PE and technology), a complete functioning science lab for all grades (unique for LPS)and substantial special student services. I know Franklin as a parent, a PTO President and now a certified teacher. I wouldn't want my children to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2005

This school has a phenomenal parent volunteer force that adds so much to the curriculum! No more cut and paste art...the artwork here lines the walls and is original and unique as are the Art Start volunteers! This school has a very warm and nurturing feel and the staff is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

Franklin used to be a great school if your child was GT. Not anymore. The principal is more interested in school politics than placing your child where they will most benefit. Also, the GT program has been severely limited. Don't come here if you are looking for a great GT program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2004

Absoutly wonderful, my children are new to this school, the teachers made my children feel as if they had been at this school forever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Both my children went here and my wife has taught at Franklin. I have always been impressed with the quality and the dedication of the faculty and the parents. Great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Reading

All Students96%
Female98%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%

Writing

All Students62%
Female68%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female84%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Reading

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Writing

All Students74%
Female81%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female91%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students92%
Female95%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Science

All Students70%
Female73%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Writing

All Students85%
Female98%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 56%
Hispanic 7% 32%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1603 East Euclid Ave
Centennial, CO 80121
Phone: (303) 347-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Aspen Academy
Greenwood Village, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT