Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walnut Hills Community Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 429 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

I transferred my two children to Walnut Hills from another school in the Cherry Creek school district almost 3 years ago. Now that I have had enough time to look back and reflect, I can honestly say it was the best decision. Walnut Hills is not only giving my children an excellent education, but an environment filled with warmth and a community atmosphere of togetherness. I truly believe this school is a rare treasure. All my children's teachers have been approachable in every way, and the principle is available and involved when needed. My sixth grader was more than prepared for middle school and is taking advanced classes. My third grader is thriving in all subjects and wants to join every club she can. I would recommend this school to anyone who is unhappy with their home school for any reason.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

We Choiced into Walnut Hills from another CC School and it was the very best decision we made for our boys. The teachers and staff are all very compassionate and go above and beyond for the kids. Very strong PTCO. My boys were very prepared for Middle School and are excelling in all subjects. For six years, we drove 10 miles one way to be in this school. We would do it all over if we could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

Wish I could give 5 stars, and I would have last year. I wish there had been other choices for Kindergarten teacher. This teacher comes across very short with parents and grumpy with kids. Hoping we get an awesome 1st grade teacher like we are used to from this school! Otherwise this school is terrific. (Mostly) great teachers, great support staff, great PTCO. My other child is flourishing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

Not happy at all with my son's Kindergarten experience, moving to another school. Teachers don't work with children based on individuality
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

This is an excellent school. I love the teachers that my daughter has had so far. We moved to this neighborhood so we could be in this schools "home school" range. A downside to the school; this is kind of a wealthier neighborhood, and this school seems to expect every family to be wealthy. It seems like they are wanting money for something or another every month. Not that it is "required" but way to make your kid feel left out when you can't afford to do all these things that their friends are getting to do. Other than that, we love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

Walnut Hills is an absolutely wonderful school. The children are respected and treated as individuals. We have had an amazing experience here. Our children are taught to love to learn. There is community involvement and parent interaction as well as field trips and creative learning styles. It is a terrific school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

We have never felt so welcomed in a school environment quite like this! We adore every single teacher in that school. Our daughter thrives and looks forward to going to school every day! We love Walnut Hills so much we decided to buy a home in the community to raise our daughter and future children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

We could not be more thrilled with Walnut Hills--we love it! The teachers are outstanding. I love that the art and music programs are so strong. The office staff, teachers and support staff were all incredibly welcoming. Your child will really be valued as an individual here--my children have really blossomed in this supportive environment. Really can't say enough about it--so grateful that my children go to this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

Our son has been in the school for the last 4 years. Over this time, I have seen the school trending downwards rather than upwards. We have noticed that the office has become catty over the years. In addition, many of the really great teachers are moving on (mostly retirement, but some have simply moved to a different school). Basically, a lot of politics is starting entering into the school. Sad. It is not a bad school, but I think that it is no longer a GREAT school either. Average to just above average. I am also guessing that CSAPs this year will be done. Again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

we have just moved to the states from europe. the welcome we received from walnut hills, the support, the encouragement and genuine friendship have been amazing. my 4 year old attends their pre-school and my 7 year old is in grade 3. the teachers are motivated, enthusiastic and positive about each child. we used to be in a british private school but have found the academic standard, facilities, quality of staff and support far above what we experienced in europe. i drive 10 miles to school everyday but will continue to do so with conviction and a huge smile!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

I couldn't be happier that Walnut Hills is our 'home' school. It has fabulous teachers and a challenging curriculum. Our child loves going to school there, when we had some bullying issues the principal handled them fairly and my child has told me about how he has learned to handle tough situations through the anti-bullying lessons they learn at school. I have yet to meet a teacher or staff member I don't adore. The staff is great to the children! The teachers really care about the kids and their education! If you are looking for a great Elementary School...give Walnut Hills a look!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

This is a hidden jewell. The facilities, the teachers, and the programs are great. Parents and teacher are involved, and the result is great education. Parents are welcomed. Staff is friendly and interested always.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The teachers and staff hands down are the best around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

We love Walnut Hills so much that I drive my kids 20 minutes each way, and we have a school within walking distance of our home. Walnut Hills has a warm community atmosphere and wonderful teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

The teachers at Walnut Hills really care about each child's individual success. Our school has a ELA program, a great bully-free program and involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

We moved from PA to CO. My daughter started kindergarten. I have a son in 6th grade. This school was a great option since the ones in our neighborhood are on the tracs. I wanted their school schedules to be the same. Wow, I was so impressed with the helpfulness of everyone. My daughter is doing the enrichment and the after care (Cougar Club). She loves it all. I especially liked that the kindergarten teacher (Mrs. Poole) came to our home to meet us and spend time with my daughter. She made the transition so much easier. Kudos for a great public school and dedicated staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

I have two children, a son (10) starting 5th grade, and a daughter (9) starting 4th grade. Both of my kids have gone to Walnut Hills since Kindergarten. I give the school the highest marks possible in all areas except for some bully proofing issues and the lack of response from the principal. However, 'King Paul' and the entire teaching staff are some of the NICEST people you will ever meet, and also very gifted educators. They have a passion for teaching and a true interest in (your) child, and their success. I consider Walnut Hills Elementary to be a true blessing to my family. I think you'd be hard pressed to find another school of this calibre. We, too, appreciate the focus on arts, music and other Plus Time activities. This staff works very hard, and their efforts show in the success in each childs' life they touch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

Our daughter has been at Walnut Hills for 2 years, and we absolutely love it. The school has an energy unlike any school we've been involved with. They celebrate the arts as well as academics, and they truly give every child a chance to thrive regardless of his or her strengths. Our daughter has never expressed any hesitation to get up and go to school each day. To a parent, that means a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

We can't say enough about our neighborhood school! The teachers, principal and staff are all wonderful educators! They provide a caring, respectful and fun environment to learn in. The school has a community feeling to it and the parents are very involved. We moved away for a while for economic reasons, but moved back to this neighborhood because of the quality of education our children were provided with. Great resources are always available, the plus time classes are fun and enriching, the math program is awesome, music, library, computers are all top notch and the teachers are outstanding!We would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

This was an outstanding school for my son. It uses a Multiple Intelligences approach, with an emphasis on arts integration. He was able to pursue music, and there were innovative learning modalities used (for example, they piloted a program called 'stand-up math' which the kids loved). There was an atomsphere of positive regard amongst the entire school community, with humor used instead of shaming and blaming. There is a strong anit-bullying component, which helped the students feel safe and supported. The principal is outstanding, as is the staff. There is low staff turn-over and the English Language Acquisition program gives it more than average diversity. One year my son was there, the entire school performed a musical called 'Choices Count' which was a wonderful character development piece, but was also musically fun for the kids. My son (now in middle school), still recalls some of the words and their message.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female93%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Reading

All Students82%
Female88%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students54%
Female63%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Reading

All Students87%
Female92%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Writing

All Students69%
Female79%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female88%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Reading

All Students89%
Female94%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Science

All Students73%
Female88%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Writing

All Students73%
Female84%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 57%
Hispanic 12% 32%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian 6% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8195 East Costilla Blvd
Centennial, CO 80112
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 554-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Cherry Creek Charter Academy
Greenwood Village, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT