Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Banning Lewis Ranch Academy

Charter | K-8 | 496 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted February 12, 2009

BLRA 2008 Fall Parent Survey Results Total Score 9.11 Overall child s experience 9.12 Principal / CAO - Satisfaction 9.21 Teacher - Satisfaction 9.38 Overall discipline practices 9.24 Overall communication for student progress 8.89 Likelihood to recommend school to others 8.84 Ratings are based on a scale from 1 to 10, where 1 means Strongly Disagree , and 10 means Strongly Agree.

68 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2009

We have been in the school since Day 1. Was very upset to think at first that we were not going to make it in, due to the long waiting list. But, was so glad when we receieved the call that we had made it in & to a free, Full day Kindergarten program which has the 3 most professional & caring teachers & aides! Though, it was a brand new school, I was very impressed right off the bat! And, from then, it has only continued to get better & better. From an even better principal to all the sports, clubs & other extras the school has to offer now! The curriculum is terrific, love that my children will be aware of the world around them & that they get to perform & participate in front of their peers & family, what fun! My children love attending school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

This is our second year at Banning and I have to say it is an amazing school. We attended the Stallion Round up, it was very well organized. It was nice to be able to see the school and meet my sons new teacher. My only thing we are unhappy about is the way the resell was handled and the constant asking of money from the PTO. Last year they did things for free and included all families. The teachers are wonderful, the sports programs are in their second year and there are alot of clubs. Overall the school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

I love Banning Lewis Ranch Academy. I have learned so much and have learned more than my friends that attend public school. After reading the other review I have to agree that it is sad to see the prior pto board leave. They did so much for our school. Everywhere you look you can see where they touched the school in a positive way. I really enjoyed seeing them in the school. The president was always friendly and willing to listen to our thoughts and ideas. I keep hearing the word the next level by the new board, there isn't a next level unless it is down. I will miss seeing them this fall.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2009

I have been very happy with BLRA, the teachers and staff. I was always supportive of the PTO and other fundraisers the school held. I do have concerns about next years leaders in the PTO. The last board was very supportive of the teachers, staff and families. Their opions really mattered. Now there are issures of control. I do think BLRA is a great school it is just sad to see such strong, caring, easy to approach leaders not on the board anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

I was very unhappy and displeased with BLRA, its lack of leadership within the staff, lack of understanding of child development and individuality of the child, and huge staff turnover rate. I placed my child back in private school and experience a complete turn around in self esteem, behavior, and learning. I would not recommend BLRA for anyone until they get leadership that know what they are doing. Right now, I can't say that they got it together despite the rating you see above.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

I was very unhappy with this school when my son attended. I would NOT recommend this school to anyone! I was very involved in the school, PTA, and went to several board meetings. Being so active in the school I saw many things that appalled me. And I have been and always will be very active in my childs school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

Excellent School, Administration, Facility, Faculty and Parents. Needs more District funding support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

Great school, awesome teachers and great leadership from the top down! I'm guessing that the parents that complain about the school are not attending PTO or board meeting to address their issues. Please be active in your childrens school and attend these meetings and be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

I have qickly fallen in love with this school. My two children are completing their first year at the school and have received excellent education and have had a tremendous experience. I can't say enough about the outstanding leadership of the principal and administration of the school. Absolutely amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

My children have attended this school since it's opening. My experience is that the teachers do not treat the children respectfully. My kids are either not challenged enough or hate school because of the teachers or bullying from other kids. The few that are awesome are too little. I will be looking at another school for next year since I keep hoping forthe best. We are impressed with the all day kindergarten curriculum with Mrs. Vinchattle. One of our children is inthe gifted and talented and it consists of no real challenge except setting goals. There is no real GATE curriculum. Paragon is 90 minutes which is more than any other subject which I believe is backwards and more focus should be on math and language arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

Both my children are attending Banning Lewis Ranch Academy (one in Kindergarten and one in 4th grade). To help put things in perspective, both my children used to attend public school in D49 and both suffered setbacks because of bulleying and other safety issues that were not addressed and my oldest, who went through public school while in Kindergarten, could not write, read, or otherwise comprehend math. Since enrolling both my children at BLRA, my Kindergartner, who is in his final semester, can read Dr. Seuss books by himself, composes sentences with accurate punctuation, and has a fundamental understanding of math. My 4th grader has accelled into the Gifted & Talented program, attends extra-curricular class at the University of Colorado and has just been accepted to the National Honor Society. I can't say enough great things about this school, its faculty & leadership!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

LOVE IT! My kids have been here for 3 years and have truly bloomed at this school. The world culture curriculum is fantastic and helps our kids get a global view of our world. The staff and administration are out of this world. High recommend!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

I went to BLRA for all three years it has been open and i absolutly loved it! it was the best school i have been in! i just had to move to new mexico and it was pretty much heart breaking to have to leave.... I was in the 8th grade when i left... The teachers were the best! Mr. Dahlman, Mr. Vinchattle, Mr.Mavel, Mrs. Conder, Mr.Bonner, Mr.Dinnil, and Mr.Parker for the best 3 years of school ever! i will Never forget it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2009

My child has been in two other schools before attending Banning Lewis and I never realized what a big difference a great school and staff can make. Since we have come to Banning Lewis we were welcomed in and felt at home. The coursework challenges my child to think at a high level and he often challenges me with his advanced thinking from concepts learned at Banning Lewis. The extra-curricular activities at BLRA are expansive and my son loves the opportunities here, at BLRA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

This school really cares about my childs education. When my sons teacher had a concern about my son struggling in a topic in math she gave me a review packet to help him and made me aware of tutoring she was going to offer (free). I continue to see this type of behavior from other teachers, the principal, Mr Dinnel, Dean, Mr Parker and other staff members. Thank you BLRA!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

Wow, I have never seen a Charter school that offers so many programs to their students and families. They have sports programs, clubs (ski, guitar, chess, enviromental, art, spanish, band, choir, spelling bee, yearbook, student council, etc.) Plus they have a gifted and talented program, Jr. Honory Society, and a great education is offered to every student. BLRA has their own School Board, Sports Booster club and Parent Teacher Org.(PTO). I am very happy with BLRA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

This school requires a commitment from parents to participate in their child's education. This includes everything from homework being completed to school uniform is being worn. The parents that have involved themselves in this school have gone above and beyond in helping this school provide extras for the students and staff. I would recommend this school to any parent who wants their child to excel and is willing to be involved. If you are looking for 8hours of babysitting then look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

My son had a horrible experience at BLRA. He was not taught to his ability and became bored and acted up. Discipline was not appropriate and he started to believe that he was bad. I pulled him out mid semester and he is now very happy at his new school and has shown an immediate improvement in behavior. I regret not removing him sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2009

BLRA's Paragon curriculum is a unique experience for your child to expand his/her knowledge far beyond what traditional core schools can offer. My 3 children have learned alot in a short time here at BLRA and when meeting with their friends from other schools the difference is obvious. As with any school, the more your student applies him/herself the more they will learn what a richly diverse and eductaionally deep this school is. My children and I love it! The teachers and staff know their material and how to teach the students in a challenging environment here. We're here to stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

Do your homework before enrolling your child in this school. The staff, from the teachers to the principal leadership are more concerned about state testing than the education provided to the children, as an attempt to raise their reputation, being a fairly new school. They still have a long way to go. If your child does not meet their curriculum, he/she will have a hard time at this school because teachers are more concern about the curriculum that the children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female83%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students77%
Female81%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students50%
Female66%
Male36%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female83%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Writing

All Students59%
Female52%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female74%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students82%
Female86%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Science

All Students67%
Female60%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Writing

All Students67%
Female68%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Reading

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Writing

All Students80%
Female86%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female63%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Reading

All Students82%
Female85%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students69%
Female80%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female70%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Reading

All Students69%
Female87%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Science

All Students69%
Female83%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Writing

All Students65%
Female91%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 56%
Hispanic 14% 32%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A41%
Male 53%N/A51%
Female 47%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • District 49 School of Distinction (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Eric Dinnel
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Ski/Snowboard
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Ski/Snowboard
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
surrounding areas and districts

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
district 49 high schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7094 Cottonwood Tree Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80927
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 570-0075

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ridgeview Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Colorado Springs Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Stetson Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Freedom Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Ranch Creek Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT