Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

This school is constantly making improvements and encouraging students to think beyond high school. The Class of 2016 graduated with an average of 14 college credits each. And 100% graduated on time. This year, with Mike Miles serving as CEO, the school has hired a principal who has served as assistant superintendent for Falcon District 49 and was responsible for special ed and gifted programs, as well as an experienced high school principal. The school will offer longer school days and a longer school year and has increased teacher pay to be among the best in Colorado Springs this year. To get the best teachers you have to pay more. Pikes Peak Prep is commited to providing an excellent education to our community.
June 21, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
61 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 93 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pikes Peak Prep
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 18, 2016
- a parent
This school is unethical. They fired the two admin on the last day because they didn't want to pay them over the summer. As a parent I have volunteered often items in the building and now i just found out that they hired Mikes Miles. I worked in D-2 before as it was awful because of Miles. Stay away!! So disappointing.

Pikes Peak Prep 1

Posted July 15, 2016
- a community member
My original comment was not posted. I will attempt to be more politically correct. The past administration has tried valiantly to raise the academic standards at this school for the past 5 years. However, without the necessary funding and resources, the promises made by GEO cannot be fulfilled. Perhaps Mr. Miles and Mr. Craddock can turn things around. Stephanie Atencio and Sarah Krider were amazing administrators, but they could only do so much due to the micromanagement of the Geo Foundation. I wish the school well, the student are exceptional, but I am fed up with the empty promises.


Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
PPP will provide 10 days of professional development during the school year and an additional week of support before school starts. Our leadership will provide most of the professional support and will provide regular observations to support teachers.
Posted June 21, 2016

Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
We believe homework is important but we also realize many parents need help assisting their children. That's why PPP is open every day until 6 pm so that students can get help after school with their homework.
Posted June 21, 2016

Develops respect:
SCHOOL LEADER
100% of our staff will work hard to have strong discipline in each classroom with each student respecting eachother's learning experience.
Posted June 21, 2016


Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
The new staff at PPP will indeed work hard every day to support honesty, integrity and fairness. School leadership believes strongly in having a strong disciplined environment to support learning.
Posted June 21, 2016

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
This school is constantly making improvements and encouraging students to think beyond high school. The Class of 2016 graduated with an average of 14 college credits each. And 100% graduated on time. This year, with Mike Miles serving as CEO, the school has hired a principal who has served as assistant superintendent for Falcon District 49 and was responsible for special ed and gifted programs, as well as an experienced high school principal. The school will offer longer school days and a longer school year and has increased teacher pay to be among the best in Colorado Springs this year. To get the best teachers you have to pay more. Pikes Peak Prep is commited to providing an excellent education to our community.
Posted June 21, 2016

Pikes Peak Prep 3

Posted June 19, 2016
- a parent
All the new changes to the 2016 school year make me nervous about sending my kids back with the new principle and new teachers its alil scary to me i sure hope the improvements of this year are as good as i hope the only thing im worried about now there bringing in a ceo from district to i dont like distict 2 thats the distict we are suppose to be in and now we are having a ceo from that district i liked mrs atencio alot and now we gotta start from the bottom with a new principal and ceo i hope i have no issues this year and the making the school day longer and the year is crazy to me also the day is long enough for the students i think so many changes and who knows how this school is gonna turn out im nervous to send my kids honestly


Pikes Peak Prep 1

Posted June 03, 2016
- a teacher
I just heard from a former teacher that the new leadership for the fall is getting rid of many needed services. I have a child who qualifies for SPED and there will be no SPED teacher. How will my child's IEP be met? How is this legal?

Pikes Peak Prep
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 28, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Mrs. Krider and Ms. Levicki for helping me get through my college classes.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pikes Peak Prep
525 East Costilla St, Colorado Springs, CO  80903
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 93 reviews. (317) 694-9985
Last modified Pikes Peak Prep is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top