Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

This school is constantly making improvements and encouraging students to think beyond high school. The Class of 2016 graduated with an average of 14 college credits each. And 100% graduated on time. This year, with Mike Miles serving as CEO, the school has hired a principal who has served as assistant superintendent for Falcon District 49 and was responsible for special ed and gifted programs, as well as an experienced high school principal. The school will offer longer school days and a longer school year and has increased teacher pay to be among the best in Colorado Springs this year. To get the best teachers you have to pay more. Pikes Peak Prep is commited to providing an excellent education to our community.
June 21, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
63 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 108 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pikes Peak Prep
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 26, 2016
- a parent
If they don't treat students with respect they will not cultivate respect! An extreme double standard.

Pikes Peak Prep
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 26, 2016
- a parent
This school is terrible. Parents need to run before the school gets their money the first week of October. If you withdraw before October you can put your money where your child is being educated - if you wait PPP will get your money without accountability. Adams Elementary is close and will be my next choice!!


Pikes Peak Prep 1

Posted August 25, 2016
- a community member
Second week of school and my kids hate it. My children have been there 3 years, straight A students never any issues. The teachers are fine, I wish I would have read up on Mike Miles before re enrolling my children back at PPP. He runs around the school talking to the highschoolers like they are at boot camp. He demands respect from them and all the rules are ridicules. He is defenetly more concerned about being a warden then the actual education of the students. Will be looking for another school. I know 3 other parents who are already looking for other school options.

Pikes Peak Prep 1

Posted August 20, 2016
- a parent
Chaos. Chaos. Chaos. Please do not subject your students to this circus. There are great charter schools such as James Irwin or Vanguard!

Pikes Peak Prep
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
Music, Social Studies, English were fine. Math and Science were lacking. Teacher turnover is very high.


Pikes Peak Prep
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
She tested below her grade level in math at 2 other schools. I know she wasn't being taught at her grade level. She was in the high math class at PPP.

Pikes Peak Prep
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
My child was determined to have a better education and asked me to find her a better school

Pikes Peak Prep
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
The students don't respect staff enough to behave for lessons. The ones who do have to wait for the others to calm down for lessons to begin.


Pikes Peak Prep
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
There is no discipline or incentive in the classrooms for these students to behave with integrity.

Pikes Peak Prep 1

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
I first put my daughter here in third grade. At this time, there were several sports, after school clubs, and Spanish taught to students. Class size was about 20-24 and the teachers were so caring. I had help from staff when my daughter was bullied. My daughter, now Middle School age, never had a piece of homework all year. Straight A's though. There were concerns at the beginning of the year when a beloved staff member was unfairly released. Things quickly went downhill from there. My daughter would come home from school with headaches as her class was so loud and unruly. The teachers in any class couldn’t control them long enough to teach proper lessons. In my opinion, whoever gave this school 5 stars is a friend of a staff member or it was from years ago. I have heard and seen staff acting unprofessional and showing favoritism. My daughter would come home to tell me about staff incidents. There are special teachers, Mr. Navarro was great, Ms. Rahn, Ms Levicki and Miss R (art) but I hear there was a great many that either quit or were fired. By January we had had enough and began to seek other schools. During this process my daughter had to test for her skills. Imagine my dismay to find out my daughter was a year behind in math compared to Vanguard and James Irwin. Those schools asked if she was having problems in math, but she had all “A’s.” When she shadowed at these schools, she was so impressed how quiet the classrooms were compared to PPP and how the kids were there to learn instead of being loud and needing attention like at PPP. I put her in summer school at Vanguard and she learned a year’s worth of math in 6 weeks at their intense summer program. Thank goodness, she was accepted and will be there this fall. No regrets leaving this “school” where many parents are going to be surprised about when their child’s education isn’t up to par.

Nearby schools

Pikes Peak Prep
525 East Costilla St, Colorado Springs, CO  80903
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 108 reviews. (719) 570-7575
Last modified Pikes Peak Prep is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top