Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Discovery Canyon Campus School

Public | PK-12 | 2296 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2014

This is a great school. It is such a pleasure to have your kids come home from school with a smile and be excited about what they are learning and the friends they have made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

If you love your children, do not send them here.I was bullied all throughout middle school, but the worst time was when I was on the bus one afternoon, and I got beat up by this girl I didn't even know. I was hurt pretty badly. I came home with a broken nose, and bruises and scrapes everywhere on my body. I told my mom what happened and she reported it to the school. The school checked the bus tapes and sure enough, it was clear as day. However, they told me that there was "not enough evidence" to do anything about it. I was told that the only way they could do something about it is if I asked people I knew that had also been bullied by this girl to report it. Sure enough 10-15 people then made true reports. The following week I was told to "drop it" because apparently someone had pushed the girl and they immediately linked it to me because I seemingly had a "grudge" against her. I continued to get bullied the rest of my time at dcc but I never reported it because they simply don't care. A year later the police called the school because I had attempted suicide because of repetitive bullying. They said they had no idea it was happening, and even after that they did nothing.


Posted May 16, 2013

I've gone to three high schools. Trust me, this is by far the best of the three. The social divisions among students is much less severe than the other high school I have been to and since there is very heavy military presence, it is fairly easy to make new friends. You can always find something to complain about, but it is better to look at the school as a whole. DCC is a beautiful school, which, for the most part, has excellent and caring teachers. The teachers and administration are much more relaxed compared to my others schools, which can be annoying when you add in less mature students, but if you are serious about your education, I see this as a good thing. If you really want to succeed and work hard, you will. The AP courses provided are pretty good, and I felt prepared for the tests. I just wish they would add more AP courses such as AP Physics and an official AP Chemistry course. I'm proud to have graduated from this school. Oh, and to the person who said the parking lot was like a maze... What?


Posted May 9, 2013

I have two children in the elementary school. One finishing 1st, the other 4th grade. In the beginning of the year, I was not very impressed. My son was put in a classroom where they had just moved a 5th grade teacher down to 1st grade and she was a huge disappointment. The young lady (only 2nd year teaching) realized this though and resigned about a month into school. They hired a super young lady, just out of college and I thought we were IN FOR IT!! Fortunately, this gal had her act together and made the very best out of a pretty bad situation. I think the administration could have helped the new gal out quite a bit more to get the class organized, so it took until around Thanksgiving before the class was truly in order and kids were on track. After all that though, it has been clear sailing! The new first grade teacher does her very best to differentiate in class and is very open to parent involvement. My daughter's 4th grade teacher has had it dialed in since the beginning. She is phenomenal when it comes to writing and language arts. DCC also has a "talented and gifted" program for kids that are above grade level, allowing kids to reach their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

High school principal dresses too casual. Lead by example to the students. He lacks leadership over his teachers and counselors. The good ones are good, but they are few and far between. When you point out how unprofessional teachers react, the principal disregards. Eventually, when several of us parents tell the principal something, ignoring it is not leadership it is lazy. Find your professional attire and professional leadership. The school is going downhill under Bailey's lack of leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

The principal is not a leader at the school. I find most teachers to be lazy and unresponsive to parents questions. Some teachers know less about what is going on in the school than parents. Some teachers don't teach and the kids have to teach themselves. Many poor quality teachers and I don't understand how they keep their jobs year after year. Overall, it is a disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

I love the "campus" design of this school!!! What a huge convenience, especially for someone with children in different grade levels (elementary through high school). This is a brand-new, beautiful school w/ all the best amenities. As far as academics go, there is a strong emphasis on IB curriculum - which is great for college-bound kids! The school is also in a wonderful and safe (extremely low-crime) area... You really can't go wrong if you send your kids to DCC!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

My children all attend DCC,1 HS, 1MS, and 2 ES. What a wonderful thing that they are all on one campus! We have been at this school for 5 years now and being a military family who has moved around, we have had experience with lots of schools, DCC is by far the best we have encountered. I was shocked to read some of the negative reviews, but realized some people just like to complain. Administrators at each level have been responsive to all of my requests, and have always been able to work something out to make sure my children get what they need. They are definitely child centered and do their best to make sure every kid is taken care of. Is it perfect, no, but what school is? Being a newer school, DCC has had to work through some changes and growing pains, but has come out better in the end. Having seen how hard the teachers work behind the scenes and the hours they spend outside the school day, I guarantee you will not find a more dedicated group of teachers, anywhere! I would not hesitate to recommend DCC to my family and friends(and have). I would choose DCC again in a heartbeat for my children! You will find a caring community, great teachers, and a fantastic facility!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

I have daughters at both DCC middle and high school and we are very happy with both. The actual school is beautiful with equipment that rivals many colleges. The teachers have all been responsive when contacted and the counselours we've dealt with regarding our special needs children were great - so much more concerned and responsive than those we dealt with in Distruct 49! Teacher monitored after school help is available every day, there are TONS of after school clubs and activities and community service hours are required for every student. There has the usual teenage drama but none of the bullying my girls saw in District 49 and the administration here is much more visible and approachable than at previous schools. The curriculum here is much more demanding than at other schools the girls have attended but students have the support system to succeed and teachers and administrators who are invested in their success. I'm really shocked at some of the reviews here, which totally contradict the experience we've had here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2012

This is THE worst school in the district. The teachers are just as catty and insensitive as the high school students. And the administration? Don't even get me started. My daughter went here for both middle school and high school. She hated it from the beginning, but to go to any other school was too inconvenient logistically. So we tried our best to work out the problems. Unfortunately, nothing was ever resolved. She was bullied and harassed by a group of students throughout the years and nothing was ever done about it. Also, because District 20 has this ridiculous hiring policy, all of the teachers are new and inexperienced. My daughter didn't learn a thing until she left! Plus, anytime she struggled with her work, no matter how hard she tried, it was always our fault. Working parents can do their best to help with homework, but ultimately, it comes down to the teachers. And these ones don't have a clue what they're doing! I was shocked at how rude and utterly disrespectful they have been to our entire family. I hate this school so much that I'd be willing to picket in front of it, telling everyone how terrible it really is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

I was a student at DCC from sixth to eleventh grade. It was a terrible experience. Starting in my first year, I was teased horribly and all I was told to do was "walk away." No one ever took any action, despite the fact that we had "Bully Proofing Training" once a month. Most of the teachers I had in both middle school simply just didn't care. Despite the fact that I was obviously struggling, they continued to let me slip through the cracks. Then, in high school, I was faced with a whole new set of problems from not only the cruel students, but also the administration and staff. The lack of professionalism was tremendous. During my freshmen year, my English teacher made several remarks about my religion. Her and the entire class decided to gang up on me one day and harass me about my personal beliefs. I'd also heard several teachers make rude remarks about other students' appearances and intellect when they weren't around. They acted like they were the ones in high school. When I told the school, no one did anything. This school is filled with close-minded, insensitive and discriminatory people. I'm very glad that I finally left and I would never recommend it to anyone!


Posted January 27, 2012

My daughter attended kindergarten in this school for 6 months and it was a disappointment. The teacher and administration were unable to provide the challenge my daughter needed. In addition, there was bullying in the class. I personally had to stop a fight in the playground since the teacher did not act on it. When we decided to leave the school the teacher and administration did not even ask or care to get feedback on what was wrong. One day I picked up my child from school and her nose was swollen. She had a bloody nose at school after hitting the table and no one had the courtesy to call me. Between the lack of leadership in preventing bullying, the less than challenging curriculum I would not recommend this school. We made a decision to change schools mid year which was not a light decision but in three weeks I have a different kid who loves school and is challenged. She is being pulled out for enrichment 3 times a week, she is getting extra reading homework and her math book even covers fractions in kindergarten. I placed her in AIES and would highly recommend the school. We have restored the love for learning in our household.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

We couldn't be happier and more impressed with DCC. We've had a kid at this school for four years of elementary. We have always felt welcome, the administrators are always quick to respond to issues and the majority teachers are top notch. The positives far outway the few negatives. To address some of the complaints: parking lots by definition are a hassle. Spend a little time in any of the other school parking lots. And really, is that your biggest concern? As for atheletics, the HS is new. They haven't had years to develop a strong atheletic program. If that's your biggest reason for sending your kids to school, maybe another school might be better for you. As for the IB issues, it's an IB school, so of course they'll be teaching to that cirriculum. My main goal for my children is for their continued academic success. I believe that can be accomplished with the IB program at DCC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

DCC is a fantastic, top notch school. The focus on IB profiles is great for rounding out their education. But I can honestly say the other areas of learning have certainly not suffered. My kids have excelled and I believe they are learning more than their average peer at a different school. The elementary staff is great - they are kind, accomodating, knowledgeable, and organized. I will definitely miss this school when we move!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

Love it! I am an out-of-district parent and choice my children into DCC because it far exceeds anything they could get in my school district. Yes, IB is emphasized; however, AP and technology are also available. My daughters have different learning styles and both have excelled at DCC. Both daughters are also involved in sports. Before one daughter received her license, I was driving back-and-forth four times a day since one daughter was in high school and another in middle school, which had different starting times. I have no regrets! I'd do again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

So I am reading posts about the school, and would like to clear up a few things. #1. DCC is an IB school, and they should be focused on the IB program, otherwise why be IB. I taught for UCCS for 8 years, and I could spot the IB kids immediately, as they were better prepared than their peers. If you aren't interested in IB, please go to a different school that would fit your needs. #2. Security Guards. All D20 high schools have security staff on site, voters approved that staffing a few years back. #3. Athletics. No school will be great at all things, but the High School has exceeded my expectations in terms of performance, and the MS had been improving each year. #4. Academics. As the school has grown every year until this year by adding grades, they have done a great job of making things work through multiple years of change. #5. Involvement. I have been involved as a parent every year since we started, and found doors to be open from admin and teachers. #6. Students. My kids all enjoy the school, and i have a child at all three levels right now. #7. Academics. Again, three kids, all levels, all different learners, and all doing great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

I would say as a fairly new school, it's doing okay, but there are some areas that need to be fixed in order to improve the quality of the school. This school claims to be a "Math and Science" emphasized school, however, there are not enough math text books that are provided by the school's funds. Ironically, there are more English text books on the shelves of the English classrooms compared to the math text books in the math classrooms. The administrators are a bit over-scrutinizing the behaviors of the students and often give them punishment that is above the level of their committed act. They also tend to over exaggerate these stories, causing parents to be worried about their kid[s]. Furthermore, there are armed security guards that the school wasted its funds on because of the fear of potential felonies by the students, while the funds could've been used for a better use like on the math textbooks as mentioned above. In retrospect, there has not been a single drug deal nor fight etc. that existed on this campus, which proves that the security guards are not a need. I do however like the history of no drug deals nor other despicable acts on this campus.


Posted December 26, 2010

To the people who complain that the school focuses on IB too much: It's a pre-K through 12 *IB* school. IB, as in: International Baccalaureate. DCC is one of only a few in the US. The staff, parents, and administration worked hard to get the designation, and to maintain it requires that . . . they actually teach it. Oops. So sorry. IB may not be for everyone, so why not choice in to a place that doesn't emphasize it. DCC is a choice school, after all. It is a new-ish school, so the sports program is still growing -- it seems pretty funny to me that people are so quick to criticize, and yet don't look at everything this school does really, really well -- better than most in the U.S. in fact, if you look up its national standings. Get a grip. Just because a school has high academic expectations, and is unapologetic about those expectations, does not make it a bad school. Just as the students are expected to perform, so are the teachers. The staff here is excellent, highly qualified, and take their continuing education very seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2010

I am a current student at dcc, im in hight school and have been there since 6th grade. The school is not a school i would send my children to. Every year i beg my parents to let me go somewhere else. I feel they foucus way to much on IB. The athletics there are horrible. During our volleyball seaon, we couldnt get bus rides home from out of district schools, putting the parents in a dificult situation. Where as some teams get transportation there and back. If dcc didnt focus so much on giving us usless murals, sun dials, and pengelums we could possibly have a semi-decent school. if you have walked around dcc youll notice, dull colors making the school look more like a prison than anything else, and usless objects, the pengelum in the lower library cost 5,000 dollars. we could have used the money to create a better athletic program or to get a better parking lot. the parking lot is horrible, if youve been there its more like a maze. overall, dont send your kids there eventually their going to ask you to leave.


Posted July 9, 2010

Administrators run their own little fifedom at DCC. Complain and you will be marginalized. Athletic programs are hit and miss. Great athletic facilities, pathetic athletic administration. Administration knows that they know better than the parents and patronize them. Too much concentration on IB. Students complain the inside looks like a prison, no color or decor. Teacher morale seems low.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female96%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant93%

Reading

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Writing

All Students73%
Female76%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female97%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Reading

All Students88%
Female100%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students72%
Female90%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female90%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students87%
Female92%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Science

All Students75%
Female77%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students75%
Female90%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female79%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)37%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)42%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Writing

All Students78%
Female80%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)32%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female68%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Reading

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Writing

All Students75%
Female81%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female66%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracial43%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)38%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%

Reading

All Students88%
Female96%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracial76%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)56%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Science

All Students77%
Female79%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)44%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students78%
Female85%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracial76%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)44%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female50%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligible13%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Reading

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students75%
Female78%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female42%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracial56%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Reading

All Students89%
Female94%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Science

All Students79%
Female78%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial69%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Writing

All Students72%
Female79%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

100%

Average ACT score

23

Graduation rate

92%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 56%
Hispanic 10% 32%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1810 Northgate Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80921
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 234-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Classical Academy Charter
Colorado Springs, CO


The Da Vinci Academy School
Colorado Springs, CO



Tca College Pathways
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT