Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 364 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2014

this is a great school. The smallest elementary school in Cherry Creek so the attention to each student is enhanced. The before/after school programs(SOAR) club is extremely well run and accommodating, to the point where my children are constantly asking to go to SOAR club.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

I feel this school is more interested in fund raising than actual learning, high pressure sales. Daycare program needs new leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

My son is going there from last 3 years..He moved here in the middle of the school year,but teachers and staffs were so supportive that he didn't have problem adjusting...Pricipal -Mrs. Pirog is very supportive and eager to know parent's suggestions and open to new ideas.PTCO is very strong and that encouraged me to be involved in fund raising events and other activities...Great to see that it scores '10' out of '10' in great school rating now (last year it was 9)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

We have been at this awesome school located in a wonderful neighborhood for the past 8 years. The teachers have done an incredible job working with my kids as well as participating in PTCO events. The school is very welcoming and has a strong sense of family. Although the school needs more male teachers, my kids have grown academically and socially at Heritage. My youngest has been on an IEP and has shown incredible progress due to the great staff. The principal leads the school and the teachers educate our kids. I have never had an issue with any staff member. The parent involvement adds another great piece to Heritage. The PTCO board and committee chairs are always strong. One of the smaller school is the Cherry Creek school district, Heritage continues to grow stronger and is definitely a school I would recommend to others. If you live in the surrounding neighborhoods, this is the school for your children. My kids will be in middle school next year but I will continue to support Heritage Elementary for years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

We moved here from another Cherry Creek School. We have been here for three years and are very happy with the teachers and the opportunities for development of all levels of students. One of our children is now at Middle School and is doing very well with the preparation she received at Heritage. As a small school, the students, parents and teachers all closely interract. Under the strong leadership of the Principal, we have a team of excellent teachers and a positive learning and social environment. We are very happy that we moved to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

My family is new to Heritage this year. We chose to leave another Cherry Creek school and choiced in to the 4th and 5th grade. The leadership and staff at Heritage have surpassed my expectations. The principal is results-oriented and all about the kids. Her level of involvement with the students and staff is superlative. I have interacted with her personally on a number of occasions and I have tremendous appreciation for her commitment to the success and well-being of her students.The 4th and 5th grade teams are outstanding. Heritage has teaching teams in which one teacher specializes in math/science and one specializes in language arts. Since the teachers specialize in their subject areas, they deliver a rich curriculum. My kids are gifted and have different needs. My one child needs accommodation for dyslexia and the staff has supported him in his use of technology to overcome specific obstacles. My other child needs to be challenged academically and she receives quality opportunities to work above grade level. My children are relaxed and happy at Heritage. They feel valued.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

I have worked at Heritage for 11 years now and my three children went to school here. The school is wonderful! The teachers, staff, and principal are so invested in the kids. The principal has provided so much staff development to our teachers. A review below says she is unapproachable but I do not feel this is true. She is busy but she makes herself available to anyone who would like to come in. This year we had "Coffee and Conversation with the Principal" in the mornings for parents to come and just chat. We do have some families in the neighborhood go to different schools but we have lots from other schools come here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 7, 2012

My children attend Heritage Elementary (one has moved on) and their education is solid. My oldest child misses elementary school because of the family-like feel. I quote, "The difference between Heritage and middle school is that at Heritage, the teachers knew I existed." My children are highly computer literate as a result of Heritage, and are incredible thinkers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

Some good teachers but this school has some that are not only incompetent but border on abusive in their attitudes. Have had a child get hurt in PE only to be told that "they aren't hurt" which was contrary to my doctor. Have had four kids go through this school and have only come across 5 good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Heritage is a wonderful blend of caring community and rigorous academics. And by rigor I don't mean worksheet after worksheet ... the teachers craft lessons for the students and then give them large blocks of time to work on authentic, meaningful learning tasks. I love that during reading and writing my kids are reading and writing about subjects they are passionate about and invested in. They are becoming lifelong earners who think deeply and care deeply!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The staff at Heritage has been wonderful all 5 years my child has been there. They care so much about the kids and about care about really helping them grow into young adults, not just by teaching them, but helping them learn about subjects, life, caring and responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

This school has high score and is also a feeder school for students with special needs. It has a wonderful, inviting atmosphere. It is a small school where children can feel welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

I have 3 children in Heritage - ranging from Kindergarten to 5th Grade (and the 5th grader started with the school in KG as well!). I couldn't be more pleased with all that the school had done/offered to my children. The strengths of the school are it's small size and the incredible parent volunteer and support rate. There is always parents coming and going for various activities when I enter the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female84%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students83%
Female84%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Writing

All Students61%
Female74%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female68%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Reading

All Students75%
Female68%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Writing

All Students64%
Female64%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female96%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Reading

All Students92%
Female96%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant93%

Science

All Students87%
Female83%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Writing

All Students79%
Female88%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 3%
Hispanic 11% 32%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6867 East Heritage Place South
Centennial, CO 80111
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 554-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Greenwood Elementary School
Greenwood Village, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT