Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pioneer Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

This school is horrible!!!! My child attended there for more than three years and without any problems until we kindly asked for help they refused to provide as suggested by his previous teacher. When they did not do what was supposed to be done, they all of a sudden became very difficult to work with. The current teacher and other staff including administrators had been trying to cover up all the problems and mistakes they had made within the school and my child along the way over those three years. The comment about "pocket people" is so true but has to do with the same administration, funny this comment was posted before my child attended this school! Many of the staff members have been nearly overhauled quite a few times within the last 6 years or so because of the above but no one seems to know that either. I am one concerned person that the ratings are improving with this school. So glad my child also no longer attends here because of the above, they don't treat kids or parents with respect at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

We love this school! It is such a great school and our children love going here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

Simply the best bilingual elementary school. From the school principal, teachers and even parents are very involved in the students needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

If the last post about "pocket people" is really from a teacher, why is it they cannot spell the word principal correctly- twice? Good clue. Yes, the principal was voted best of District 20. Congratulations I say. With parents like you, this is a big accomplishment! How do you know 80% of staff and parents are against this principal? Where do you get your info? Teachers have more important things to do than post negative remarks on a website for parents. Move on to the school you feel is best for your student. It will benefit you, your child, and the poor staff members who have had to put up with you on a daily basis. By the way, your child is commonly referred to as "the apple that doesn't fall far from the tree". Why would you want that for your child? Again I'd like to ask the question-where is the page to rate the parents of this school?( Mrs. Brandenburg), the stars would be FEW! Go ahead, move your child to another school. And don t let the door hit you on the way out. If you are a staff member, please consider moving on. You are only hurting yourself and the students you work with by staying in a place you are not happy.


Posted April 20, 2011

The principle has a small handful of "pocket people" who follow her lead no matter how unethical and against the traditional high standards of District #20. It has gotten to the point of electing her as Principle of the Year which is against at least 80% of the opinion of other staff and parents. District #20 needs to investigate the inter workings of this school and it is rapidly going down hill and loosing many excellent teachers and families.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 12, 2010

Pioneer is an award-winning National School of Excellence. The teachers and administrators there are the very best in the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

My son just eneded his 5th grade year at Pioneer. His teaher is truly an amazing man, able to bring an entire class into one working unit, that care about eachother. We have always loved Pioneer and the teachers and support staff are phenomenal! Unfortunately the administration leaves much to be desired. As evidenced by how many of the staff and good teachers are leaving due to conflicts with the prinicipal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

I am very disappointed in this school. The teacher's label the students with folders in what math group the kids are in, to the lowest and the highest. My daughter self confidence is at a low. I have asked for help and I get nothing! I count the days untill she is out of that school. I am a teacher at another school. I believe children our are future and it is up to us to leave behind a legacy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

I think Pioneer Elm is a wonderfjul School. I have 2 children there and they have both reseved extra help and are doing very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

My child has attended this school for 3 years now and we are extremely disappointed. The class sizes are ridiculously large and some of the teachers are so overwhelmed that at times the students become targets when they finally snap. The staff seems more interested in everyone conforming than in the education of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

We love Pioneer Elementary!! It is a fabulous school with teachers who are very committed to seeing the students learn and grow. The PE program is excellent with many opportunities for extracurricular activities. The Music teacher, Mrs. Clark, is phenomenal. We have been very impressed with every teacher we have had. There seems to be a little disconnect between the administration and the staff, but they are working on it. The school provides more diversity than most other D-20 schools. We appreciate that our kids are being exposed to other children that are different than they are. Great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I think Pioneer is a great school..we need to We need to remember that this is a joint effort between School staff, teachers and Parent involvement. I keep in constant contact with my Son's teachers to keep him on track and to focus on area's his teacher feels he may need extra support. That being said my Son's overall performance increased in all areas. I am very pleased with the efforts of everyone at Pioneer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

We've been very disappointed with Pioneer Elementary. If your child is not at least average or above they will be left behind in the learning process. The counselor is of no help in seeking outside help for slow learners and teachers seem to cater only to those that will help raise the school test scores. All in all, probably the worst elementary school in D-20.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2006

I went here from grades 3-5 and I really enjoyed it. Mrs. Hoit, Mrs. Dipner and Mrs. Wallace were very excellent teachers and I miss all of you. If Mr. Renaud has retired nothing will be as calm as it was earlier. When I graduated in May 2005, that last day was one to be remembered as my 5th grade teacher was retiring as were a 4th grade and a 3rd grade teacher. There aren't many extracurricular activities but there are still many things to do as it has an on-site daycare that I do not recommend. The science teacher, Mrs. Reiling, was amazing, as were the TAG reading and math teachers along with Mrs Clark, the music and Honor choir teacher.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 2, 2006

Very disappointed with class set up,it is very informal. It may do better with the new principal that is scheduled to start next year. I believe it is the worst school in district 20,there does not seem to be a push to excell.Parent involvement seems limited to a small group, that doesn,t seem to welcome newcomers.I have voulentered and attended a few meetings but did not feel very welcomed or appreciated.My daughters desire to learn has shown a marked decrease. She will not attend here next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female84%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Reading

All Students77%
Female84%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students58%
Female66%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Reading

All Students72%
Female82%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Writing

All Students55%
Female71%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female71%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Reading

All Students66%
Female64%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Science

All Students52%
Female54%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Writing

All Students55%
Female61%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 56%
Hispanic 25% 32%
Black 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Diane Naghi

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3663 Woodland Hills Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80918
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 234-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Martinez Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Pikes Peak Christian School
Colorado Springs, CO


King Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Frontier Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Cornerstone Baptist Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Scott Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT