Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Odyssey Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Love everything about this school staff is amazing and the parent interaction and community support is also amazing honored to be a part of the school

Odyssey Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Ms Cornell , Ms Willes, Ms A we love you all and not to mention all the other amazing teachers at the school but these three have a special place in my heart


Odyssey Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
I have kids going to the school and have been for four years now and I absolutely love the school the staff and the parent involvement is absolutely amazing so happy and blessed to be a part of this school

Odyssey Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
Odyssey Elementary is a fantastic school all around. From the STEM focus to the high rate of teacher retention and student growth data, OES clearly has a school culture of learning, acceptance and collaboration. Located in the Power Zone of D49, students are engaged with technology within the classroom that helps develop the skills needed to prepare them for middle school, high school and beyond. Mrs. Weyer is a fantastic principal who supports her teachers and community with hearing their voice and including them in the continuous culture of school improvement. As a former staff at OES (4 years ago) and a current parent, I'm able to see both sides of this school and the systems and culture. There is never a perfect school, teacher or experience, but I can tell you that the STEM and technology focus along with the quality of teachers who genuinely care and love what they do, make all the difference for my daughter.

Odyssey Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2014
- a parent
We moved to district 49 from HSD2, and I have to say that it is a refreshing change. The staff are all very happy in the morning and eager to welcome the children and parents to a new day with a contagious positive energy. I love that the children line up inside the school, making me feel comfortable dropping my daughter off a few minutes before the first bell and leaving right away if necessary. My daughter loves the lunch choices and now will actually eat her lunch, the curriculum is challenging, but not so much so that my daughter stresses while trying to keep up. The front office staff are extremely nice and helpful. If they don't have an answer for you, they will go out of their way to find someone who does have an answer. I'm very glad we've moved to a great district with an awesome home school for her, Odyssey Elementary is amazing!


Odyssey Elementary School 1

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
Odyssey was a recommendation made by my neighbor whose children currently attend Indigo Ranch. I originally placed my kindergartner at Odyssey because of the feedback I had received from both my neighbor and a few others in the neighborhood, however, this year's teaching staff I have been discovering, especially in kindergarten is problematic to say the least. I believe that the staff is overwhelmed and overburdened by the demands of 26+ students in their classrooms that discipline is becoming an issue among other things. I am told by my day care provider (bear in mind this is heresy) that one parent went at least 6 times to talk to the principal at this school about problems her child was having in one of the kindergarten classrooms. The parent is apparently very unhappy. I was very unhappy that my child was unhappy. I was told classroom sizes were approximately 20 at best but his class ballooned to 26 so naturally there were problems with classroom decorum and students not receiving adequate attention. All this after <1 month of starting school, I eventually moved my child elsewhere. A real shame given that Odyssey had such high ratings previously.

Odyssey Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a community member
I am a student here in fifth grade and I was here for the last five years...this school is a great school! We also get to work with IPads

Odyssey Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2012
- a parent
Here you are again- quoting the Falcon Flier. What exactly is your point? Why don't you spend your time volunteering at one of these schools- roll up your sleeves and help out. My children attended Odyssey for three years, and we had an excellent experience. I would recommend this school to anyone.


Odyssey Elementary School 1

Posted August 30, 2011
- a community member
Verbatim from the D49 official Falcon Flyer received 8/30/2011: "Overcrowding has been a hot topic in District 49. Falcon continues to be one of the fastest growing districts in the state. We currently serve about 14,000 students. This is perhaps the first year that our overall student population has not increased, but that does not change the fact that overcrowding continues to plague our district. Eight schools in District 49 are currently over-capacity. They include Woodmen Hills Elementary, Falcon Middle School,Falcon High School, Evans International Elementary, Springs Ranch Elementary, Odyssey Elementary, Ridgeview Elementary, and Skyview Middle School. Of the remaining schools, not a single one of them is less than 75% full...Teachers struggle when thirty or more students outnumber them..."

Odyssey Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2011
- a parent
My kids love going to Odyssey. It is a safe environment with caring and knowledgeable teachers. One of my children has an autistic spectrum disorder. The teachers have amazed me in their dedication and creative teaching approaches for him.

Nearby schools

Odyssey Elementary School
6275 Bridle Spur Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO  80922
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (719) 596-1280
Last modified Odyssey Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top