Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Trails West Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 623 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

I called to set up a time to come in and tour the school. My son has an IEP, and I noticed the student growth rating was only a 3 out of 10. With his learning needs, I wanted to get a better feel for the overall school rather than just judging it solely on test scores. I was told they do not provide tours for Kindergarten parents because it would take too much time. The woman who originally answered the phone was polite and tried to be helpful, but eventually she transferred me to the office manager who was less than courteous. The best she could do was give my name and number to the principal. I was left with a knot in my stomach. I then went ahead and called another elementary school in the area, Rolling Hills, to set up a tour and was greeted by a helpful and friendly staff member who immediately said I could come in any day between 10am-2pm. She also said she would have a contact name and number for me when I arrived of a special educator who could answer my questions about providing services for my son. What a difference between schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

Trails West Elementary has renewed my faith in public school education!!! As a teacher myself, I have a very high standard of academics and excellence in education for my 4 children. Trails West has more than exceeded my expectations. In particular, my first grade son has had a few glitches with his vision and reading. I had him tested by an outside professional and the school quickly assembled a team of people who work with my son every week to accommodate the areas of weakness determined by the developmental vision assessment. He has improved dramatically in a short amount of time and I know that he loves his teacher and he loves going to school. My 3rd grade daughter is also having a fantastic experience at Trails West. Kuddos to a job well done by all at Trails West Elementary!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

This school used to be great. the last 4 years it has gone downhill, gets worse every year. The teachers here are great but there is tension between them and the administration. No one talks about anything, nothing seems to be done and getting help as a parent is near non existent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

Trails West Elementary is excellent! The school emphasizes the importance of reading and encourages children to read every day and to fully comprehend WHAT they read about. Trails West participates in REACH program, which allows children with advanced knowledge to be involved in challenging projects and pursue greater opportunities! Thanks to everyone in Trails West!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

I believe Trails West is an amazing school. All of the Teacher's my daughter has had, have been wonderful. A certian Kindergarten teacher has went above and beyond to work with my daughter, she continues to work with her and my daughter is now going into 4th grade! Mr. Strikland is a wonderful principal and I am very sad that this is his last year. I truly have nothing bad to say about the school, Teachers or Staff! I would recommend this school to everyone I know!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Trails West is the best elementary school any of my kids has attended. From the principal, Mr. Strickland to the teachers and staff; Trails West teaches our kids to live, love, laugh, and learn! They not only reinforce how important is it to excel in academics, they remind students to be good citizens - to strive to help others and to set a good example to their peers. I'm grateful to be a part of the TW family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

Trails West Elementary is an excellent school. I really feel that my property values are protected by having such a great school in our neighborhood. I know most people don't know about this great school because it is tucked away in the housing development. It is very safe and supervised at all times. My children come home happy and have increased their scores tremendously. We love the care and commitment that each teacher has given to our children. If you are not happy here, you are probably not involved enough. Getting to know this group of hardworking people let me understand how much effort goes into educating children. It has a great traditional schedule and you will see that there are alot of administrators and teachers that send their kids here-from all districts. Wow, that really says something. I highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

i love trails west it is an awsome school the teachers are great and everyone is friendly the school name is called trails west elememnetry school when you ask me to rate a school trails west comes to my mind first!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2007

My daughter attended Trails West Elementry form K-3 and mostly liked it the only things that my family did not like was that there gifted program is not where it should be and the after school program is very unsatisfactory. When we moved to littleton we found that there are some schools that handly diversity and gifted children much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

Trails West has been the most outstanding school our family has attended in Cherry Creek Schools. My daughter is thriving and enjoying the many after school activities offered. The staff is excellent, the leadership is terrific, and safety is of the utmost importance to this staff. I believe this school was one of the first in CCSD to have security keys for entrance and has special monitoring to ensure student safety. Parent involvement is of the greatest and highest quality I have seen in raising our three children. I would recommend this school to anyone transferring in as a school of choice or home of record school. Anyone would appreciate the level of professionalism at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

I have loved my experience with Trails West. It is nice to have a principal that recognizes the good kids on a regular bases and rewards them for their efforts. The teachers that my kids were lucky to have went the extra mile to make sure that they learned in a way that fit them best. I am lucky that my kids have the opportunity to attend a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

Wow, I can't say enough about this school. It has the world's best principal and a great teaching staff. My kids learned so much everyday and couldn't wait to get to school in the morning. I don't think you could find a better place to trust your kids to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Very disappointing. Discipline problems, school bulling runs rampant. Academics is not where it should be for this district. Not at all happy with this school. Transferring out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

Trails West is a wonderful learning environment for all kids. The teachers care and are great.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 14, 2005

I had two of my daughters go all the way through at this school. The current principal is leaving, which is a good thing. The are teacher is phenomenal and the music program is good only if your child is gifted in this area. I feel this school really helped my child who was gifted in the area of reading, but my other child, who in second grade, wasn't reading well at that time, fell through the cracks and received no additional help. Overall, the quality of this school is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

My son learned to read last year and he is a special needs student that requires a lot of support. I have nothing but great things to say about the staff at Trails West Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2004

If there is such a word to describe the excellency of this school, please let me know. Trails West Elementary supported a great education for me. I loved the things that went on at Trails West. I learned a lot and had nothing but fun! Trails West is a school that deserves special recognition.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female77%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students73%
Female73%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Writing

All Students58%
Female61%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female71%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students66%
Female58%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Writing

All Students59%
Female50%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female74%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Reading

All Students79%
Female83%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Science

All Students61%
Female65%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Writing

All Students65%
Female76%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 57%
Hispanic 12% 32%
Black 9% 5%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5400 South Waco St
Centennial, CO 80015
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 886-8500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT