Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Venetucci Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 445 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2014

Venetucci has the hardest working and most dedicated staff I have ever experienced! Both of my children go there and I have been nothing but impressed. My children are gifted and Venetucci does a nice job of meeting their needs. I am proud to send my kids to Venetucci!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

I LOVE VENETUCCI! My kids have been going here for 3 years, and now we are moving and they will be going to Webster. I'm hoping They are as nice and my children do as well there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2011

just moved here, but my daughters school district is King Elementary. But because she's developmentally delayed king elementary wii not be able to support her many special needs. can any parent of a special needs child who goes to venetucci share with me on how the services are for a special child?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2011

Venetucci is a EXCELLENT! I have been nothing but impressed by the teachers and staff members. They really seem to care about my kids. My son has really improved with the help of the special education teachers this year. The students are well-mannered and they do a lot of programs for families. My kids enjoy coming to school. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

Venetucci is a great school. Parents able to take a survey every year and they rate Venetucci with the average scores of A's and B's in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

Venetucci is a GREAT school! Every year the families that attend are invited to participate in a survey. Every year Venetucci Elementary is given A's and B's in every area. We have several families who drive in their children from "out of boundary" addresses to have their children attend here. I'm just saying!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 8, 2010

Venetucci is TERRIBLE! I absolutely agree with this similar posting. They only want easy to teach kids, all others are pushed forward, and ignored. The teachers are horrible, they do not seem to care about the kids, only about getting through the day. One teacher actually told me that my daughter would probably never succeed at school. They do not have any discipline in the classroom, kids walk all over the teachers. Office staff is really cool though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

Venetucci is a horrible school. there are a few good teachers unfortunately we have only been blessed with one of those. They couldnt care less about students they only want the 'easy to teach kids' and the rest have to suffer. The office staff is great, but I would not reccomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

Both of my kids attend Venetucci. I love the staff everyone is very nice and the kids actually enjoy goin to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

My son has been in Venetucci school for 2 1/2 years. I think is great, the teachers are very good and try to teach him in many fun ways. Sometimes the homework is a little long but I try to make it fun to him so he can do it. The only thing is that the parents need some benches and trees so we can wait in the shadow and comfortable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I think venetucci is a very good school. My daughter has been there for three years. She has had straight A's on the last 5 report cards
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female66%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)32%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Reading

All Students73%
Female82%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Writing

All Students56%
Female63%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female82%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students76%
Female82%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students62%
Female68%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female47%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Reading

All Students71%
Female70%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Science

All Students42%
Female40%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English43%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%

Writing

All Students51%
Female63%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 56%
Hispanic 31% 32%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

405 Willis Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80911
Phone: (719) 391-3355

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Talbott Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Widefield Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Webster Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO



North Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT