Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Private
Colorado Springs, CO
Students enrolled: 334
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Mary's High School 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
I have two children attending and their ability to critically think and assimilate information is unsurpassed. Each has been able to participate in the sports of their choice and enjoy their fellow classmates. Because of the small student body, everyone gets to know each other as an individual. Also, this school is one of the best values in the country. Last year 85 seniors won $7.5million in scholarships compared to a local school district where 800+ seniors won $6.3 million.

St Mary's High School 5

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
This school is head and shoulders well above all other high schools in the region. You will not find a finer, more dedicated, more caring cadre of teachers anywhere. I currently have a sophomore attending and the exuberance she comes home with and the excitement she displays when she learns something new is quite infectious and I believe is testament to the Saint Mary's High School experience. If I could give 10 stars I would!


St Mary's High School 5

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
We had 2 children go through St. Mary's and it prepared them well for college! The integration of Christian values into all aspects of their education (academics, athletics, service) gave them a great base for their future and taught them how to deal with challenges they will face later in life. The academics are superb and because of their advanced classes, they were able to test out of almost of year of college classes. This enabled them to take additional classes outside of their major at the University of Colorado in Boulder. Because of their experiences at St. Mary's, both of my children continue to grow in their faith and are actively involved in the church on the university campus. Parents are actively involved in the school community and you end up knowing the families of the students that your children hang out with. Since it is a small school, there is lots of personal connection between teachers and students. The new STEM program helps the students experience engineering before entering college to see if they really want to study in that career field. The school has a good athletics program but is weak in the performing arts.

St Mary's High School 5

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
I have 2 children there and we are extremely happy with the school. Our kids do numerous activities and are doing well in the rigorous classes. St. Mary's is an excellent college prep program with an emphasis on Catholic education to form the whole person. Great teachers and great kids. Best speech and debate program in southern Colorado as well. The small size really creates a family feel and helps the kids form long lasting friendships.

St Mary's High School 5

Posted December 18, 2011
- a parent
I had a son who attended St. Mary's his freshman and sophomore year until we moved to Montana. He was extremely well prepared for his continued studies at a college prep school up here in Montana. More importantly than the academics however; and they are very important, is the caring and thought- provoking environment the staff have created. Students not only learn lots of things, they are given a sound basis on how to use that knowledge in the best possible way- ethics are stressed, core Catholic values are stressed, and students are encouraged to "do what is right".


St Mary's High School 2

Posted August 20, 2011
- a parent
Sadly, St. Mary's is living on a reputation that they earned years ago. The lack of stable leadership is the beginning of the problem. There are barely any AP classes, a limited math curriculum, only 2 foreign languages, an unsupervised and out of control theater department, and an archaic technology department. The decrease in enrollment and mass exodus of students from the student body should warn the leadership of what is coming but they are not professional educators. So, it goes unnoticed and the train that is St. Mary's continues to run out of control.

St Mary's High School 5

Posted October 30, 2010
- a parent
A a parent of 2 recent graduates, I can honestly say that St. Mary's provides an excellent college-prep education in a very caring environment. St. Mary's encourages not only growth in academics, but also growth in awarenesss of self as related to others and community.

St Mary's High School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
A great place for children to learn and learn to live well rounded lives.


St Mary's High School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
St.Mary's is a fantastic, private,college prep school. I am an Alumni Parent and I would recommend St.Mary's to anyone wanting the best possible high school experience for their student.

St Mary's High School 5

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
Encourages students to strive for the best with a good college prep curriculum. Have 11th gr. student and their 3rd yr theology class is really similar to college ethics class I took at university- but improved at their level to promote students review the choices human make from an ethical standpoint and it promotes service related projects. Teachers and administration know their students and care about their success.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Mary's High School
2501 East Yampa Street, Colorado Springs, CO  80909
(719) 635-7540
Last modified St Mary's High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
St Mary's High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top