Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
290 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (7 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 89 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Colorado Springs School 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
CSS is a place you have to visit to believe. What is done here with students on a daily basis is amazing. The faculty are an intelligent, hard working and committed group. My kids have flourished here in all 3 divisions. High expectations are balanced by a supportive and approachable faculty. The academics have prepared my oldest extremely well for the ACT exam and multiple AP exams. This is a school that prepares students extremely well... In a variety of areas of life. Writing skills. Responsibility. Integrity. Academics. Creativity. Public speaking. The Exprienced based learning brings real world situations and critical thinking to the forefront. It is highly engaging. Kids can be real individuals here... As well as contribute in many many ways to the community. My son is a member of 4 musical groups on campus, as well as running the lights for theater productions and being in the robotics club. My oldest was yearbook editor and was able to try new sports in high school and thrive. Kids are encouraged to try out many things. Opportunities are everywhere. CSS is a very safe and supportive community. The college counseling program is second to none. This school is good for the whole person, and I have seen that first hand as I have had kids at the school for the past 16 years. I would not consider sending my kids anywhere else. Visit and see for yourself!

The Colorado Springs School 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
If you are looking for a community where your child will be academically challenged while simultaneously shaped into a person that will go out in the world and make a difference, this is the school. The faculty and other parents instantly provide an environment where your child feels safe to express and challenge themselves. Within each classroom, my husband and I have found teachers tailor the learning to our children’s’ specific levels and really ensure that their strengths are showcased. We have two confident little people that look forward to what awaits them at school every day. You can’t ask for more.


The Colorado Springs School 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Experience based learning makes this school unique among others in the area. While the public schools rank high with test scores, CSS teaches students to think for themselves, integrates studies with life experiences and each student is aware of the global impact of what they are learning. This school stresses community, philanthropy, academic excellence and is able to teach to each students needs, not to a standardized test all while experience art, drama, state and world wide travel. The teachers are outstanding and receive enjoy support from a strong administration. The school has been our home for 6 years with all 3 kids there.

The Colorado Springs School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Schubach is a real leader. Not only is he comfortable in the classroom teaching the kids, but he is professional as the head of the school. This guy is a game changer, and the things he is doing at CSS are stellar.

The Colorado Springs School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Wow! Every year I think we have had the best teacher, and then we are surprised by the next. I usually get emotional when I talk about the teachers. These folks have changed my kid's lives. They have inspired, sparked interest, disciplined, praised, demanded hard work, replied to emails and phone calls from home (at night and on weekends), mentored, comforted, encouraged, befriended, coached, and taught my kids. These folks are exceptional. They are at CSS because they love learning and love kids. We have a lot of cross-divisional teachers, so the teachers get to know kid in every division. Teachers show up to all the theater events, sports games, club activities and even birthday parties. All because they care and want to be involved.


The Colorado Springs School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are very upfront that there is a substantial amount of homework, but it isn't just heaps of worksheets. Many times it is project based, studying for a test, or reading to prepare for the next day. I would be disappointed if it was too easy, or there was less homework. Don't get me wrong, some parents complain that there is too much. But, we don't over-schedule our kids after school knowing that they are exhausted after a full day of giving 100% and then they have homework. They each do 1 after school activity. When they do school sports, the school is insistent that grades come first. There is a homework heaven for middle school every day 3:30-5:30 where kids can go (free) and do homework and a teacher is there.

The Colorado Springs School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Great example is that my super shy kid had to be part of the school play in K. She was terrified, Now in middle school, she can get up in front of 200 people and own the stage. The out-of-the-classroom experiences also teach persistence, grit and determination. Kids have to set-up their own tents starting in 3rd grade, wash their own dishes and keep track of their own gear. In the middle school, the students cook for all 3 grade levels on their seminar 1 for example. My kids have camped in snow, torrential down-pours and blazing hot temps. They have to dig deep and sometimes struggle on long hikes, climbing ladders that are scary or doing things way outside their comfort zone. In Children's school (K-5), my child actually studied someone in history who is famous for persistence, grit and determination. I was astounded when grit became part of the vocabulary at our house that year. Middle school also requires a team sport, so my non-sporty kid is challenged every day to do her best even if it is hard. These are great lessons and CSS absolutely teaches persistence, grit and determination.

The Colorado Springs School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Respect is essential for every classroom to run well. My kids started learning how important this is in preschool at CSS. The respect goes both ways. The teachers also show respect to the students and parents. Kids who are new to CSS sometimes are shocked as they get used to a playground where kids is encouraged to play with EVERYONE for starters. They also don't realize the culture here is different and the mutual respect is a big part of that. Disrespect is not tolerated, and the teachers are excellent in coaching kids toward appropriate behavior.


The Colorado Springs School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
CSS recently brought the RULER program to campus. It is a social and emotional literacy program, and I believe we are one of the only school's in Colorado to have this. Check it out! Service learning is also a key component to the curriculum, even in the youngest grades. From collecting books for a local HeadStart program, to cleaning mountain trails and weeding Venetucci farm, our kids learn how to serve others.

The Colorado Springs School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
CSS has a curriculum that includes honesty, integrity and fairness as an essential part of the program. There is a student run program in the Upper School that holds the older kids accountable to peers, for example. The best way to demonstrate that CSS is founded on these principles is that none of the kid's lockers have locks on them. The classrooms are small enough that the teachers in every division (Upper, Middle and Children's) can devote time to character development as an essential component of the CSS education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Colorado Springs School
21 Broadmoor Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO  80906
(719) 475-9747
Last modified The Colorado Springs School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
The Colorado Springs School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 89 reviews. Top