Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Corpus Christi School

Private | PK-8 | 237 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Colorado Springs

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $154,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

Corpus Christi Catholic School is a strong school both academically and spiritually. The teachers are dedicated and go the extra mile. The principal does not appear to be open to suggestions. The mass drop-off and pick-up of students in the gym makes no sense, and the drive-through to pick up students at the end of the day is a mess. Overall, though, I do recommend this school for academic excellence and a strong Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

EXCELLENT SCHOOL!!! Dedicated, caring staff. Children are WELL BEHAVED and learn that the "great battle" in life is NOT WITH SOCIETY, but WITH YOURSELF!! Implemented the "SEE THE CHANGE PROGRAM" for Physics, one of 2 schools in the COUNTRY to have this. Well rounded curriculum. Kids ACTUALLY HOLD THE DOOR FOR YOU!!! Does this happen at YOUR SCHOOL??? NO politics either, unlike the PUBLIC SCHOOLS where children, NO JOKE, are told WHO TO VOTE FOR IN NATIONAL ELECTIONS!!! SO VERY HAPPY!!! This is a K-8 school, kids coming out of here and going to public highschool are "leaps and bounds" ahead of the other students per a Palmer Highschool teacher who has had Corpus kids. This school also feeds into St. MARY's HIGH SCHOOL-one of THE BEST HIGHSCHOOLS in the COUNTRY!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

My child has been a student at Corpus Christi for four years now. This period includes the transition to the new administration. I noticed a few parents and faculty members had a hard time adjusting but this change was both necessary and unavoidable. Kim Schindler is an experienced and dedicated Principal. The changes I've seen have been all positive. A quality education in a positive, encouraging atmosphere is job one. My child is happy, motivated and comfortable in this environment. We have cooperative parents who have adapted well and I can't imagine my child in any other institution in this city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

This school has great potential. The administration and staff are dedicated professionals. The school is constantly evaluating its progress and procedures. However, a climate of entitlement from the parents and therefore from some students. I feel Corpus is striving for more accountability / cooperation from parents and students. The teachers encourage each student to reach their personal best. Attitudes toward adhering to the rules and discipline are improving. Still, I feel this school needs fewer days off during the school year particularly in the 1st and 3rd semesters; fewer weekly/daily schedules changes and more structure / discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

As I read through the ratings, especially the one-star ratings, there is a lot of mention about the "administration." The previous administration (principal) was a long-time friend of many teachers and families. She did a fine job as principal. When the new principal was hired, the close relationships some teachers and families had with the administration was gone. This was a change they couldn't deal with, as the status of being among the "favorites" was gone. They started to be held accountable, and they didn't like it. They became disgruntled. This is proven by the one-star ratings. A one-star rating? That's just an irrational reaction by someone who is just not getting his/her way. As a long-time financial supporter of this school, I would give it an honest 3.5 stars out of 5. That's a rational rating, not a rating intended to simply bring the overall rating up or down. Don't let these few disgruntled teachers and their rumor-spreading family followers affect your decision. Come visit the school and decide for yourself. You'll find many award-winning teachers and students making a difference in this community.


Posted February 22, 2012

This school is growing by leaps and bounds! Dedicated administration, faculty and parents are making a positive difference in academic accountability, technological innovation, and spiritual growth. A comprehensive strategic plan that included parents, teachers, and students has been enacted. Anyone who speaks negatively doesn't know the full story and fell out of touch with the progress expected of Catholic Schools today. A 21st Century school cannot be run on nostalgia and red-tape. This school has moved from being teacher-centered to being student-centered. Jesus said, "Whoever receives a child in my name, receives me" (Mark 9:37). Such faith in Jesus Christ requires sacrifice for the sake of the children. In the past, this school had many free-loaders who would take and complain but not give and rejoice. If someone is not part of the solution, they are part of the problem. Now, both enrollment and generous donations are increasing. Change is not easy, especially when it has not happened for a long time. But unless we change and move ahead, we stagnate and fall behind. Keep up the good work, Corpus Christi!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 22, 2012

I would strongly recommend Corpus Christi Catholic School. As a veteran teacher with more than 30 years of experience and a new member of the staff, I would like to offer my perspective. The first thing that struck me about this school is the dedication of the staff. Their joy and warmth permeates the halls of Corpus Christi. The principal, Kim Schindler, leads her staff with care and a focused Catholic vision to encourage deeper faith in Christ, challenging academics, and service to others. I am proud and grateful for this ministry!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 22, 2012

Take the time to do your own research. If it s important enough for you to put your child into a Catholic school, please take the time to visit the schools you are considering and speak with the administrators and teachers so you can make an educated decision based on what you learned by your own research rather than the opinions of someone with a personal agenda.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

It is very unfortunate that a few parents from the past, a previous teacher and a few who have continued this year would try to put a "black eye" on this AMAZING school. The principal was hired to launch this school forward in all areas and this is exactly what she is doing. We are so pleased with all of the positive changes going on at Corpus Christi Catholic School for our child. The new teachers hired this year are exceptional!!! Thank you to the entire staff, parents and kids who are happy every day at this school. I would encourage you all to step inside and look for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

Great school and teachers, not sure what these other commentators have seen.. I have seen in the last year lots of progress both from an academical perspective and updating the facilities. I would strongly recommend this school to any parent...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

I taught at Corpus for 10 years. In 2009 we got kudos for our teamwork from an outside accreditation organization When the new administration arrived it met normal resistance. This is human behavior. What was destructive was the reaction of the administration. Professionals suddenly became people whose experience was irrelevant. Administration opinion wasn't open to discussion even when blatantly incorrect. Professionals were publicly disrespected. When I realized I had no respect for the administration that was disrespecting me and feeding me falsehoods I decided to leave. I did not retire, For 20-years in the Air Force I lived by "Lead, follow or get out of the way!" I felt I had little choice. Since I left there was the big lay off and continued hemoraging of families with long connection to Corpus. Analyze closely before accepting any of the opinions expressed on this site!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 16, 2012

We chose to pull our children from Corpus Christi after many great years there. We found the current administration to be very unprofessional and the academics were falling. The students spent more time in the morning gathering than in their first academic period. There were not a handful of teachers that left, it was more like the majority. Many families left as well. This used to be an outstanding school. I would NEVER recommend this school as long as the current administration is there.


Posted February 15, 2012

This school needs help and some tender loving care to help fix what has been destroyed. Here are a couple of facts about Corpus. 18 out of 22 teachers left, these are teachers that have served at Corpus for the last 20 to 30 years. They have all put in numerous hours, time and most importantly their faith. 2011 was a hard year for anyone in the way of the administration. These teachers, parents and children are not "disgruntled" we are a common group of parents paying for a good education and life teachings from gods word. These teachers before the new "administration" were all on one team, a team of VERY supporting and caring people working together creating a stable environment. So, in short... Corpus admin can give themselves 5 stars if they want however, patting yourself on the back for a very rocky and unstable environment. And as a side note, teachers have never infected parents, what you are missing is the compassion, teachers, parents and administration worked hand in hand were friends and even made sure things were planned to keep every one together in the past until now. Boast all you need there are more than you realize that know the real truth.


Posted January 10, 2012

Corpus Christi is not a perfect school, but none are. It is, however, a Christ-centered, academically challenging school where the teachers care tremendously about the students and their well-being. The people in charge love the school, the parish, and the people who belong to each. The team of professionals at the school work toward making the school and the students the best they can be. Before you put too much stock into the one-star ratings, realize there were a handful of teachers who recently chose to retire because they didn t like the new administration. Why? Because the new administration started holding them accountable, and they didn t like it. These teachers wanted to do things their way instead of trying to work more as a team. Some of the teachers infected some of the parents thinking as well, so there were some families who left the school. They were all disgruntled, plain and simple. It all comes down to the new administration wanting to change things for the better, and those who couldn t handle the changes left the school. Corpus Christi has a lot to offer and is on its way up, and it s easier now that those with poor attitudes have left.


Posted June 4, 2011

Corpus used to be a great school with excellent teachers and leadership. It always felt like a home/community. Not anymore! If the cuurent leadership stays, then I don't recommend this school. Right now the school is going through a huge turnover in teachers/staff. After many good years at Corpus, unfortunately, we won't be back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

Poor admin/leadership. Have seen it go from a great school where it feels like a family to one where enrollment numbers take priority. Seems like a waste of money to have an admissions director, when the school could put those funds to better use. Says something when all the good teachers are 'retiring'. Will not be back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

Corpus Christi is is a great school everyone is nice to one another and the teachers are great. They really care about the students. The only complaint I have is the 2008-2009 mass uniform for the girls. They have to wear knee high socks, white oxford button down shirts (which are see-through), and neck ties. I think it would look nice on the elementary girls, but the Middle School look a little like airplane stewardess. The skirt and dress shoes however are reasonable for mass.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2009

I'm graduating 8th grade this year from Corpus. It's tauhgt me a lot and I will miss it
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2008

I have 3 children at Corpus Christi. My oldest has completed 7th grade. She has seamlessly become an accomplished young lady who no longer seeks help with homework, who can give speeches in front of the school and who loves alegbra. She has a relgious foundation that instills kindness and sound decision making. She'll be ready for any AP or IB program in town!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

I attended this school and I have enrolled my son here this year. I received a wonderful education that helped me through out life academically and spiritually. I wanted the same high level of education for my son. The teachers really care about the children and parent involvement. I completely disagree with the 1 star comment. So much for not putting hateful comments, they obviously did not communicate well with staff. I have had nothing but positive and wonderful results from this school. Some of the same teachers that taught me are able to teach my son and I know with 100% certainty he will get the best education here. Go Colts!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 56%
Hispanic 27% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Colorado Springs
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2410 North Cascade Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80907
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 632-5092

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lincoln Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO



Steele Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Junior Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Mann Middle School
Colorado Springs, CO


Taylor Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT