Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sandburg Elementary School 2

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
I had really high hopes for this school when we had the welcome night, however our experience with our child there has been quite disappointing. Our son is in kindergarten there and there is severe lack of communication. Very sad because I really wanted to like this school. Our middle child is going into kindergarten soon, and I do not want to enroll him here. Basically anywhere but here.

Sandburg Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
Teacher efficacy is really spotty. Some are awesome. Some are awful. Pretty much your standard selection.


Sandburg Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
Homework isn't routinely collected in my childrens' classes. I don't see the point of assigning homework but failing to hold students responsible for returning it.

Sandburg Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
Homework is assigned, but there is no consequence if it is not returned. That does not help a student learn the material thoroughly, nor does it help with teaching personal responsibility.

Sandburg Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
Sandburg doesn't really allow for kids to make mistakes. If your child makes a mistake, the staff automatically assumes they are at fault when the next issue arises.


Sandburg Elementary School 2

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
At first, our experience at Sandburg was pretty good. Our kids vary from gifted to special needs, and it was nice that they could be in the same place and both be happy and successful. Then, things changed there. Both of my kids have had bully problems, with absolutely zero resolution. The principal makes promises she doesn't keep when it comes to helping with bullying. Nothing is done. My children continue to come home sobbing, have called me numerous times throughout the day, and feel horrible about going to school. Needless to say, we are looking for another school.

Sandburg Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2014
- a parent
Sandburg is an excellent school. The staff is caring, professional and skilled in education. Children with accelerated learning ability are identified and provided the opportunity to learn at a pace that challenges them. My daughters were both identified as gifted and talented and moved into appropriate programs quickly. One of my daughters was placed into the next grade level of math so that she would be challenged at a level appropriate for her. As an involved parent, this type of proactive attention to my children's individual learning needs is exactly what I need from a school, and Sandburg meets this need fully. The principal at this school is an excellent leader, hard-working, and takes pride in excellence. There is an atmosphere of respect and bullying is not tolerated. This school is a true gem in South Denver metro.

Sandburg Elementary School 1

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
Sanburg was an enormous disappointment, not only as a school and a particular teacher but the principal was one of the worst we as a family have ever run across. I hear she is still there and I feel sorry for the families and kids who are and have attended there. Bullying is a major problem and administration especially the principal in incapable of resolving any issues. She is also inept at addressing staff issues when there was a teacher there with clear problems that effects the kids in such a negative/harmful way. This was one of the worst public school experiences in my 18 years as a parent! Run away!


Sandburg Elementary School 1

Posted April 12, 2014
- a community member
I attended this school from kindergarten to 2nd grade. It was *horrible*. I can't stress this enough. First of all, the principal was horrible. I got severely bullied, and what did she do? Absolutely nothing. I had very bad second grade teacher who yelled at my class for doing nothing and pounded her fists on her desks. I was extremely sensitive at this age, so I came home crying every single day. My friend got punched in 2nd grade, told the principal, and made him apologize to the person who punched him. Whatever you do, DON'T go to this school. I beg you.

Sandburg Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2012
- a parent
My oldest son went to Sandburg for three years, and my youngest is now in 4th grade and has been there 4 years. I can't say enough about the school, teachers, and administration. Having two very bright boys, I can vouch for the fact that Sandburg does a lot to foster a solid education. The positive behavior model is such a wonderful concept. The science program is outstanding. The principal and her dedication- the PTO- all wonderful!!

Nearby schools

Sandburg Elementary School
6900 South Elizabeth Street, Centennial, CO  80122
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (303) 347-4675
Last modified Sandburg Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top