Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Irwin Charter Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
The teachers here at JICMS care for their students and their education. They truely want the best for them and their future. Teachers are always willing to help during and after school. Sometimes it comes down to the students willingness to achieve excellence from themselves.

James Irwin Charter Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
I appreciate having homework for my student. It helps me to connect with what they do at school. The amount varies from day to day but is always understood by my kids without much help from me.


James Irwin Charter Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
This school does an excellent job at teaching the students there are others in the world and our community that are in need of a helping hand. The fundraisers to help the homeless or pennies for patients are all eye openers to students. They are making a difference in this world.

James Irwin Charter Middle School 5

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
My children and I love James Irwin. I am very pleased with the level of education they are receiving. They are challenged in all their subjects and homework is of high importance but not overwhelming. Never have they came home with something they did not understand. Their dress code they follow is modest and respectful for all students and teachers. Communication between the students, teachers, and parents is always welcome. I am made aware of tests and assignments my student has before hand which is a helpful tool I can use to remind them that their studies are important to me as their parent. JICMS is a school of choice and if you want the best for your child this is a excellent choice.

James Irwin Charter Middle School 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
We love the school!! Yes, it's a great challenging school and has homework. What Charter School doesn't? Parents are told was is expected of their child at the beginning of the school year. James Irwin is a Charter School. Parents who have their children here have placed them here voluntarily and can remove them if they are not happy! The teachers and administration are always available if we have any concerns. The receptionist always has a smile on her face when you enter the office and is eager to help. We plan to keep our child here till she graduates High School.


James Irwin Charter Middle School 1

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
This school is SO negative. The "character emphasis" is NOT done in a positive way. There is NO personal encouragement done in this school and the turnover rate of the staff is ALARMING. The only good thing they had at this school was the band teacher - and even he left. Oh, and if bullying occurs - they will deny it and try to blame the victim. The car line is a DISASTER and three of the last four secretaries have been SO RUDE to the kids and they talk to them in a way that our kids would get in trouble for if they used that body language. My child also told me that the gym teacher was angry at a student last year and that the teacher started yelling and slamming his fist on the wall? Great way to role model! JICMS has way more negatives than they will ever have positives but unfortunately - it's our only choice so we will have to brave through it but now I understand why there are so many kids that don't return in the 7th grade.

James Irwin Charter Middle School 3

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
I have been sending my 3 children to James Irwin for years now. Am I happy? Not really because of tooo much homework they have to turn in even in summer. The carline is ALWAYS a challenge for a busy working mom like me. As for character that the school is focused on, I am satisfied. My children are respectful as they have been, and they are more disciplined now more than ever. I give it a 3 because of the facility and staff... huge turn around of students and some good teachers have left . They need to repair the restrooms- they are old and disgusting. School needs to fund school buses. Over all this is not a bad school at all. Good but not great.

James Irwin Charter Middle School 3

Posted August 10, 2014
- a parent
Honestly, all three levels of the JICS system are struggling and they are compromising their standards of excellence. I see the students pushing the limits of wannabe thugs, gangstas and basically girls gone wild but no serious consequences. I heard the excuses of "But we're in District 2...we deal with poor families" and "A lot of our parents can't even speak English", which has translated into " we can't expect much from these kids" in recent years. I believe the schools are afraid to take hard lines on behavior, cliques, and bullying. The only reason we're staying at JICS is the middle school administration. I have faith in Mrs. Varnum - I DO NOT know her personally but I feel she knows what is exactly going on and what needs to happen. Now, will she be allowed to lead and make changes? We'll see.


James Irwin Charter Middle School 3

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
I agree with the last parent review. Teachers hand out weekend homework (even homework over the SUMMER!!) and the bathrooms near the Jags Cafe are awfully disgusting. I would say this school is okay and it's not the best or worst. It definately does have its pros though, like the Leadership program for 7th and 8th graders and the Character classes for the 6th graders. The dress code is pretty strict, but I do understand that it is to ensure that students are wearing James Irwin appropriate uniform or attire. Other than that, i give this school a 3-star rating.

James Irwin Charter Middle School 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
Our family has been very happy with JIMS. Our daughter was not being challenged in public school. Our primary reason to move her to Irwin was the rigorous curriculum. We also like the emphasis on character. We are very happy with her caring, committed teachers, who make themselves available to discuss any questions or issues we may have. The expectations for behavior, academics, uniforms, etc are clearly communicated. In my experience, everyone is held to the same standard and treated with respect. This school does have a strict code of behavior and high expectations for every student. It also gives them the tools to excel. Do your research to determine if this school is a good match for your family. Read the student manual, visit the school, and ask questions. I have found the administration to be very approachable, helpful, and working for continuous improvement.

Nearby schools

James Irwin Charter Middle School
5525 Astrozon Boulevard, Colorado Springs, CO  80916
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (719) 591-2122
Last modified James Irwin Charter Middle School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top