Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-5
Private
Colorado Springs, CO

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Stephen's Classical Academy 5

Posted June 09, 2008
- a parent
SSCA is an excellent example of the Classical Education curriculum combined with Christian philosophy. The educators are caring, and involved in each individual child's education and well-being. It really is the best kept secret in Colorado Springs!

St. Stephen's Classical Academy 5

Posted June 08, 2008
- a parent
My son has attended St Stephen's for the last 3 yrs (1st-3rd) and we'll be back for 2008. All students in his class were a grade ahead in math, read above their peers, are learning Latin and Spanish and ENJOY school! They get a good foundation in Christian values and get to say the Pledge of Allegience every morning. Teachers are dedicated and loving. Not sure what that other parant in previous review was talking about -- we've never had a problem getting answers to questions. If you're looking for a Christian School with classical curriculem like District 20's, recommend you look here first.


St. Stephen's Classical Academy 5

Posted June 08, 2008
- a parent
I ve tried public schools and charter schools in Colorado Springs, and I wouldn t send my children anywhere but St. Stephens. Their faith based, classical curriculum is by far the best model for true education that I ve ever witnessed. I ve seen that students at St. Stephen s are taught to do and create and question and discover and achieve. And even though the students do participate in standardized testing, the focus of their learning experience is definitely not how to pass a federally or state mandated achievement test. Additionally, the children are not expected to self-teach as is required by some computer based curriculums. And despite what you may have read here or elsewhere, the school is a free-standing entity and not in any way involved in religious politics. In fact, the administration of the school has done everything in its power to ensure that the children s education is not in any way impacted by church politics. At St. Stephens, each child is looked at as an individual with special gifts and qualities. The children in this school are supportive and respectful of each other, as well as their teachers and school administrators. The parents are heavily involved and supportive of the students and the staff. St. Stephen s educators are of the highest quality, both experientially and personally. The combination of an excellent staff and administration, faith-based classical curriculum and small class sizes provides and optimal learning environment for all children, even those with some learning challenges. May God bless and guide you as you make this important decision.

St. Stephen's Classical Academy 5

Posted June 07, 2008
- a parent
My child has attended this school for three years and I am greatly satisfied with her academic and emotional development. She is soon to enter the third grade and is reading on the sixth grade level. Because of small class size and the teachers' dedication, my child receives alot of individual attention and nurturing. I am agnostic but am not offended whatsoever by the Christian environment because the priniciples taught to my child take into account the best parts of Christianity--eg. love, acceptance, caring for others. All schools have their political intrigue but my child's needs have never been ignored at this school. I rate this school A-ONE.

St. Stephen's Classical Academy 5

Posted June 06, 2008
- a parent
This is a true Christian Classical school and my children have attended here for 5 years. I would not send my children anywhere else. The teachers and staff are loving caring Christians. The schools high academic requirements are matched only by their Christian environment. We love this school.


St. Stephen's Classical Academy 1

Posted March 14, 2008
- a parent
If you are looking for a true Classical Academy, look somewhere else. My child's education was constantly placed on the back-burner to church-leader/school politics. Finding real/truthful answers to questions about what is happening in the school is near impossible.

St. Stephen's Classical Academy 5

Posted August 22, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. Stephen's Classical Academy 5

Posted July 22, 2004
- a teacher
I have taught at St. Stephen's for 1 1/2 years. It is a phenomenal school with wonderful parental support. With the small class size, children really get the support and attention they need to succeed. Each child is a valued individual at St. Stephen's. St. Stephen's has a great community atomsphere where communication is open between teachers and parents. The support staff and specials teachers really help to enrich the entire experience. Special classes include music, art, religion, French, Spanish, PE, and a dedicated science teacher. St. Stephen's is a truly wonderful school where everyone is involved and valued in the education of each child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Stephen's Classical Academy
631 N Tejon Street, Colorado Springs, CO  80903
(719) 575-0436
Last modified St. Stephen's Classical Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
St. Stephen's Classical Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top