Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rocky Mountain Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 573 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2013

This school deserves the rating of "2" that it gets. The only reason I kept my child in this school in the 2nd grade is because we are moving at the end of the school year and don't want her 2 years in a row. I tried for months last year to be a room mother, school volunteer and forget PTA. I received the run around to the point I finally contacted the Principal with a polite detailed message and she never returned my call. I was told I was the only parent to offer to be room mother in the 8 years the teacher had been in that school. Three parent in PTA, what are group kidding?? Now I understand why! The last 2 teachers she had were nice and professional however the Principal and the man in charge of enlisting parents to volunteer at the school should be replaced! how that man got and retains his job is of great. I could go on and on........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

This school is horrible. They like to refer to students by a number instead of their name. Teachers seem lazy and rude, and are not afraid to yell at parents. After only a month, I am debating a transfer or online school for my son who used to love school before starting at this one. If you want your kids to learn to hate school, this is the one to send them to. The principle likes to talk to parents as though they are students. Overall, this is the worst school I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with and plan on moving out of their district as soon as possible. Volunteering at the school is also a nightmare, and they will assign a parent to whatever class they want instead of the class their child is in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

My children where happy and content and learning well at Rocky Mountain in the 2011 and 2012 school year. We did move how ever and since they have been at a different school. My children love school there, and have begged me to move so we can go back to Rocky Mountain they really do not like their new school and miss the wonderful atmosphere at Rocky Mountain. My children have learning disabilities and have been mistreated at their new School by the staff even more then the students and so has our family. To be honest I miss Rocky Mountain myself. There staff and teachers care and focus more on the child as an individual child then as a number for test scores. Do not get me wrong I know the test scores judge how well a student is learning the material, but there is more to life then just being a high number learner and a test score. Some people learn more from life and experiences then they ever will from a test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

I have been impressed by the caring attitude of the teachers and staff here. My grandson has progressed by leaps and bounds under the tutelage of his very capable teacher. Thank you Mrs. K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Great learning enviroment and great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

Parent Involvement at this school is at a all time low. I do not see them attempting to get anymore involvement either. Teachers are so new they are not preparing our kids for middle school. Our kids are still doing poorly on tests and helping the kids with the tests by reading to them or doing their writing for them. Which in my book does not give a accurate measure of your child progress. Teachers leave right when the bell rings or are in meeting in the afternoon, very few offering afterschool help for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

I am very disapointed in this school. The staff in general do not care about teaching the children the values of good morels and helping solve problems. I think this school and its staff is a waste of tax payer money and I truely feel sorry for the children that have to attend this school. The principal is the worst I have ever seen! I cant belive he is still employed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2006

This school is great! I believe it has more caring teachers in it than most others in our area. The whole staff goes the extra mile to help out, they are truly concerned for the childrens education and overall well being. They are really great about keeping parents informed and encourage parent involvement. Would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

RME is pretty good school. Some of the teachers are new to teaching. More than half of the teachers have been teaching for quite a few years. They are working hard to teach our children. They give above and beyond what is required of them. The volunteer at PTO functions and give their time to any and all student who want and need it. The majority of the teachers do not want parent involvement in the classroom. PTO is open and wanting parent involvement in the overall school. It is a tough battle, but the more you are involved in your children's education the better education they will get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

We had a wonderful experience at RM. The teachers and staff were always wonderful and helpful at all times. Its a beautifully equiped school amongst great scenery. Highly recomended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2004

This is the second elementary school my child has been in, and is by far the best. The teachers are outgoing and caring, and the principal goes out of his way to keep the children safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The teachers seem to really care about the children and the principal is very nice. I have never seen a pricipal stand outside with the children after school but he does this every day. The children seem to like him and he interacts well with them. Overall I am satisfied with this school but it does have some improvemnets that could be made.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female56%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligible54%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%

Reading

All Students64%
Female66%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%

Writing

All Students30%
Female39%
Male22%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)34%
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities35%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English30%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female44%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible51%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%

Reading

All Students50%
Female44%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%

Writing

All Students27%
Female24%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)32%
Free lunch eligible27%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities31%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English26%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female31%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)35%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English35%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant39%

Reading

All Students54%
Female50%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Science

All Students25%
Female27%
Male23%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)22%
Free lunch eligible18%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities31%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English24%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant25%

Writing

All Students33%
Female42%
Male26%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)30%
Free lunch eligible23%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English33%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 57%
Hispanic 43% 32%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3260 D1/2 Rd
Clifton, CO 81520
Phone: (970) 254-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Chatfield Elementary School
Grand Junction, CO




Pear Park Baptist School
Grand Junction, CO


Pear Park Elementary School
Grand Junction, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT