Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Divine Redeemer Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 30 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Colorado Springs

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $134,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

I taught in a wonderful public school district at a National Blue Ribbon School for years. As a fairly new staff member at Divine Redeemer, I have observed that same quality of education happening in this school. The difference here, with the Catholic tradition, is the added emphasis on community and giving back to those less fortunate. The children help in collecting food for the food pantry, running a carnival for St. Jude s Hospital, raising money for the Empty Stocking fund , Jeans for Genes Cystic Fibrosis fundraiser- the list goes on. All children participate, even the smaller children! Divine Redeemer Catholic School is a family , much like your family, with high academic and behavior expectations, as well as love for each and every child that attends here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 5, 2014

Our son has gone from a reading level of 6.9 to one of 4.6. The teacher didn't bring it to my attention. I brought it to hers. I'm questioning the school's ability to help our son. To help with limiting distraction the teacher says he can take the tests in the principal's office. A death sentence to a boy that realizes and everyone else in the class realizes he struggles. Although we have an IEP (called SAP) in place I don't see it being implemented. To the teacher's credit, I'm allowed to go into the class (which I understand is frowned upon because the child needs to be responsible - if he can't get himself dressed for school how can he get his homework) to help with getting homework and to take a picture of the board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Our daughter is in pre-kindergarten this year and what a great experience. The class has 11 students, an awesome teacher and an aide in the classroom. We were looking for a school that applied various skills needed academically and socially through-out the grades. The students are integrated into the school, they attend mass, and use the "buddy" system that our daughter is looking forward too becoming when she is older. The principle stands outside every morning (rain,snow,or shine) and greets every child by their first name- outstanding! The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, and full of enrichment. We cannot praise enough of how this school has made our daughter's education value priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

Divine Redeemed is a Catholic school devoted to helping educate children in faith and academics. It has a low student to teacher ratio. It has wonderful teachers willing to help the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

My daughter is in Kindergarten this year at DR and she has had a wonderful experience. It is a loving community with teachers that really care. The children attend mass weekly and the parents are involved with the school.We feel very blessed to have our daughter attending such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

My daughter is in pre-kindergarten this year and we have been having a wonderful experience. The pre-k class is quite small (only 13 children) and they have a teacher and an aide in the classroom. It is a lot more academic than what many of my friends are experiencing with their pre-k's, but if that's what we were looking for so we're very satisfied. Also, it has a very elementary school feel. The pre-k kids are fully integrated into the school, they attend mass, they have assigned older "buddies," etc. It reminds me of what kindergarten was like when I was a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

My child has had an excellent experience at Divine Redeemer School. The teachers and administration are truly caring and involved. The classes are challenging and academic. We love the constant prayer, and the quality of communication from the staff is AWESOME. This school is too good to miss!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

Divine Reedemer is a great school with a great community of parents. My child has greatly excelled at Divine Redeemer and the teachers have always done what is in the best interest of my child. Start the day with prayer and the Pledge of Allegiance. It is a great atmosphere for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

My child had a horrible experience at Divine Redeemer. Multiple teachers in the first semester. My child was not taught to her ability and became bored and acted up. Discipline was not always appropriate and my child was made to believe that she was bad. I pulled her out mid year. With a new school came an immediate improvement in behavior and she was excited about learning again. I regret not removing her sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

DR is ahead of the curve, thay have wonderful teachers and a great curriculum.Parents are nto only encouraged to participate but required to spend at min 25 hrs a yerr helping out in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

DR has an excellent PreK program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 56%
Hispanic 23% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Colorado Springs
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Classroom Office and Lunchroom
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

901 North Logan Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80909
Phone: (719) 471-7771

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Queen Palmer Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Columbia Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO




Taylor Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


North Middle School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT