Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 105 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Colorado Springs Charter Academy 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
This has been a Great school for our family. We currently have one child that attends and are excited about our other to join in next year. The school staff has a great desire to build a school that is a great place for kids. The school cares about families, and I think its great that they make such an effort to involve the families with the school. It provides an even and healthy balance of learning both at home and school.

Colorado Springs Charter Academy 5

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
All of the staff at this school has gone way above in every way possible to provide a caring and positive environment for childhood development. I always recommend this school to anyone looking to put their child in the right direction for education.


Colorado Springs Charter Academy 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful school! We've been at the school for 3 years now and had nothing but positive experiences. I absolutely love the volunteer requirements because it cultivates a great learning environment and community for the entire school. As a parent I want what's best for my child, and that includes me being involved in their school! There are so many ways I am able to do this and truly make a difference. The head of school is fantastic and my daughter has had a great experience with every one of her teachers. In addition to great community, the school has second to none academics. I'm quite often shocked and impressed by what the kids are learning. And if community and academics weren't enough, the school very strongly focuses on developing admirable character traits. Kids learn about respect, self-control, responsibility and so much more on a weekly basis! We did our homework before we chose a school for our kids - and it had certainly paid off here!

Colorado Springs Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
The school's guidelines for homework is 10 minutes per grade level (ex. 2nd grader 20 min, 3rd grader 30 min.) - as my daughter has been working her way up through grade levels the homework has increased, but still seems very much appropriate and within the guidelines!

Colorado Springs Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
Not all the teachers, but a few are absolutely horrible. Not teaching lessons, telling kids they only teach once and if they don't pick it up not their problem.


Colorado Springs Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
My children have homework nightly. 1-2 hours every night even Fridays. This school pushes so much work because teachers aren't doing their job.

Colorado Springs Charter Academy 5

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Outstanding team of professionals from the bottom to the top. Academic excellence is expected and taught with a compassionate tone. Very safe school with great follow up on discipline issues.

Colorado Springs Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Hours of school work are given 5 days a week. It is hard to watch your child at school for 8 hours , then home doing homework for another 2.


Colorado Springs Charter Academy 1

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
There are good teachers and not so good teachers here. Unfortunately one of my kids has a horrible teacher that bullies and could care less about actually teaching. I've brought this up with the principal and so has several other parents. The principal has done nothing to my knowledge to fix anything. We've done like so many and left. The school has a great curriculum, but no leadership. The principal should be focusing on the kids and what is good for them, not on covering up horrible teachers and covering his but!

Colorado Springs Charter Academy 5

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
My youngest child is now in her last year at CSCA, having attended since kindergarten. In those nine years she has become a scholar, a performer, an ambassador, and a citizen-in-training. The school's attention to every student, demanding curriculum, and caring staff are why. I see leadership truly committed to student excellence while still being compassionate. And I see a culture of appreciation for achievement, something we miss too often in traditional neighborhood schools--all in a stately and inspiring campus. The future for Colorado Springs Charter Academy looks as bright as any, and it's a school I go out of my way to tell new parents about.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Colorado Springs Charter Academy
2577 North Chelton Rd, Colorado Springs, CO  80909
(719) 636-2722
Last modified Colorado Springs Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Colorado Springs Charter Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 105 reviews. Top