Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

University School of Colorado Springs

Private | K-12 | 130 students

We are best known for Parent support & adventure.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in Colorado Springs

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2011

Very disappointing experience at this school. Administration and faculty were very unorganized. Classroom management and methods were unprofessional. When we asked for help for our student, a plan and hope were given, but nothing was ever done. This school was very different in reality than "on paper".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

I've had 3 children attend this school. It has given them an excellent academic preparation with a strong Christian influence. The drama program and outdoor adventure training is first class. I have been SO impressed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

USCS has a very high academic profile. With a private school/home education combination your students will be well prepared to enter any Academy or University. (They have students in both West Point and the US Naval Academy) Next year they are adding over 70 classes to their already amazing course of study line up. (AP, Honors and Dual Credit classes) They also have programs for the students that would like to accelerate their high school career, all the while receiving college credits. This school is simply amazing. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

I graduated from this school, and if I could redo it, I would have stayed at my previous school. It did not prepare me for college/university at all. I believe you deserve to know the statistics and the amount of the graduates that actually attended university, two or four year college after this school. So ask before you sign. Do not get me wrong, the elementary is the ONLY thriving part about this Adventure School. It is nothing but that. It is barely christian.


Posted April 5, 2010

We have truly enjoyed this school this year. This is our first year and the caliber of teachers at this school is top notch. My daughter enjoys learning under the direction of her teachers. It truly is a place which extends a 'team spirit' environment...the teachers truly desire for the students to learn! Well worth the drive to the westside and the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

Our children have done very well at this school. The small sized classrooms and tremendously caring teachers are wonderful. If you are looking for a Christian school atmosphere with attention to the character of your children and are interesting in them having a servants heart this is a great school. This school also allows the parents to still be involved in the education of your children. It has been a great blessing for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

Our daughter has excelled at this school. We couldn't be happier
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

This school is the best!!! Such a blessing.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation West Point
CCU
UCCS
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Certified National Association of University Model School (2008)

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jeff Cooper
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Part-time study
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NAUMS
Fax number
  • (719) 358-2586

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Rock Climbing, Canyoneering
Girls sports
  • Rock Climbing, Canyoneering

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • USCS is a University-Model School, a relatively new model of schooling that understands the importance of coupling parental involvement with strong academics. According to a survey of 22,000 teachers, conducted by the Carnegie Foundation, 90% of those teachers cited a lack of parental support as a problem in today’s schools. An overwhelming 100% described their students as “emotionally needy and starved for attention and affection.” At USCS, we address those needs by partnering with parents to not only educate, but also to guide students in the development of their character, values, and spiritual walk. It is the vision and mission of USCS to help students become passionate about worship, academics, leadership/character, missions, and adventure. If students graduate from our school with high academics, but lose their faith the first year in college, we have failed.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
West Point
CCU
UCCS
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2713 W. Cucharras Drive
Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 302-3751

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dayspring Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Our Lady of the Rockies School
Colorado Springs, CO


West Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Midland Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Howbert Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Buena Vista Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT