Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mary's High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Colorado Springs

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $134,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2012

Excellent prep school. We have a sophomore and the school has been great for him. The leadership is excellent as are the academics. The school could use some new equipment but they work hard to keep the tuition low (and financial aid available - 1 in 4 students receive financial aid). The school is preparing my son well for admittance and success in a top university.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2011

I had a son who attended St. Mary's his freshman and sophomore year until we moved to Montana. He was extremely well prepared for his continued studies at a college prep school up here in Montana. More importantly than the academics however; and they are very important, is the caring and thought- provoking environment the staff have created. Students not only learn lots of things, they are given a sound basis on how to use that knowledge in the best possible way- ethics are stressed, core Catholic values are stressed, and students are encouraged to "do what is right".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

Sadly, St. Mary's is living on a reputation that they earned years ago. The lack of stable leadership is the beginning of the problem. There are barely any AP classes, a limited math curriculum, only 2 foreign languages, an unsupervised and out of control theater department, and an archaic technology department. The decrease in enrollment and mass exodus of students from the student body should warn the leadership of what is coming but they are not professional educators. So, it goes unnoticed and the train that is St. Mary's continues to run out of control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2010

A a parent of 2 recent graduates, I can honestly say that St. Mary's provides an excellent college-prep education in a very caring environment. St. Mary's encourages not only growth in academics, but also growth in awarenesss of self as related to others and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

A great place for children to learn and learn to live well rounded lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

St.Mary's is a fantastic, private,college prep school. I am an Alumni Parent and I would recommend St.Mary's to anyone wanting the best possible high school experience for their student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Encourages students to strive for the best with a good college prep curriculum. Have 11th gr. student and their 3rd yr theology class is really similar to college ethics class I took at university- but improved at their level to promote students review the choices human make from an ethical standpoint and it promotes service related projects. Teachers and administration know their students and care about their success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

the school has potential but is in a state of flux and I find it unnerving that they aren't wiling to make changes and 'grow' despite the decine in enrollment Not enough AP, NO diversity, limited resources and tenyered teachers that just need to retire.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2008

As a parent of two recent graduates, I highly recommend St Mary's to any student seeking a strong college prep environment. One of my children went on to a service academy and the other is currently enrolled at a top tier university. Both felt that they were very well prepared by the academics and faculty at SMHS. The tuition is actually one of the lowest for a private school in Colorado. There is a lot of great extracurriculars, too, as my kids both participated in several sports, forensics, drama, newspaper and student council. And they're not unusual...most kids play a varsity sport or are involved in some way. The school really encourages participation in activities. The faculty is fabulous, and very open to parent interaction. Overall, a fantastic school. I think that the population is about 70% Catholic and 30% non-Catholic. They are welcoming to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

St. Mary's High School is a very interesting place. I believe it has the potential to evolve into a highly dynamic, challenging, and unique learning environment. Much of the teacher population is dedicated and committed to ensuring an excellent education for all students. However, the AP program is lacking in terms of variety of classes and teacher support. I graduated in 2004, so hopefully some strides have been made in this realm. Further, the school absolutely lacks diversity. If you want your child to grow up in an inclusive and ethnically, religiously, economically diverse school, SMHS may not be the top choice. However, a concerted effort to recruit a wider range of students could easily improve demographic issues. Teachers are very kind and want to see everyone succeed, but I think the prestige of the school would be greatly improved by requiring teacher certification. Admins. are the biggest weakness.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 7, 2007

SMHS is an outstanding school that provides an excellent curriculum to academically challenge students. Strong academic programs are balanced with strong athletic programs that challenge both the student s mind and body. There is an emphasis on building character and fostering an environment of community involvement and service. SMHS is in perpetual evolution to stay current and provide the best resources to students. The focus is always on what is best for the students. SMHS provides the foundation that develops future leaders by preparing students for success in high school and beyond. I am a very satisfied parent of SMHS students. If you decide to enroll your children in SMHS, you will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

My child has attended St. Mary's High School for the past 3 years. While we feel the academic level remains the highest standard, the pressure on the parent's to constantly donate more and more money has become quite old. We have 2 younger children and are seriously considering sending them to The Colorado Springs School for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

I have attended SMHS for three years. This is my junior year. SMHS has a reputation for great connections. I want to continue on in volleyball, and an alunmi isa coach at Tulane. I love it there. we are a catholic school but they don't shove it down your throat if you don't believe in what they believe. There is such a great sense of unity. I have nothing bad to say about SMHS...
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2005

Our son has attended 2 years (Freshman and Sophmore) and we are very pleased with the academic rigor, social environment, and quality of both students and staff. It has been a wonderful experience for our entire family. I would recommend this High School to anyone. I particularly commend it to military families moving to Colorado Springs. Values are strong and people are welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 56%
Hispanic 10% 32%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 7% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School facilities
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Colorado Springs
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2501 East Yampa Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80909
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 635-7540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

American Christian Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Wasson High School
Colorado Springs, CO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT