Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pioneer Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
Our family loves Pioneer! Not because it is in District 20 but because the administrators and staff members are devoted and care about what is best for kids. I LOVE the reading & writing curriculums they teach. I stand amazed at how well my children are learning the art of revision. They have built such stamina at Pioneer. Their love for reading has grown beyond my greatest hopes. The assemblies are such a fun way for families and the community to honor kiddos and their hard work. After all, it takes a village! We are so grateful for the expertise leading Pioneer! Thank you! Thank you!

Pioneer Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
It's been said that "attitude reflects leadership" I believe the best schools have the best leaders like Pioneer, it is proven in the attitudes of teachers and students.


Pioneer Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
Every month Pioneer works on a character trait and celebrates catching kids in the act of service. It's a great way to promote good citizenship naturally.

Pioneer Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
I have zero trust in the administration and think that they completely lack honesty, integrity and fairness especially relating to disabled children.

Pioneer Elementary School 1

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
I really have nothing good to say about this school! The administration has no business doing this kind of job!


Pioneer Elementary School 1

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
This school is horrible!!!! My child attended there for more than three years and without any problems until we kindly asked for help they refused to provide as suggested by his previous teacher. When they did not do what was supposed to be done, they all of a sudden became very difficult to work with. The current teacher and other staff including administrators had been trying to cover up all the problems and mistakes they had made within the school and my child along the way over those three years. The comment about "pocket people" is so true but has to do with the same administration, funny this comment was posted before my child attended this school! Many of the staff members have been nearly overhauled quite a few times within the last 6 years or so because of the above but no one seems to know that either. I am one concerned person that the ratings are improving with this school. So glad my child also no longer attends here because of the above, they don't treat kids or parents with respect at all.

Pioneer Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
We love this school! It is such a great school and our children love going here!

Pioneer Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2011
- a parent
Simply the best bilingual elementary school. From the school principal, teachers and even parents are very involved in the students needs.


Pioneer Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2011
- a community member
If the last post about "pocket people" is really from a teacher, why is it they cannot spell the word principal correctly- twice? Good clue. Yes, the principal was voted best of District 20. Congratulations I say. With parents like you, this is a big accomplishment! How do you know 80% of staff and parents are against this principal? Where do you get your info? Teachers have more important things to do than post negative remarks on a website for parents. Move on to the school you feel is best for your student. It will benefit you, your child, and the poor staff members who have had to put up with you on a daily basis. By the way, your child is commonly referred to as "the apple that doesn't fall far from the tree". Why would you want that for your child? Again I'd like to ask the question-where is the page to rate the parents of this school?( Mrs. Brandenburg), the stars would be FEW! Go ahead, move your child to another school. And don t let the door hit you on the way out. If you are a staff member, please consider moving on. You are only hurting yourself and the students you work with by staying in a place you are not happy.

Pioneer Elementary School 1

Posted April 20, 2011
- a teacher
The principle has a small handful of "pocket people" who follow her lead no matter how unethical and against the traditional high standards of District #20. It has gotten to the point of electing her as Principle of the Year which is against at least 80% of the opinion of other staff and parents. District #20 needs to investigate the inter workings of this school and it is rapidly going down hill and loosing many excellent teachers and families.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pioneer Elementary School
3663 Woodland Hills Drive, Colorado Springs, CO  80918
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (719) 234-5000
Last modified Pioneer Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top