Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mesa Ridge High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

Mesa Ridge is practicing inefficient operations, that cost taxpayers, many many $$$$$$$ of dollars. The school board doesn't provide adequate oversight, an inconsistent contracting process. Internal audit system and serious security and privacy issues are off concerns!


Posted May 23, 2014

We moved here at the end of my daughter's freshman year. Her first report card was all failing. She is a child that has struggled some, but never an all failing report card. I immediately started trying to communicate with the school and teachers about it. She took some summer classes to catch up and went on to start her sophmore yr at Mesa. Again, all failing and lots of struggle. I fought a losing battle to get some form of communication with the school. Finally, after arguing with the guidance counselor that my child would not graduate on time without some help, we decided to pull her out. She is now in her new school with awesome grades and amazing staff. The staff at Mesa was huge disappointment. I am so sorry to my child that we didn't pull her out sooner. The school as a whole seems to be a very toxic environment. Everyone is always on edge.. not just hormonal students. I am taking appropriate measures to make sure that my upcoming high schooler does not attend Mesa Ridge. It is an awful school for any student that isn't naturally an excellent student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2009

Im a former student at Mesa Ridge and i must say it is an amazing school. Its my first year and the teachers as well as students make your high school experience the best it can be. The sports programs are amazing as well as the academic programs. Im getting better grades and engaging in more extracurricular activities and i love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2009

i love it here way better then D8 and way better teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2008

I am 2008 graduate of Mesa Ridge High School and I have to say that this school truly shaped me and prepared me for college. The academics were fantastic and the teachers truly cared. I never had any difficulty getting clarification or support in any subject. The music program is among the top programs in the state. The marching band is the 'pride' of the school and creates such unity between students. The Speech and Debate program is growing in number and talent. Mr. Garrett has absolutely changed the school in the most positive way. I was proud to be a Grizzly for those years, and I will always be a Grizzly.


Posted October 14, 2008

I am currently attending Mesa Ridge and not only the people here are great, but the teachers as well. Mesa is a great place to learn and further broaden your learning horizon.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2007

Mesa Ridge is an incredible school. the sports have emerged to be in the in the top of Colorado Springs in football, wrestling, basketball, and track. things have really turned around for this school and it is heading up to great things in the future.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 18, 2007

I loved attending MRHS. There are many different extra-curricular activities to choose from. I was in softball, choir, and French Club. Academics were challenging and prepared me very well for going on to college. Teachers are well-liked, understanding, fun, well-prepared for all situations, and made classes interesting.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 11, 2007

I am a parent of a 2005 graduate as well as a current student and another to follow in 2 years. Currently my student plays numerous sports and have to say I was extremely pleased with the new coaches brought in for football. I agree sometimes we just need to shake things up a bit. I am excited to see Mesa growing and emerging in all areas as it's 10th year comes to an end. I think 85% of the teachers are/go above and beyond the call with these kids and can definitely be praised for going the extra mile. I also feel that the office staff (Ladies that is you!) as well as Mr Garrett do a great job. I also belive Mr Sage is one of the biggest things Mesa Ridge has going for it! Can't wait for my next one to get there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

I am a former student at Mesa...I was involved in lots of different activities (forensics, theatre, cheerleading, stu. co.) And I'm also now studying to be a high school English teacher. The teachers, administrators, support staff, and students are all incredible. There's a passion that drives Mesa that I am so proud of. I recommend this school to ANYONE moving to the Widefield area. There's a lot of heart there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 2, 2006

My daughter graduated in 2004, The school provided a stellar education. I found the faculty to be honorable and fully committed toward the students advancement. The teachers were also very willing to work with parents to offer the best environment for the individual student. My daughter has gone on to college, but often remarks how well prepared she was by Mesa Ridge faculty. Her experiences in Forensics, Drama, English, Yearbook are tops in her book. She plans to be a college professor in English and Drama.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

There is many things wrong with mesa ridge. For one they have a terrible sports program. For two a teachers voice is always over heard by a head guy in the office. Some times students may be telling the truth and a teacher lieing they need to questoin all students involved. Oh and if a student gets in trouble, that shouldn't effect his early release to lunch!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 4, 2005

Poorest school I ever had the unfortune to be a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students30%
Female30%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracial31%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)36%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligible27%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities34%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant29%

Reading

All Students58%
Female66%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracial62%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligible62%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Writing

All Students41%
Female52%
Male31%
Black (not Hispanic)36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracial46%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligible29%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female23%
Male27%
Black (not Hispanic)11%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracial39%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)28%
Free lunch eligible15%
Reduced lunch eligible14%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch31%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities27%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English25%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant25%

Reading

All Students61%
Female66%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracial70%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligible46%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Science

All Students42%
Female39%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracial52%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible27%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English43%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%

Writing

All Students38%
Female48%
Male26%
Black (not Hispanic)29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracial43%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Free lunch eligible29%
Reduced lunch eligible23%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

94%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

84%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 56%
Hispanic 21% 32%
Black 13% 5%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6070 Mesa Ridge Parkway
Colorado Springs, CO 80911
Phone: (719) 391-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Widefield High School
Colorado Springs, CO


Discovery High School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT