Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
7-8
Public district
Colorado Springs, CO
Students enrolled: 624
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School 4

Posted November 22, 2010
- a community member
CMJH has many expectations for their students, and their expectations are higher than most other public schools I have been to. If you're one of those students who struggles with more difficult classes, you might have some troubles with this school. If you're one of those students who are independently able to get great grades, you will do just fine at this school and will be prepared for High School. From my experiences, some of the children attending CMJH have harrassed and bullied others. Though, it is continually reminded throughout the school that bullying and harassing is not the right type of behavior. Theres also a program (first started by a student who was affected last year) that reminds 8th graders to stop bullying and harrassing 7th graders. I think it has worked very well so far. In addition, the principal was awarded a Principal of the Year award last year, which is pretty impressive since the award was out of all the Principals in the state. Theres also some pretty good classes for both 7th and 8th graders, especially the art classes. The teachers are cooperative most of the time, and the most of them are friendly and laid back. This school rocks.

Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School 5

Posted November 02, 2009
- a student
great school. amazing teachers.


Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School 4

Posted July 28, 2009
- a student
I had an amazing time at CMJH, although some things were a little sketchy. The math program is satisfactory, the English is excellent, science is unsatisfactory, PE is above average, World Geography is average/below average, German was excellent, & Tech SWAMP was absolutely excellent. I wish I could go back to this school. There are some drug problems, but you can immediately tell who is best to be around, just by looks. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone for 7th grade.

Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School 1

Posted May 11, 2008
- a parent
I have had two children at the Junior High and it's been a frustrating and disappointing experience both times. The teachers seem to resist any parent interaction; I wasn't notified that my child may possibly have to repeat the year because she is failing an art class until 3 weeks before the end of the semester. The Principal is primarily concerned with the teachers and their well-being and was defensive rather than interested in my child's welfare in meetings. The counselors are helpful but can only do so much in the face of the adversity presented by the Administration. Be prepared to be your child's only advocate.

Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School 2

Posted February 04, 2008
- a parent
I keep my daughter in this school district because it is one of highest rated school districts and has the best programs of any school district in town. What I have found after having being in this district for 5 years is that most of the parents are older and/or stay at home and able focus on their child s progress 100%. Smart as my child may be she struggles at this school severely. They have no policy, special classes or communicate with parents to help struggling children. They are only allowed to fail one class a year or they will be held back. I would not suggest this school for anyone whose child is not an advanced independent learner.


Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School 5

Posted July 26, 2006
- a parent
I have a current student beginning 8th grade and an older sibling that also attended CMJH. Overall, this school does a good job of preparing the kids for high school. The math program is well structured with students grouped by skill level and classes rotated to different teachers every quarter or so. Students are able to advance at their own rate within this system and being exposed to different instructors and teaching styles appears to produce good results. The music program is excellent. There are 2 concert bands and a jazz band. Jazz band is extracurricular and meets outside of regular class hours. The director is dedicated to the program and the skill level of the students is exceptional. Overall, District 12 has produced a good educational experience for our children.

Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School 4

Posted March 07, 2006
- a parent
Our daughter has enjoyed Cheyenne Mountain Junior High very much. It has been easy for her to make many wonderful friends. Her teachers are for the most part smart, interesting, and dedicated to the students. The art program is great. The principal last year had been there for many years and was great! But he retired. The new principal seems overly strict, rigid, and a little unsure of herself. But perhaps with time, she will get better. Overall, I highly recomment the school.

Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School 4

Posted January 11, 2005
- a parent
CMJHS claims finals count as 20 percent of your childs grade but the finals are not averaged into the GPA. They don't count for anything. If you happen to have a child that does well on finals-great it doesn't matter! Just do well on the quarter grade (before finals are taken) and don't sweat the final. The problem is that if your child does well on the final and gets a 4.0 for the semester grade- that won't put nessarily put them on the A Honoroll because semester grades don't count. The principal thinks this is fair because looking at the quarter grades without counting the finals, gives more kids a chance to get an A average, but try having a kid that really gets a 89.5% in one class and all A's otrherwise before finals and straight A's after finals, then not having it count!) How fair is that? NOT!


Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School 5

Posted September 21, 2004
- a parent
An excellent school, very friendly for new kids. Being military, we are so thankful for the high standards of education they keep here. My seventh grader is in pre-algebra. Well discilpined, great enviornment for boys and girls.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School
1200 West Cheyenne Rd, Colorado Springs, CO  80905
(719) 475-6120
Last modified Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top