Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridgeview Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2014

I wish I went to a school like this when I was a kid. After discussing what my daughter's school rating should be with my daughter we decided that this is a five star school. I asked my daughter if she felt safe, like she was being taught, if she was being bullied or witnessing bulling, if there were too many kids, and if she wanted to stay at the school. All of her answers were positive about the school from her eyes and I agree with her for the most part. The district has a schedule that goes year round with only 2 months off during the summer compared to the normal 3 months and it seems like the kids have a lot of time off, but it pretty much equals out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

The school isn't really to blame for all my issues. It is mostly the district. It is like our kids never go to school. Every week there is a 'teacher work day' or 'training' day. It is very inconvenient. It makes me wonder when they actually go to school. The PTA is just drama filled. They constantly hound you because you don't want to join. The amounts of fundraisers sent home is crazy as well. I am sorry but between the first 2 that were done, we have yet to see anything done to the school that the money was raised for. When your kid doesn't do the fundraiser, they still hound you on how 'important' it is and how badly they need money. I am sorry but last I check there is a tax that supports the school, and I am one of the few parents who volunteer and donate many class room items and bring things for their parties and what not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

I don't think Ridgeview does the best job supporting children with learning and attention issues. They could do better. I think the parent really has to advocate and demand services. It's a shame because I think kids can easily fall through the cracks and get unnoticed. It's easier to just ignore the issue especially when it's not severe. I'd like to see more emphasis on reading disabilities so kids aren't getting so far behind in the elementary grades. The responsibility just cannot be put entirely on the parent or pediatrician to know when something is wrong or how to get services. Kids are with the school most of their day and the teachers and school staff are the ones that have to not only recognize the kids struggles, but how to get them help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

I have had people stop in the middle of the drive way blocking anyone from getting in and people ask them to move and the person behind her ask her to move and there is a lot of bad words coming from the lady blocking the drive way and the office don't care this is not good for the kids to see eather there are things going on at this school no one no's about I have seen the super at the school and see people do things and he turns his head and don't care my kid is all most done with this school thank god yea and where is all the school supplies gone my kid has not seen any in 2 years making people buy stuff and the kids don't see it or don't get to use it Principal Leadership is not to good and the food is not very good they have mostly toco's this is not good for all kids and when a Holiday comes they give the kids left overs stuff that was left from the week before and the kids come home sick from some of there food they run right to the bath room in pain from the food I don't no who makes up the menu but need new food or new person.


Posted November 16, 2013

As a parent I have been extremely unsatisfied with the many if the teachers and the leadership at this school. The administration us more concerned with protecting staff and not doing what is right by the students and listening to concerns from parents. Of the few decent teachers my child has had here most of the good teachers have left this school. Most Teachers do not take the time to look at the individual needs of children, and communication between the school and individual teachers and parents is severely lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

I have had one or more of my kids at Ridgeview elementary school for a total of 7 years now. I have volunteered several years and some years I have not. I have found Ridgeview to be a very good school. This last year was the best so far and they are improving every year. My daughters teacher was very helpful with weekly e-mails and updates and what they were doing for the week and things that I could do as a parent to help. This is where parents have the opportunity to step up for their kids and help them out as they progress through the grades. The schools can only be as good as the effort that is put into it buy the students, teachers and parents. My only complaint is not about the school but the amount of information our kids are asked to learn. It is sometimes overwhelming for them but I feel the this is a area where a parent can really step in and help their kids. I think the school does a pretty good job at getting the information to the kids but more and more parent envolvement is required to keep them on track. If you let your kid go through any school and expect them to do everything your child will loose out everytime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

I have a child in this school and almost a year has gone by and I am not impresed. I have seen lack of supervision , lack of redirection, yelling at kids making them cry, detention for 2 to 3 days in a row for very minor offences ( I volunteer there ). The princapal is not a parents friend she is all about protecting her staff and just following policy. The last 3 reviews below are from the schools staff so of course it is biased. Also bought so many school supplies for the students and have yet to see any of it used for them. I am pulling my child out for the 2013-2014 school year and placing somewhere else. The school looks good on the outside but inside is what matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

Ridgeview has excellent teachers who frequently put in lots of extra hours to prepare lessons and experiences for their students based on needs as demonstrated by formative assessments. Ridgeview teachers truly care about their students. Ridgeview has strong leadership, with a principal and assistant principal who are willing to take risks and try new things. Our principal is supportive and innovative. She is great to work with. Ridgeview has challenging academic programs, particularly in writing and math. Also, Ridgeview now has all full day kindergarten, which is good for kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 10, 2012

Ridgeview is a quality learning environment in which the teachers and staff provide excellent academics and extracurricular activites for a well-rounded student. I am thankful that my child was able to attend Ridgeview for second thru fifth grade!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2012

I believe RVES is a great school! Excellent teachers who strive to help students excell, strong leadership from the administrators, and great academic programs. When my children are school-aged, Ridgeview Huskies they will be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2012

I have been very happy as a staff member and a parent at Ridgeview. My child is choiced into Ridgeview. I feel that the curriculum in Kindergarten and First grade have been rigorous and appropriately challenging for my daughter. I also feel that the school as a whole does a great job of meeting the needs of students and teaching the standards. We frequently get students who come to us without the skills the grade level requires, and we work diligently to get each student to grade level. I feel the staff is friendly and communicates effectively. I believe the staff has the best interest of each child at heart, and wishes only the best for each child. Ridgeview is working to increase math ability, written communication, vocabulary and of course reading. I have seen a dramatic increase in the ability to problem solve, understand advanced vocabulary, and write to a higher level in recent years. We are also working to reach students who have interests outside of academic areas. I am proud of what the staff is doing. I am proud of the students and appreciate the community that supports our efforts. Ridgeview is a great place to work, and a great place for children!


Posted September 9, 2012

My son attended RVES for 5th grade only. We were really worried about him fitting in, making friends, and changing curriculum at the end of elementary school. His 5th grade year went really well. Not only did he make great memories, but he also transitioned to the Colorado curriculum with little difficulty. His 5th grade teacher found ways to motivate the kids to learn and to keep them engaged. I never really had a need to speak to the principal concerning a problem, but she always was in attendance at PTA and special functions. I found her to be visible, actively involved, and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

I love working at RVES! The principal is present & works hard. The staff works hard to educate every child, by building meaningful relationships with families & students. My nephew will be starting Pre-K and I look forward to seeing the arts, inquiry, math, & science focus that Ridgeview has.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 27, 2012

I couldn't agree more with the post from July 2nd. My 3rd grader NEVER brought home reading or writing homework. As far as the homework she did bring home, it never had any instructions or examples to help the students. My Kindergartener never brought home any reading or writing homework either. The only reason she knows how to read is because we practice it at home with her everyday. There is also a huge bullying problem there and the staff seems to want to brush everything under the rug. We had to speak to the principal on several occasions and she was not supportive at all. Needless to say we are not returning this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2012

We have been at the school for a year. That's all I need to know that I don't want to come back. Teachers are friendly but academically my children have suffered. My 3rd grader NEVER brought home reading or writing homework and my 1st graders reading skills have actually gotten worse. There is a lack of substitute teachers and students may be shuffled around to classrooms if their teacher is unable to find a sub. The principal does not communicate with the parents at all. The two things this school has going for it are the extra curricular activities for the kids, and the music/ arts program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

My 3 children have attended this school since Kindergarten( beginning in 2006), and while their teachers have been really great ( with the exception of a single teacher who is no longer at the school) the school has gone through many changes. The administartive staff and pricipals were something less to be desired at first, but 2 years ago the school did a teacher and principal overhaul and I couldn't be happier. The school is organized and timely and the front office staff are friendly and effecient and communication is the highest I have ever seen it. My children will attend this school through the 5th grade as long as everything continues the way it has since the changes. My kids are happy and well adjusted and there is no question about how well they are being educated . Every school has it's ups and downs and that will continue as long as funding and overcrowding come in to play. But if you want a school with good teachers, and effective curriculum and an organized and friendly front office staff this is a great choice for a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

I am so unhappy with Ridgview, don't even know where to begin! If your child is average or above, then they don't get any attention and will get ignored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

Verbatim from the D49 official Falcon Flyer received 8/30/2011: "Overcrowding has been a hot topic in District 49. Falcon continues to be one of the fastest growing districts in the state. We currently serve about 14,000 students. This is perhaps the first year that our overall student population has not increased, but that does not change the fact that overcrowding continues to plague our district. Eight schools in District 49 are currently over-capacity. They include Woodmen Hills Elementary, Falcon Middle School,Falcon High School, Evans International Elementary, Springs Ranch Elementary, Odyssey Elementary, Ridgeview Elementary, and Skyview Middle School. Of the remaining schools, not a single one of them is less than 75% full...Teachers struggle when thirty or more students outnumber them..."


Posted April 22, 2011

I have one son in 2nd grade and two sons who went all the way K-5 at RVES. They all had really great teachers. The office staff has always been friendly and helpful. The teachers send a weekly e-mail and communicate very efficiently. Whenever I go to volunteer at the school, there are a lot of parents around helping out. All of my kids really liked this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My experience with the teacher is good, but this school seems especially crowded. I have not had any good experiences with the staff and am not impressed with the principle at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female68%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Reading

All Students76%
Female88%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Writing

All Students60%
Female71%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female78%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Reading

All Students70%
Female71%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Writing

All Students63%
Female71%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female82%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students83%
Female84%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Science

All Students53%
Female48%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Writing

All Students65%
Female77%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 56%
Hispanic 24% 32%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6753 Shimmering Creek Place
Colorado Springs, CO 80922
Phone: (719) 494-8700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Colorado Springs Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Stetson Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Odyssey Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Springs Ranch Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Freedom Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT