Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (7 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 114 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Colorado Springs Charter Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Our school principle, Mr. Murphy, is 100% dedicated to the students and parents of CSCA. His position is not an easy one. He is a strong leader who has moved CSCA forward over the years. He leads by example and makes every child feel noticed and important. Thank you so much for all that you do!

Colorado Springs Charter Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Good character values are consistently taught in the classrooms and within the school as a whole. They are further promoted through various awards and recognition.


Colorado Springs Charter Academy 5

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
CSCA is a smaller school, with a strong emphasis on academics and character values. The staff are kind and very dedicated to the kids. Parents are encouraged to be involved, and it is easy to build relationships with the teachers, principle, and other staff at the school. Even though CSCA is a smaller school, it is very proactive about maintaining and upgrading its facilities. In the three years time that my family has been at CSCA, they have renovated their library, opened a very spacious computer lab, put in a new gym floor, and are currently working on a new playground. The staff and parents of CSCA take pride in the school, and that trickles down to the students. I have been very grateful to have found a school that I feel so comfortable sending my child to.

Colorado Springs Charter Academy 5

Posted February 11, 2016
- a community member
The immense academic structure fortified with an extremely caring principle and faculty has led my children to embark on a stimulating, eye opening experience. The campus is well groomed, there appear to be extensive teacher involvement outside of class and a high regard for parental support. I would recommend CSCA to any parent contemplating the start of school or a switch.

Colorado Springs Charter Academy 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
This has been a Great school for our family. We currently have one child that attends and are excited about our other to join in next year. The school staff has a great desire to build a school that is a great place for kids. The school cares about families, and I think its great that they make such an effort to involve the families with the school. It provides an even and healthy balance of learning both at home and school.


Colorado Springs Charter Academy 5

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
All of the staff at this school has gone way above in every way possible to provide a caring and positive environment for childhood development. I always recommend this school to anyone looking to put their child in the right direction for education.

Colorado Springs Charter Academy 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful school! We've been at the school for 3 years now and had nothing but positive experiences. I absolutely love the volunteer requirements because it cultivates a great learning environment and community for the entire school. As a parent I want what's best for my child, and that includes me being involved in their school! There are so many ways I am able to do this and truly make a difference. The head of school is fantastic and my daughter has had a great experience with every one of her teachers. In addition to great community, the school has second to none academics. I'm quite often shocked and impressed by what the kids are learning. And if community and academics weren't enough, the school very strongly focuses on developing admirable character traits. Kids learn about respect, self-control, responsibility and so much more on a weekly basis! We did our homework before we chose a school for our kids - and it had certainly paid off here!

Colorado Springs Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
The school's guidelines for homework is 10 minutes per grade level (ex. 2nd grader 20 min, 3rd grader 30 min.) - as my daughter has been working her way up through grade levels the homework has increased, but still seems very much appropriate and within the guidelines!


Colorado Springs Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
Not all the teachers, but a few are absolutely horrible. Not teaching lessons, telling kids they only teach once and if they don't pick it up not their problem.

Colorado Springs Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
My children have homework nightly. 1-2 hours every night even Fridays. This school pushes so much work because teachers aren't doing their job.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Colorado Springs Charter Academy
2577 North Chelton Rd, Colorado Springs, CO  80909
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 114 reviews. (719) 636-2722
Last modified Colorado Springs Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top