Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pauline Memorial Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 168 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Colorado Springs

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $219,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2014

Academically rigorous with small classes and special help for those who need a boost. Our son came into 2nd grade from D11 and was behind in reading. His teacher and the special ed teacher have worked with him hard all year to get him up to grade level in reading. Math, science, music and art also excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

We are a military family on a tight budget. My kids attended here previously for 4 years and we loved every second of it. Our family has received a scholarship every year we have applied!! We were relocated for 3 years and I understand there was quite a shake up with principle and staff and a lot of families left the school. Upon our return to the Springs, our children begged to return to PMCS, so we figured we would give it a shot and form our own opinions. We are still in love with the school. My kids have blossomed once again and are back to the top of their class academically. The new principle is amazing and involved with every child and is out there everyday helping the teachers with the kids. There are always those parents that overstep at every school, Public or Private. I volunteer at every school my children attend ( I have 5) I communicate with the teachers and have enjoyed the feedback and open communication with this school. I choose Catholic education for my kids because they thrive here, and I am surrounding them with faith and morality that reflects how I want to raise my kids. I say to all the families that left, to maybe give it another chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

Love this school! The teachers are great with knowledge of not only their subjects but also a great sense of humor. My daughter was having a hard time at her other school, very stressful for not only her but the teachers and staff around her. When she came to Pauline she was a little scared as she was behind when all the other kids were ahead. However, with some encouragement from the new principle and her teachers, she flourished! In only 6 months she is back towards the honor roll and has excellent academic scores, this is truly more than we could have ever asked for in a school :) Thank you to Pauline, nice work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

Pauline Memorial Catholic School is a wonderful place to send your children. This year we are continuing the implementation of Core Knowledge, EnVision Math and Reading Street curriculums. The teachers participate in PLC meetings weekly where they are able to collaborate with other teachers and learn from each other. Students are recognized through awards assemblies, PBS and Student of the Month to name a few. As a Catholic school community, St. Paul s Pauline Memorial Catholic School is in partnership with parents in the education of their children both academically and spiritually. As Catholic educators we also share responsibility for the spiritual formation of our students ensuring they grow in wisdom, virtue, and in grace to be successful, faith-filled leaders of the future. Students in grades 2-8 attend daily Mass and religion class which prepares them for the sacraments and a faith filled life as a disciple of Christ. PMCS is an accreditated school that continues to challenge students so they will be successful in high school, compete in college and be prepared for future careers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 14, 2011

Pauline is a wonderful school where both academics and religion have been well balanced. The new principal is a wonderful addition to the school and brings with her over 30 years of experience. The teachers are warm and nurturing and are up to date with current teaching standards. I would recommend anyone who is interested in a Catholic education to Pauline in a heartbeat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

As a former parent, I must say that the teachers were great, but the school has gone steadily downhill from a leadership standpoint. There is no shortage of parental involvement, but that is not always a good thing. Hopefully with a new principal, the morale will improve, but I am in no hurry to bring my children back here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2009

We are very pleased with the caliber of the teaching staff. They are well educated and caring! The principal, although new, has been a welcome addition and maintains the tradition of excellence. PMCS is truly an integrated community of students, teachers, and parents committed to Catholic education. We find our children well educated and intellectually curious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

Having been a parent of children at the school, I can say that I have been happy with the eduacation they have received up to this point. However, it has become a school that is run by the parents and the teachers/administrators don't stand a chance up against the wishes/desires of the rich and 'powerful' parents that have made themselves an everyday nuisance at the school. It would be great if the parents would let the teachers be teachers and the parents would just be parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

Don't send your kids to Pauline. The teachers are not accountable, the principal is over his head, and the resident priest is rarely there. This school is run by the parents and the teachers morale is very poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

I have a 5 yr. who will be attending K this year (2004-2005). I am a little disappointed in the size of the classroom (24) for 1 teacher and 1 teacher aid. Being a private school, I was hoping for no more than 18 or 20 max. The other thing I am disappointed is that religion class is considered outside of the school curriculum and my son still needs to attend Sunday School. The school is located in a very good neighborhood. I opted for private school for now because the public education here in Colorado is not very good at all. Kindergarten is not considered a requirement and if you want all day Kindegarten, you have to pay. My option was to pay for public or pay for private school for full day Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 56%
Hispanic 9% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Colorado Springs
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1601 Mesa Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Phone: (719) 632-0231

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Colorado Springs School
Colorado Springs, CO



Broadmoor Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Skyway Park Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Gold Camp Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Oak Creek Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT