Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Aspen Crossing Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 546 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

ACE is an excellent school. The principal is hands on involved making sure things run to meet his standards. The teachers too are the best of the best. Its a safe atmosphere where you know your child is getting top notch education and care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Aspen Crossing Elementary has the best Principal I've ever encountered. The teachers are flexible and push each student to the highest level of learning allowed by their abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

We can't say enough good about this school. The Principal and teachers have exceeded our expectations. Mrs. Withycombe and Mrs. Sunstrom have been amazing. They are so good at what they do, and you can feel that they really care about their students and want them all to succeed. We are so thankful to have our kids at Aspen Crossing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Great Principal and Kindergarten teachers. From Kep to aftercare son is under constant supervision. Is learning a lot in kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

I have a 2nd grader ate ACE. We have been here from kindergarten as school of choice and just love it. The principal and staff are excellent. My daughter is challenged every day and loves her teachers. aCE also has a strong patent community and great Girl Scout involvement. Excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

I have a 2nd grader at ACE and have been more than pleased with the quality of education he has received as well as his teachers. Many of the previous reviews talk about how this school needs new leadership, but we did get a new principal this year and I am extremely pleased with how things are going for ACE. Not only does ACE have a wonderful staff, but the curriculum is tailored to the student which has helped my son excel in ways I could have never imagined. I commend the entire staff of ACE on their quality maintainence of a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

I believe the staff is very professional and does everything it can to help my daughter with her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

My two children attend ACE, and love it. We moved from an out of state, private school to Aspen Crossing, so we weren't sure how the transition would go. I have been very pleased with the progress they are making. The curriculum is advanced and challenging; the teachers are outstanding, caring and work well as a team. The children are respectful and model great behaviors for each other. I am very impressed with this public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

Aspen Crossing Elementary has the potential to be a good school under new leadership. The principal struggles to form relationships with her staff and parents. She fails to establish discipline with the students and lacks the leadership needed to run an effective school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 16, 2009

My daughters attend Aspen Crossing and love going to school. The education they receive is top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

Leadership needs to be changed here at Aspen Crossing Elementary. Principal is more suited for middle or high school not elementary school. Parents concerns are dismissed and confidentiality is breeched. The teachers are outstanding and caring individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

We've been so pleased with our son's progress, the outstanding teachers and curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

We have two children at Aspen Crossing ane they really enjoy going to school there. The course work is excellent and the teachers are fantastic. The school is very community oriented and a friendly place to visit. i believe my children are getting the best education at Aspen Crossing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

I have been a parent at Aspen Crossing since the school has opened. I am very disappointed with the leadership of the school. They really don't seem to have programs in place for the more able & less able children in their care. They may say they do but it has yet to be seen. If you are a parent that has an advanced child or child that may need additional help in an area or two, I hope your ready to do a lot of it on your own without the schools help. To say the very least I would expect more of a Cherry Creek School. 'Very unhappy parent!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

We have a child in Kindergarten at ACE and we are very pleased with the level of teaching and discipline. The teachers and principle are very involved in the school and it shows. You walk through the halls and the kids are walking quietly and in line (something you don't see in some other schools!) Students are taught responsibility from the get go. Teachers are very accessible willing to talk to parents whenever needed. We selected ACE as our 'school of choice' and we couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

Our daughter is in Kindergarten at Aspen Crossing and thus far, we have nothing but wonderful things to say. The teachers and principal are very involved with student activites and learning. Rarely do you see a school where the principal take her own time to act as a crossing guard in front of the school. Wonderful learning facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female90%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Reading

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Writing

All Students66%
Female71%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female86%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students78%
Female84%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Writing

All Students66%
Female75%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female76%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Science

All Students66%
Female51%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Writing

All Students70%
Female76%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 56%
Hispanic 15% 32%
Black 12% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4655 South Himalaya St
Centennial, CO 80015
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 886-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT