Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunrise Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 675 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

This is a great school. It has a great environment for the kids and there are always many activities throughout the school year. My son has been here for kinder and 1st grade and has excelled both school years. Great teachers, and everyone who works here always seems very happy and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2014

this school is very bad! Teachers are not smart about anything in 5th grade. I got 52% on my math test, I show my mom and she say teacher is wrong : 123-23=100 but teacher say it's wrong 24 is answer, i show her she say oh , okay. They will loose your work and that jell at you but than they will find . Because they sad they did not have but than find you will have bad grade! I student of this bad school!


Posted May 8, 2014

My child went to this school. It is absolute terrible following safety at the front door. If you have a disagreement with a teacher the teacher takes out there aggression on the child. they will public degraded a child in front of the whole school. And the principle will allow this kind of behavior to happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

This school has been terrible with testing to qualify my daughter daughter to get any accommodations. They refused my request for an IEP evaluation for 5 months stating we had to use the RTI process first. The things we discussed during the RTI were not initially implemented. I finally consulted a lawyer and found out they could not refuse my request on the basis of my daughter going through the RTI process. I then informed the school I knew our rights and I was willing to take legal action. They initiated the testing process within one week of receiving my written request and my letter stating my legal rights to have the request followed through with. As well as initiated the IEP testing they also finally began using the tools and processes and giving her the extra individual attention that we discussed during the RTI meeting that was held more than 6 weeks prior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

After moving around a lot, we have been lucky to find this school for the past 3 years. My eldest daughter has gone there from 2nd till 4th grade and my other daughter was in kindergarten this year. Mrs Carlton is one of the best principles I have ever meet, she forms a relationship with each child and the entire staff follows suit. I have had difficulties with some of the teachers, but Mrs. Carlton always wants what's best for the student and works with parents. I have been able to volunteer a lot at the school, even bringing my infant along to help. It was real easy to get involved and make a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

What happened to all the good teacher? I know of one maybe 2 in the entire school. My children have been going to this school since kindergarten. My oldest is in the 3rd grade now and neither of my kids will be back next year. I have asked several times from the teachers that they help me out, send home parctice sheets on areas that the kids need help with. I have hired a tutor for the kids, but we cant teach if we dont know what is being taught. My daughter is being bullied, not by other kids, but by teachers! I am so fed up with this school, I have no idea how they got their ranking, but its way wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2011

My son attended Sunrise from 1st-5th grades. Initially we were very pleased with the staff and the curriculum. By the time he reached 5th we had several concerns that weren't being addressed. My son was not being challenged and the only solution they had for us was to give him additional work. We wanted him to be challenged, not to be made to feel like he was being punished with additional work. Also, there were a couple disruptive children in his class that demanded much of the teachers attention which took away from the students who deserved the teachers focus. When we brought this up we were told there was nothing they could do. We made the decision to move our son to a school that challenges him and allows him to excel in his areas of strength and still provides him great assistance in weak areas and all the while promoting strong character and integrity as a person. Leaving Sunrise was the BEST educational decision we could have made for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2010

My children have been going to this school from Kindergarten. I have two children with disabilities. I am an active volunteer with the PTO (I might add that Sunrise has the largest and most active PTO in the district). Our PTO is open to anyone that wishes to attend. We have provided countless services to our students over the last few years to include helping to purchase the new playground equipment on the primary side of the school, new projectors that hook up to lap tops, as well as the lap tops for each grade etc... Sunrise has a dedicated staff that provides a well structured and always well suprevised enviornment for their students. I have NEVER seen chaos in the lunchroom, playground or in any other enviornment in this school and I am there volunteering EVERY SINGLE DAY! The Life skills teachers are wonderful! Sunrise is the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2009

I get the impression that these parents are blaming the disability of their children on the teachers. The fact that at the end of a year you child is not ready to go on to the next level is not a reason to decide the entire school is a bad school. I'm sorry your child was not ready to move on, but that is one of the misfortunes of life. I have 2 grandchildren involved with this school. Both are straight A students because of direct involvement of teachers, staff, and concerned volunteer parents. I go to the school programs and have experienced a true sense of total involvement. I could understand the special needs classes as appearing unruly and disorderly, but I don't believe any child in this school is uncared for in any way. It's a great school.


Posted September 9, 2009

I have too agree with this parent. The school has a system that I have difficulty comprehending the concept of children being left too do what ever they see fit without anyone to guide them to do what's appropriate and respect other children reqardless if normal or disabled Parents have complained too the staff and yet the repetition of their action is nothing. I am a concerned parent that has encountered utterly chaos in the morning and at lunch time and during recess with the children. By the way this is with the kindergarten class of 2009. What is a parent too do with the attitude displayed to parents if you have a concern then that is grounds for angry parent when the staff from low to high should try to see the major concern of the parent and not labeling them and distancing themselves from their children instead of being educational mentor
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2008

I believe this school is the worse school in all of Colorado. My son is in their 'Life Skills' class where kids of all ages and grade levels attend who have disabilities. I think all this class does is teach basic skills to get through a day or for their future life such as eating and communicating but it does not give any of the kids an education. My son attended half day kindergarten last year and was to be integrated into a 'normal' first grade this year. They said my son was not ready for first grade so again they are trying to integrate him into kindergarten even though he goes all day and is considered a first grader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

I am a former student of Sunrise. I really enjoyed attending Sunrise. Every morning the teachers would always be pumped up and ready to teach which made me ready to learn and have fun! There was always things like dances, carnivals, sports, etc. Also, the parents were always very involved and made sure the students had fun and the teachers had help. Over all,I give this school a 5 because the education and extra activities for all of the students were amazing! Sunrise also has an outstanding music program. Widefield Dis.3 has one of the best performing arts programs in the city. So if you're looking for a school in the Widefield area for your child, this would be the school to choose!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female74%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligible69%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Reading

All Students75%
Female77%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students57%
Female66%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligible56%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female73%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%

Reading

All Students61%
Female73%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligible56%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%

Writing

All Students55%
Female75%
Male40%
Black (not Hispanic)74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligible56%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female64%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Reading

All Students76%
Female86%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligible76%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Science

All Students42%
Female42%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligible33%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English43%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%

Writing

All Students63%
Female78%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligible62%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 56%
Hispanic 24% 32%
Black 11% 5%
Two or more races 8% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7070 Grand Valley Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80911
Phone: (719) 391-3415

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Webster Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO





Talbott Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT