Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Creekside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 739 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

We moved here 3 years ago and have seen a steady positive momentum....keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

My child attended kindergarten and is now in first grade. I have volunteered there a couple of days and stayed throughout the day. The teachers are great and attentive to parents. The entire staff is very attentive to all kids' needs. The principal is new this year, and she seemed approachable and very dedicated to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

This school is the worst school I've ever had to deal with. My child was bullied and nobody at the school notified me. My child finally told me and when I told the principle about the bullying she brushed it off like it was not a big deal! Do not send your child to creekside parents are not notified of anything and your child is not safe. Very rude volunteers, staff and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

2007-08 brought Creekside a fantastic principal with strong leaderyship to augment a caring, supportive teaching staff. Creekside has a fulltime teacher for supporting core values in addition to it's strong academic push. The whole culture is so positive for the kids without being overly sappy & giving awards for mediocrity. The parental involvement is phenomenal. These families care about education & good values deeply. It's a vibrant scholastic community with strong programs for those advanced & those who need greater support. A good, solid school for both our diverse children & their needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

My eight year old son and I have had a terrible experience with this school and the staff here. Since he first started we have both been extremely unhappy with the cirriculum, the teachers, parents, everything. I would not put a child in this school for many reasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

Have just completed 9 years at Creekside with both of my children attending K-5 grade here. I could not have asked for a more wonderful, caring and challenging atmosphere for my children. The teachers and staff are caring and approachable. Parent involvement is huge, it is an amazing community of people. There have been complaints over the years about changes in principals and the number of students, however with new schools opening nearby, the attendance has dropped to a more comfortable level, not the school's fault that the population is booming. No one gets lost in the cracks here, with great academics for all levels as well as outstanding ILC and GT programs. Your children (and you) would be lucky to attend this school. I will miss Creekside! Thank you for a great elementary experience for my children and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

Our two granddaughters, attend Creekside Elementary, and are in Mrs. Gerstner's class (1st) and in Miss Shott's (Kindergarten) class. We live in another state and go to visit them every few months. We always make it a point to spend a day at school with them. We eat lunch with them and generally get to know all about their school world. We cannot say enough about the friendliness of the staff there. As well as making us feel welcome each visit, they also exhibit the security measures that necessarily exist and we are glad for that. We are continually amazed at the high level of learning that is taking place. As grandparents,we know that our granddaughers are happy and thriving in their school environment. The teachers and the office staff go above and beyond. As former educators, we see much to applaud about. Keep up the good work everyone!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

School has gone down in its quality over the past four years as the number of children enrolled has increased dramatically. Classroom size is at its maximum in most classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

Great schools and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

Having lived in the boundary for 12+ years, I have seen a decline in the quality of education offered at Creekside (although it is still at least average-above average for this area. It is a year-round calendar (pros and cons with that!)And it was recently featured on a local news program as being the largest elementary school in Colorado--NOT an impressive fact to me--with over 900 students. The school does feel large, with many students you don't recognize, and staff doesn't recognize many parents. The level of parent involvement has drastically declined over the years as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2005

The staffs and the teachers are so good. We really happy to have our children attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

Ever since we moved into the area from Littleton we think this was the best move due to Creekside Elementary..All the teachers my son has had are the most caring and generous we have ever encounterd.....Keep up the Good Work.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2004

My child is in the special education program at Creekside and Ms. Kotarek is great! I cannot begin to say how much we appreciate her. She really does a great job with my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2004

My 2 children have attended Creekside since 2000. I think we have a great school, overall, but I am especially impressed with our Principal, Julie Smith. She is the best I have ever heard of or encountered. I have had to deal with her on several issues, which she resolved completely to my satisfaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female87%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Reading

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students71%
Female78%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Reading

All Students81%
Female85%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Writing

All Students69%
Female78%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female92%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Reading

All Students86%
Female93%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Science

All Students72%
Female79%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Writing

All Students78%
Female87%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 56%
Hispanic 12% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Black 6% 5%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19993 East Long Ave
Centennial, CO 80016
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 886-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT