Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Webster Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2013

Webster is a terrible school. The teachers do not care to even TRY to keep the students engaged. My daughter is bored as well. I can't wait to move her to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

My opinion is the same as the January 2013 reviewer. Except my kid is bored to tears because the work is "easy " and the teachers do not engage the children in learning. So easy A's without being Challenging the student. And being a military family we have been referred to as transits by the school. And school as a very cliquish community. Along with some serious issues controlling the kids behaviors in the classroom. We are moving to a Charter school next year. Which will hopefully have a more diverse population, more parental involvement. And a higher caliber of teachers, students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

This is a typical "no child left behind" school where they teach to the lowest kid in the class, dumb down the classwork and want everyone to get 100%...which means that they give my son fewer spelling words than his peers because spelling is harder for him. I know most parents these days seem to like this approach. I guess I am old-fashioned. I would rather have him work hard and earn a C than be handed an A. The teachers look down on the parents and are rude to them. It is difficult to be an involved parent: no one answers emails or messages, teachers don't post assignments on the parent site so you can't follow up with you kid on what his/her homework is, they schedule parent conferences without asking when the parent is available...that sort of thing. Have struggled with teacher after teacher at this school with my stepson. He will be moving on to middle school next year and we are currently exploring other elementary school options for my daughter who will be in Kindergarten next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

Both my son and daughter attend Webster and we have been thrilled with the education and guidance they have received over the past 3 years. The teachers and staff are caring, patient and diligent in educating and caring for the "whole child". Parent involvement is encouraged and family participation in school activities is welcomed. I highly recommend Webster to any family looking for a quality education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

Concerned parents. Not sure of the academic expectations. We were told our student was doing well and once the report card came it said otherwise. I am not sure about the parental involvement in my student's classroom, it seems like everything is last minute notifications. The teacher has not really kept us informed. I know it is a two way street, but I expected more effort on her part. I have heard amazing things about this school but my experience has not been so great :( We are considering another school for next year. I just don't have the warm, caring feeling. Maybe it is just this one teacher...Not sure! I am disappointed. Kudos the PTO rocks and that is where I get most of my information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

This is a really good school . My kids did not attend this school year because I moved them to JMCA. I am considering moving them back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

My daughter's teacher made our experience at the school wonderful. She loved her teacher and loved learning. The school is growing faster than it can handle it seems though. My daughter's classroom was in seperate trailer type classrooms across from the main school. Too bad they can't build a bigger school for all the growth that's happening in that area. They are VERY military friendly which is important to a military family like ours. We miss Webster Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

We love our school they are very helpful, caring, people whom take very good care of our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

Webster is an excellent school ranging from pre-school through 6th grade. The teachers are very involved and kids are their main concern and focus. My children have been at this school since kindergarten, and absolutely love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2008

Our son has attended Webster for five years (K-4) and we are sad that we have to move. This school has been a blessing to our son's education, and we could not be any happier with the principal, the staff, the librarian, and the parental involvement. An excellent school that gets better every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

Webster is a great fundemental school for kids in pre school to 6th grade.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female67%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible51%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Reading

All Students71%
Female71%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Writing

All Students58%
Female61%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligible56%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female75%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students82%
Female80%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students68%
Female75%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female54%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Reading

All Students65%
Female61%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Science

All Students37%
Female29%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)40%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant37%

Writing

All Students45%
Female51%
Male40%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 56%
Hispanic 26% 32%
Black 9% 5%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

445 Jersey Ln
Colorado Springs, CO 80911
Phone: (719) 391-3435

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Talbott Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO



Venetucci Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Sunrise Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT