Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Peakview Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2014

Not a bad school but the Principal is condescending and obnoxious. If your child is an average learner its a great place to be but if you need help or support with an above or below learner forget this school. Teachers are great but with an unsupportive principal it doesn't carry that much weight.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

Wonderful school filled with solid caring teachers! Every teacher my child has had over the years has been very responsive to her needs. So happy my child is here at Peakview! They have many great opportunities for children such as Girls Math, Choir, Robotics Club, Spanish classes, intermurals, and Student Council.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

While I'm not sure if the below comment is completely accurate, we too are disappointed to say the least in Peakview. Sure, the TCAP scores are high but I cant help but feel that that is all they work for. I feel like my children are being drilled this information instead of actually learning it. Its tons and tons of workbooks and memorization. I understand this is a public school but cant we do any better then that for our kids? I know mine don't retain half of what they learned all year once it comes summer time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

Worst school we have been too. We love the teachers, but they are not given the resources they need. My son and daughter were advanced last year in all areas and now the teachers don't have the ability or material to differentiate for then and they have become bored of school and fallen behind! This school really tried hard to change their horrible image and now that they have received the governors award for improvement they have stopped trying. I haven't even met the principal, which seems very strange to me. I think we will be open enrolling somewhere else next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

We cannot wait until the winter break to take our children out of this school. The community is not welcoming and very judgmental for not being a very "well-off" neighborhood. People are rude and they teach their children the same behavior. Lots of parent AND student bullying. Not worth dealing with when the academic performance is that great and the feeder high school only graduates 65% of its students. My children were all advanced when they came here and so they stopped testing them and now they are falling behind!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

Peakview is strong school, with good teams of teachers at each grade level. have found strong partners in the teachers we've worked with (I have 3 children in the school), helping us deal with the individual needs of each child as they pop up. There is a strong sense of community -- parents are welcome to be in the school, volunteer in the classroom, etc. Older siblings often jump at the chance to come back and volunteer at fun events. The rare times I've been frustrated, I have been able to meet with teachers and administrators to resolve my questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Peakview is a great place to learn! The tone is set with an outstanding principal, and high standards for staff and students. This diverse school uses solid, best practices to achieve high results. Students and families feel welcome and valued. Our student is open-enrolled at Peakview, and the drive is well worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

I have 2 children at Peakview. Both my husband and I couldn't be happier with the teachers that we have had so far. The staff is amazing-the love they have for the children shines through. Both of our children are happy and excelling in the classroom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2011

My family was very disappointed with the quality of education my son received, so we transferred him to a charter school. When he started at Peakview, he was ahead of most of his kindergarten class. Our big letdown came at parent-teacher conferences. We were told that when he was tested at the beginning of the school year, he had met all goals so he wasn't retested. How can you measure progress, then? We feel he was pushed aside until the majority of the class was on the same level and he ended up losing some of his advantage. I loved the school, but feel his teacher was lazy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

Peakview has gone from year-round to traditional this past year. Even after the big change, this school is still incredible for my children. The staff is very strong and really care about their students. My kiddos rave about the specials (art music PE and tech). The principal and office staff are accesible and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2006

We have had three children go through Peakview and the current principal (this is her 3rd year) is the most open and accesable yet. We see some very effective inovations to help the children achieve which the previous pricipals seemed afraid to try.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

I had a student here '94-99 and currently have one enrolled this school year. Because enrollment is down and funding is effected I think it may have lost some quality. I think it is still a good school, but avg compared to other elementary schools in newer neighborhoods.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2005

This is a cute school! Excellent student to teacher ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

I love this school. Wow what an awesome staff. They are such a fantastic group of people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

The school is great! The only complaint I have is the mixing of 4th and 5th graders in one class. This causes problems when 5th graders try to mingle with 4th graders; it causes many social conflicts between the children. The program would be improved if this area was corrected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

I think this is a wonderful school except for the principal. I have had experience with and have heard poor things about her through other parents and teachers as well. She has no skill with working with teachers and I would highly recommend the school if she were not the principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female85%
Male95%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Reading

All Students85%
Female83%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Writing

All Students64%
Female68%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female79%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students82%
Female83%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students73%
Female76%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female85%
Male92%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Reading

All Students85%
Female87%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Science

All Students68%
Female64%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%

Writing

All Students75%
Female76%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 56%
Hispanic 13% 32%
Black 8% 5%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19451 East Progress Circle
Centennial, CO 80015
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 886-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT