Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Liberty High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2014

I am responding to some of the more negative comments. I have received help from all of my teachers. You may have to wait 1-2 weeks for a report to be graded. However, please remember, teachers have multiple classes and 15-20 students in their classes. They are only human. They will help you with a problem, and, if they don't know how to, they will help you find someone that can. Classes may be harder, but you can always get more help. If you are failing, you, as the primary leader of your education, are expected to pull your grades up. Teachers will help you, but you need to know what your grades are and how to fix them. Students are not expected to go to four-year colleges or Ivy League Colleges. However, the staff lets students and parents know that this is an option. School spirit is important here. However, if you don't have as much as other people, then that's fine. Bullying is a problem that people experience everywhere, but I am not condoning it. Someone close to me was bullied, and the offender was punished, and not in a slap on the hand way. All in all, this school is a very good choice for a high school student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2014

Liberty has great potential, but the facilities are holding it back from becoming a great school. There are 5 trailers that hold classrooms. Students have to leave the main building to get to class. The District's plan to solve this issue is to build a brand new school not to far away. This won't fix the problem because Liberty will be left with worn out materials and classrooms. I would love to reccomend this school for the amazing teachers, but the facilities are beginning to hinder learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2013

This is the worst school I've had to attend - out of five - by far. Administration cares more about how much their paycheck will be that week than what is in the best interest of the students. If a school where new students are unwelcome amongst their peers of kids who have grown up in the district, this is your school! Bullying is pretty acceptable as well- just ask the sophomore who was voted into homecoming court as a joke. Oh, and by the way, when the caring, involved administration was informed by several people and even given specific names of those responsible for starting the cruel "joke", nothing was done about it. These five star rating by parents are a joke. The next three semesters at that wretched place are going to be increasingly miserable as the administration continues to make changes that restrict us as a student body and accomplish exactly what they aim to prevent. It's extremely unfortunate that the few decent adults I've encountered at this school are surrounded with colleagues generally sour towards students that we as students are subject to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2013

I have no idea what ANY of these one star reviews are talking about. Liberty has a nice clean campus, friendly community, FANTASTIC arts program and is overall one of the best schools in D20. The only valid complaint I've seen are the admins, they don't know how to plan very well or make appointments well and they are becoming more and more strict every year but overall I love this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2013

When I went to enroll my junior here, her counselor wouldn't even give us the time of day, she said we needed to make an appointment. I did this, kind of understanding the situation, but when we arrived for our appointment the following week, her counselor wouldn't let my daughter pick her classes, she said she was going to put her in anything available, I understood this for extra curricular classes, but she did it for the core classes too! My daughter told her multiple times that she needed to go into Pre-calculus, but she got stuck in Geometry! She also put my daughter into ADVANCED dance class, which happens to be a class that you cannot take unless you are an ADVANCED dancer, upon printing out her schedule, we found she had been stuck in 2 other advanced classes. On her first day, she had to ride the bus, i had been informed ahead of time that she would need an RFID card to ride (it's $0.50 a day to ride the school bus, and it's shared between middle and high school). We were told her card would arrive in the mail within 2 weeks, but it hadn't by the 1st day. I figured being the first day they would let it go, NOPE! The bus driver said she couldn't ride without a card!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

I do not recommend taking your child to this school if your child is not one of those super stars students. The teachers never tried to teach me what was important, they mostly put me down and made me feel bad about myself. For example, one of the most humiliating things I had to do was stay after school and ask a fellow classmate how to highlight words on a page. This was in an honors class. They did not help me learn, just tried to put me in my place it felt like.


Posted October 16, 2012

This school is a very good school! I honestly have no idea what all these people are talking about bullying. I have not ran into bullying at all while at this school. The teachers and prinicpal are great. At Liberty, the academics are very strong and challenging, but the teachers are very willing to help you when you are struggling.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2012

Both my boys attend this school and we have had a positive experience so far. This school is not perfect and is dealing with things that are going on in other schools in the area too, it just makes me sad to see it having such a bad rep on here. I feel there are good teachers and staff that are trying to help the students succeed and things are being done like any school to try and counteract bullying.


Posted September 25, 2011

I have absolutely nothing good to say about this school. The bullying here is so severe that it is unbearable. The problem is that the staff does NOTHING about it. You can take a mound of proof and still nothing. At one point the principal literally told me that he thought my daughter 'asked for it' and 'attracted dram'. He literally blamed HER for getting bullied. There was actually two parents whose daughters were being bullied by the same student... nothing. They do not care. They are not going to intervene or help. If you love your child and value their safety and well-being then run as fast as you can away from this school!! They will not help protect your children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

This school is horrible and needs to restaff in the admin department. The thing is they stress about the dumbest things around the school. If you dont have school spirit tou are looked down upon or considered a rebel. Also, if your son/daughter has a situation with the staff they will gang up on you because they think that just because the satff has been there longer that they are more trustworthy then your child. Another thing is that sports are extremely expensive ($89.00) to just try-out. Most teachers are good at their job but the ones that aren't shouldn't be a teacher because they dislike the work and students. If you think this is bad im just scratching the surface of this horrible establishment. if the admin was restaffed it would make this place a lot better. All they stress is that students go to a 4 year university or like ivy league schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2010

I am very unhappy with this school. First, are the many lax teachers. Expect an average of 2-3 weeks or longer for your child's homework or lab or project , or exam grade to post. Second, the sports are so hard to make a team, that unless your child is a top athlete, there will be a lot of bench sitting for the season , and if your child is mediocre in sports, they most likely won't make a team at all. But more important, my child was bullied also, like the other parents mentioned, and the behavior continued after complaints. There was no indication, that the students in question were suspended or disciplined for any of the behavior, yet it still continued & the office was notified. Why wasn't this stopped, and the kid(s) responsible should have been accountable for their bullying. Just talking to the bully isn't discipline, (especially if they repeat their behavior. ). Let me repeat that ... JUST TALKING TO THE BULLY ISN'T DISCIPLINE, and I highly doubt a short detention is going to stop an abusive bully ( bullying is abuse ) THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I cannot give this school a positive recommendation, I have 3 children who have attended this school, one going from 9th-12th, one going 9th-11th and one that has only attended for the 9th grade and I am moving this child out of this school. We have experienced everything from extreme bullying, without the proper guidance from administration. They are very quick to get it off of their plate it seems and do not want to accept any of the blame or responsibility. I have had numerous negative experiences with teachers themselves when it comes to a child with an IEP or special needs. To me and many other whom I have spoke with it seems like the teachers just don t want to deal with anything that is time consuming or any extra work for them that may even require a heart or some compassion with I believe all teachers and caregivers should have. Instead, they once again, just want it off their plate! I feel like they worry more about their stats then they do a child really receiving a good education. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

As a military family, my children have attended schools across the nation and we find this school to be adequate. Nothing terrible to say, but nothing great either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2009

wonderful school, best acadimics, and best sports espicially soccer. teachers care and advanced placement really is a challenge.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2009

The school itself may be amazing, but the fact that the staff only care about those in athletics and or in honors classes, is a very large drawback. While attending this school, I never once was pulled aside for a 'one-on-one'/'teacher to student' talk about my falling grades. One good thing i have to say about this school is that there are special teachers there. Mrs. Neilson, a algebra teacher, always told me i could do sooo much better if i just applied myself. (at a different school the fallowing year I recieved straight A's)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2008

We had two students attend this school and go on to college. As a military family, we had experience in several school systems in Europe and three other states before arriving in Colorado Springs. When we moved here finding a good school was a priority for us. Liberty was one of three finalists for us, and we are glad we choose this school. We would rate the entire experience a 9.9 out of ten. The only negative we observed was a revolving door for the principal, but that seems to have been corrected. We saw good, professional, and dedicated couselors, teachers, and coaches. They offered a challenging curriculum - of course, they have a few fresh air courses, so watch what your kids choose to take. We were part of an active PTO and booster club - so we'd say parent involvement is high. Bottom line? We highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

'How can a school be so woderful?' you ask? It is wonderful because it's Liberty, Home of the Lancers. Yes, it is truely that simple.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2007

All three of my children have attended this school and thrived. I had one child stray from the path and with the schools help and understanding she has totally turned herself around. As a parent you you couldn't ask for a better team to work with. Any school can rate well with a good student but how a school reacts to a student that has strayed, is the most important. My child now has a 3.85 GPA at a very good 4yr college, and will be graduating with honors what more could you ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2006

Liberty has an extremely strong academic program that thoroughly prepares students for the rigors of university courses. LHS is one of the strongest in the district when it comes to Advanced Placement scores, leading students to acquire college credit while still in high school. The administration, faculty, and student body are all very friendly and welcoming of new students. LHS also has a strong athletics program, winning numerous state championships as well as being able to send student athletes to compete in national events. Various other extra-curricular activities are available for students, ranging from the performing arts and the creative arts to Science Olympiad and Knowledge Bowl to foreign language clubs and National Honor Society. At LHS, parents are also able get involved through Parents At Liberty (PALs) or one of the many booster clubs. Overall, Liberty High School would be an excellent choice for any student.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 17, 2006

This school is in the coveted colorado springs district 20. While I found the school overall to be 'ok' having a son with special educational needs I found them to be very lacking in support systems. The counseling staff's over involvement in a divorced parent situation and refusal to follow the law concerning such issues led to my removing my son from the school. There is also a huge lack of attention to those students who don't fit into their defined box.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female57%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracial62%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%

Reading

All Students82%
Female86%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial85%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)43%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students69%
Female78%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial62%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible51%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)30%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female44%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible12%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%

Reading

All Students82%
Female90%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligible47%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Science

All Students64%
Female65%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracial72%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligible24%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Writing

All Students60%
Female71%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracial72%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligible29%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

93%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

94%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 56%
Hispanic 14% 32%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8720 Scarborough Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 234-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rampart High School
Colorado Springs, CO


Pine Creek High School
Colorado Springs, CO


Vista Ridge High School
Colorado Springs, CO



Aspen Valley High School
Colorado Springs, CO


Academy Online High School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT