Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pikes Peak Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 315 students

PPCS is best known for our loving, family environment with small class sizes.

 
 

Living in Colorado Springs

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $177,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 3, 2009

This school is full of people who think they know everything. Not only are most of the staff bullies the teaching is unsatisfactory.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Teachers at PPCS are qualified, commited, hard-working and caring people who teach because they love what they do. I highly recommend PPCS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2008

My kids have been through the preschool and are now in elementary. We feel their education here is great. The small class sizes allow the teachers to really focus on each student. As a private school, they don't have to teach to the CSAP test like many Colorado schools do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

We have had our children in this school for more than 10 years. The usual problems that small Christian schools have of lower funding, some inexperienced teachers, and so forth, have to be weighed against the wonderful beneifits of having a safe, caring place for your child to be educated. Some parents expect their lower than average tuition to cover everything, and dont become involved. Some whine alot. We love the caring atmosphere, the sports program, and the lifelong friends our children have here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

I love PPCS! Before coming to this school we had a terrible experience in another school. I found PPCS and it changed our lives. We came expecting to only stay one year and we have been there three. Every kid gets to play sports. No kid is singled out or turned away. The lunch program is great and I also ENJOY packing my children's lunch and don't depend on a school to provide their nutritional needs. The teachers are loving, supporting, and teach with a high regard for the individual child many have their Masters Degrees. They don't have to teach to a state standardized test just for money. I want my children to graduate from this school. It's a second home to us and we are treated as so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

What a disappointment! Bullying is a constant issue that goes unresolved by faculty! Faculty elitism does not allow participation from parents on any level. Faculty have painfully obvious lack of academic qualifications and turnover is rampant. This year (08-09) brought a significant drop in enrollment and the outlook is bleak. The academics are completely inadequate, as the math and science they offer will not prepare your student for college at any level. The sports program is enormously deficient, lacking funds, support, or equipment. Taking into account the significantly sub-standard academics, the bleak future for the athletic department, and the lack of follow-through by administration, this once-promising school offers very little for the uninformed yet trusting parent. Be very careful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

I agree that the lunch and sports programs are lacking. Yet, the extracurricular basketball program was very well led. Also, I believe the nepotism and church/school ties create some undesirable issues, including favoritism/partiality. Our experience with the the teachers and principal were not the best. The teachers we encountered were, at times, overly rigid and/or unpleasant in their treatment of students and parents. The principal, though nice and credentialed, lacked follow-through on important items, including when our child was bullied repeatedly. Academically, I felt the challenge was average. (Since I'm not a fan of A Beka, my opinion's slanted.) Regarding the Christian education piece, I was very surprised the school didn't have a statement of faith. I gave PPCS 3 stars out of fairness, but comparing the public schools I could be (and now am) at, it really deserves a 2, in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

This school is declining in enrollment. Attracting teachers is getting harder and their math and science is lacking. They do not (or will) add an affordable healthy lunch program. It is all outsourced fast food. Sports programs are not supported by the faculty overall. We have had a child in the school for elementary school (whole time) and turnover with teachers and principles is pretty high. The school needs to revisit it's vision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

My child has attended PPCS since grade school. I chose the school for the small classroom size, individualized attention and academic program. Overall, we are happy with the school, but there are some downfalls. First of all the math and science programs are poor, and as you know these subjects are critical. Secondly the athletic program is very disappointing. In most cases ill equipped and unexperienced parents (some of which are teachers) are the coaches. There is netitism in the environment, particularly in sports. Thirdly, there is no cafeteria program for kids to get healthy meals. Instead your child has the choice of a different fast food restaurant each week, or can bring their lunch every day. After school clubs are limited and almost nonexistent. In todays world, you decide for yourself if this limited, yet structured and safe environment, with really no extras, is right for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2007

PPCS is a great school that offers everything that you could look for in a school. Great teachers and staff, Expanded curriculum with band and sports. We only were able to stay one year due to moving and believe me compared to CA tuition, this school offers more than a parent could ever hope for in academics and opportunity for their child K-12. Thank you so much and we miss you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2007

I really like this school there is no bullying or anything else that public school over view the teacher and staff are ready to help . most of the teacher will Arrange for time that you can study with them for tests. The academic programs are great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2006

Good values,AVERAGE teachers,honest. Safe school. Now the downside: tuition prices off the paper. $450-$500 PER kid & rises 5-7% each yr. Sports are the worst!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2006

I have been going to this school ever scince PreSchool, I love it! It has small classes, which helps and the teachers are ready to help no matter waht time it is! I love it!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 3, 2006

We've been with this school for 2 years now and it is terrific! Small classes too and good sports programs
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2006

This is my child's first year at this school. The entire staff are parent friendly, and welcome any comments. The academic programs are great, and the students participate in many extracurricular activities. As an involved parent, my child's teacher welcomes me all the time. My child loves going to school everyday. I would definitely recommend this as a place for quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 32%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 85% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 6% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 9% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Matt Johns
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Church of Christ
Associations
  • AdvanED & NCSA
Fax number
  • (719) 598-1491

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Game club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 85%
Military - 6%
Vocational - 9%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5905 Flintridge Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80918
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 598-8610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cornerstone Baptist Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


King Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Martinez Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Fremont Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Keller Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Russell Middle School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT